We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is THE coffee place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Velocity

Velocity
431 Water Street, Port Townsend, WA
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“This is THE coffee place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Now THIS is the kind of coffee house I was hoping to find in PT! let's start with their excellent choice of beans: Olympia Roasting Company (Specialty Coffee Association small roaster of the year and famous for their quality and commitment to sustainability) and Stumptown from Portland. Then they take those great beans and treat them beautifully via their immaculately clean La Marzocco La Strada espresso machine or Chemex or drip or French press. Love it! Ask them which bean they'd recommend and they're quick to speak passionately about each one's characteristics. My macchiato was DELICIOUS and my Chemex was beautifully delicate. And to top it all off the cafe in the Maritime Centre has a beautiful view AND the staff are so friendly. Wifi of course. After trying 1012 Coffee and Better Living... (Both good places), Velocity serves the best coffee IMO.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    3
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Coffee!.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We walked into this coffee shop but it was no longer called Velocity. The new owners are great in PR skills. I ordered a latte and was asked if I wanted to drink it there. It was served in a nice cup with a saucer. The blueberry pastry was awesome! I would recommend this to anyone staying in that end of town. Cheers!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great spot to wakeup and hang out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Velocity was across the street from The Swan where we were staying. Wanting coffee first think, we meandered over at 6:45 a.m. and the place was already hopping. Being from the East Coast we wanted just regular coffee, which was unusual for most patrons who were getting espresso, latte, etc. We had mugs of "drip coffee" with a refill for $2 and sat & watched the early morning activity. On the 2nd morning, Caroline didn't even ask what we wanted - she remembered us! Each day there is a different "drip" choice. I wish there were places like that in Boston - meaning the community feeling and easy living.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Joe makes a mean latte!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Personable, pleasant barista Joe poured the perfect cup. Babies to grandpas, business folk to vacationers....looks like everyone's found the best coffee in town. Thanks!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The best of the best coffee in Port Townsend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Port Townsend is a foodie town and, more so, a coffee town... When a traveller asks on the street, where does one get a good cup o' joe in this town?, locals will ponder; which barista is working where at this hour? Velocity, which occupies a perfect spot overlooking the water has the best baristas anywhere, all at the same cafe! Joe and Caroline run the place and truly make every one feel right at home. They, along with Sara and Katie are true artists at the craft. Available as well are famous "Bob's Bagels," and pastries from Pan D'Amore just uptown. This place is well worth the walk to the end of Water Street. Great coffee, great view and who knows who you might meet in this town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Velocity also viewed

 

Been to Velocity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Velocity, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.