We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop bashing this hotel!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Harborside Inn to your Saves list
Harborside Inn
330 Benedict St, Port Townsend, WA 98368   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Morgan Hill, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Stop bashing this hotel!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

After all the terrible reviews of this hotel, I was honestly apprehensive about staying there with my wife. No reason to be. This hotel is fine. People need to realize this is an older motor lodge in an out of the way tourist town. Yes, it was overpriced, but consider that they only have tourist activity 4-6 months per year. It is older and not updated, but the rooms are clean, the staff is friendly and the location is sae and convenient. It was also quiet. My only two complaints were that there was no night light in the room, so you may want to pack one if you choose to stay here, and there was only a tiny wall fan in case you are like me and rely on background noise to help you sleep in hotels. The breakfast was typical cold cereal and pastry, but htere are so many good restaurants in Port Townsend that you would be foolish to eat in a hotel anyway! Bottom line; an older but clean place to stay that is extrmemly convenient to downtown.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    32
    37
    20
    20
See reviews for
35
34
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freeland, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

And that is saying a lot. It's location in Port Townsend is perfect. It is across the street from the boat harbor and all rooms have the great view of the water and islands in the distance. The staff is especially smiling, friendly, helpful, and good at what they do. I had stayed here four times before years ago and was newly reminded what a great place this is. The rooms are above standard. The furnishings pleasing to the eye.The layout better than average. As an architect I appreciate that. The shower and hot water satisfying. The complimentary breakfast lounge is practically a restaurant. Makes one feel right at home making breakfast. Interestingly, it is set up in a way that encourages sociability among the guests. Without inferring with privacy. There is also a swimming pool available in season. It is outdoors so check on when. So bring your bathing suits. [I forgot!] It is a good neighborhood for walking, especially being on the waterfront. Needs only a little ambition to walk to the famous historical downtown Port Townsend, which has about a million restaurants. In the other direction there are all sorts of useful and interesting places including one of the best hardware stores you'll ever find and even a Safeway. Amen!

Room Tip: Far as I know they are all pretty much equal. I have stayed in five different ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here as a recommendation from the Visitor's Information office in Port Townsend. We had tried at several other Inns but everything was very booked. The room was on the top floor and was listed as 'king sized bed and jacuzzi'. It was pricey for the condition of the room and building. The pool hadn't been cleaned for awhile and looked a little green. The whole building looked a little tired and like it was due for a re-do. The room did have an old jacuzzi tub in the bathroom but kind of grubby looking and older. The bedspread and dust ruffle seemed not very fresh and the whole room seemed like it was needing updating. Someone had tried to make it seem better with some artificial flowers and room spray but it really needs more than that to warrant the price that they charge. Breakfast is worth skipping.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt BC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for the Wooden Boat Festival. It isn't the most luxurious of hotels, but it was clean, conveniently located for walking to the festival, shopping, and restaurants. This is the second year we stayed there, and likely will again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Port townsend is a remarkable town with lots to enjoy. We went for this years Art Festival and stayed at the Harborside. It was clean, and we had a great view on the third floor. But the towels were thin, hotel needs updating, and the breakfasts were all carbs...not a single protein. Would only stay there again if that was all that was available.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We reserved online, coming from out of state for a wedding. The town was booked up. Website photos of lobby make this waterfront motel look like a nice place. Do not be fooled by the photos and text there! (Lobby was in fact ok and clerks at desk polite, but helpless or uninterested in making amends for the horrible accomodations, as we found out later.) Breakfast is free, but very minimal-- cheap dry cereal, green bananas. And the room?! OMG! Yecchh! We were in an end unit, ground floor. Building has no inner hallway. At this place the doors directly to the cement walkway by the parking lot, like a freeway truckstop motel. The room has no windows, just sliding glass door on the far side, opposite the front door, which opens onto a tiny cement patio . This did have a railing, but anyone could have climbed over and it felt unsafe as our patio was actually just a few feet from the frontage road by the marina. (As a safety feature, the room was provided with a dented piece of copper tubing to keep the slider from being opened fully. We used it.) After checking in, we left our suitcases in the but had not time to really survey it. Too bad! We would have left immediately. But we were late for a gathering. We did notice it smelled old and musty, with overtones of room spray. Came back to the room quite late and got ready to go right to bed. (Did turn on the TV for late news: it did work but was small and obviously over twenty years old, as we have one in our basement very much like it, from 1992. Bath tub caulking looked like it needed replacing, but the bathroom was clean. Only two thin towels were provided, no courtesy "products" whatsoever such as small shampoo.) The mattress was very firm, with no top padding so the button depressions could be felt. The bed, a Queen, had only had two pillows, both small and lumpy. The thin blanket looked like garage sale leftover. The sliding screendoor came out of its track and had to be set aside for the night, when we were wrestling with it and the sliding glass door to ventilate the room Couldn't find any A/C. The dial on the wall seemed only to be for heating. It was a very warm evening. The outside air a bit stinky from the paper mill, but the inside air was worse, likely from trapped bad air settling in. The carpet was rumpled all over in "waves" as though the glue had given up. We suspected it possible there had been a broken pipe (sewage??) at some time as the carpet smelled bad, especially at the base of the wall by the head of the bed. My husband slept through, although restlessly, but I was awakened by the worsening bad smell which seemed to have settled around us and was just plan horrid. At 3AM I gave up trying to sleep---it smelled like having the bed right near a porta-potty. I went out to our car in the parking lot where I slept in the backseat until dawn. I reported all of this to the desk clerk, who was polite and somewhat sympathetic, and did not question the fact that we were canceling a pre-reserved second night. I asked, just out of curiosity, if any other rooms were "nicer". She said they are all about the same, except that the higher the floor the more expensive. OMG! We paid $159 for this dump of a room, possibly the worst night I have ever spent at any motel or hotel! Ever. (Once a year ago had to find a room on short notice in another town on a busy holiday. Settled for what looked like a "flea bag" on a busy freeway location and paid $50 for a clean bare-basics room that was better than this one by far. I am obviously still outraged that this place would DARE to put a customer comment card in the room, asking whether the rates are reasonable (among other things). Horrible, horrible, horrible experience. Would have left the second we saw all those details except that under the circumstances we had no time at first and got in too late. No one should pay any motel so ratty that sleeping in the car in the parking lot is preferable to the room. End of rant! Beware.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked a third floor room, but they did not have it for us. The clerk told us we should feel free to go elsewhere. (Hah--the entire town was booked, or else we would have.) The promised view was blocked by a large tree. The toilet seat was coming off, but the clerk did not fix it while we out to dinner. The spa was out of order and had been for some time. The breakfast nook was far too small for all the guests, but the food was terrible anyway. The recommended restaurant had been closed for 6 weeks. The $159 price should have been about $49. The rugs were stained. No curb cuts for handicapped. The location is not even in town! AVOID THIS PLACE!

Room Tip: Get your choice in writing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Address: 330 Benedict St, Port Townsend, WA 98368
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Port Townsend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harborside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.