We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Velocity

Velocity
431 Water Street, Port Townsend, WA
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Morgantown, West Virginia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Found this coffee shop while waiting for our whale watching tour. Great coffee and pastries with a good view of the harbor area. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    3
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best coffee bar in Port Townsend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Best coffee in Port Townsend. Opens at 6:30 AM! Located at end of Water Street in Maritime Center.Olympia Coffee Roasting Company coffee, local fresh baked pastries and bagels, and exceptional service.  Beautiful view and environment.  After one visit, you'll know why the locals want to keep this gem a secret!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best coffee in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

but not open on Sundays! Help! Excellent espresso and fresh pastries, tucked away down by the harbor.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“This is THE coffee place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Now THIS is the kind of coffee house I was hoping to find in PT! let's start with their excellent choice of beans: Olympia Roasting Company (Specialty Coffee Association small roaster of the year and famous for their quality and commitment to sustainability) and Stumptown from Portland. Then they take those great beans and treat them beautifully via their immaculately clean La Marzocco La Strada espresso machine or Chemex or drip or French press. Love it! Ask them which bean they'd recommend and they're quick to speak passionately about each one's characteristics. My macchiato was DELICIOUS and my Chemex was beautifully delicate. And to top it all off the cafe in the Maritime Centre has a beautiful view AND the staff are so friendly. Wifi of course. After trying 1012 Coffee and Better Living... (Both good places), Velocity serves the best coffee IMO.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Coffee!.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We walked into this coffee shop but it was no longer called Velocity. The new owners are great in PR skills. I ordered a latte and was asked if I wanted to drink it there. It was served in a nice cup with a saucer. The blueberry pastry was awesome! I would recommend this to anyone staying in that end of town. Cheers!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Velocity also viewed

 

Been to Velocity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Velocity, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.