We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swan Hotel
Save
You added Swan Hotel to your Saves list
222 Monroe St, Port Townsend, WA 98368   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
calgary
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“nice place great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

Very nice place---very close to harbour and marina and right on the end of the main street - very short walk to all the quaint shops, cafes and pubs on main street and easy walk to historic buildings and architecture. The hotel itself is very clean, and well maintained in a unique building. Disagree with review about "sheds" and "cabbage". Perfectly nice place to stay a few days in great location---no breakfast included but so many places to get a breakfasty nearby!!!And definately no smell of cabbage!

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    63
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
14
100
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilsonville, OR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2006

We are newlyweds and took a mini-honeymoon up in Port Townsend. We loved it. We stayed in Cottage 4 at the Swan with our Golden Retriever. It was very clean and since it was "pet-friendly" I was glad that it had hardwood floors. It is definetly older but the bed was comfortable and we didn't spend much time in the cottage. As others have stated, parking is limited and the bathroom walls do not go all of the way up to the ceiling which could be a problem for the bashful. But the location is perfect and you can walk anywhere downtown. We will stay there again when we return.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2005

We chose this hotel mainly because it was the least chintzy of the ones we could find in Port Townsend. The hotel is set up like a motel with rooms around the car park. The little balconies are nice but I'm glad we didn't pay extra for a view- none of the views were very spectacualr and the majority were over the car park. The rooms were clean and recently decorated. The cottages sounded nice on the website but they are really just little sheds next to the motel- they didn't look very appealing at all.

If you aren't sure if you want to stay in Port Townsend you may want to consider that the local paper mill makes the entire town stink of cabbage.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, NC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2005

I picked the Swan because of the recommendations of Tripadvisor's other reviews AND the descriptions at the Swan's web site. While had no specific problem, I did not feel that the Swan lived up to my expectations based upon its written description. Personally, I don't consider it to be a romantic lodging as described. Our second floor had a nice marina view from the public walkway/deck directly in front of the glass doors of the room, BUT the glass surrounded glass door had no way to admit ventilation plus since it opened up onto the public walkway we had to draw the curtains which, of course, blocked the view. To me, the room was simply on par with any side of the freeway motel - reasonably clean, adequate, but nothing special. Parking is inadequate.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2004

Wife and I had a biz trip to Seattle. We decided to go check out Pt.Townsend for a few days ahead of the biz. This is a great little town, beautiful scenery, wonderful shops, etc.. Go check out nearby Ft.Worden where they filmed "Officer & A Gentleman".
The Swan Hotel was an excellent place to stay. We got Cottage No. 1 and stayed two nights. It is about the same size as a standard hotel room. It has a mini-fridge, coffee maker and cable tv. A great, clean, private place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2004

I stayed in one of the cottages. It was nice and clean, newly remodeled at the time of my visit. The hotel staff was very pleasant. The only issue was that the bathroom walls do not go all the way to the ceiling. Any noise in the bathroom is readily heard throughout the rest of the unit. Overall my stay was very nice and I would consider staying in the motel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2003

My husband and I had our first vacation alone since the kids were born five years ago, and Port Townsend was the perfect place. Taking the ferry across the Sound, you leave the lights of busy-ness behind you. Waiting on the other side are beaches; excellent restaurants, ice cream parlors and coffee shops; wonderful shopping boutiques; whale watching cruises guaranteed to deliver; and majestic hikes. We were there during the summer jazz fest--fantastic music!--but it looks like there a exceptional cultural events scheduled year-round. The Swan Hotel has some very nice cottages. We sprung for the one with a gas fireplace and whirlpool tub--very quaint, right off the downtown--quiet, yet close enough to walk everywhere. I also recommend Captain Jack's Whale Watching Cruise, and the drive to Crescent Lake, the falls, and the Hoh rainforest are all well worth the extra drive. We could have easily spent two weeks there. I can't recommend it enough!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Address: 222 Monroe St, Port Townsend, WA 98368
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan Hotel, located adjacent to Hudson Point Marina and the Northwest Maritime Center, is in the heart of the vibrant, maritime downtown district. The Swan Hotel features 9 comfortable hotel type rooms, 4 cozy cottages and a top floor Wheelhouse Suite. The Wheelhouse features two decks with magnificent views of the marina and Admiralty Inlet, plus a full kitchen, two full bathrooms, a dining room that seats 14 and sleeping accommodations for up to 8 guests. Each room and cottage has its own private bath, wireless and DSL connectivity, high definition TVs and DVD players, min-fridge, microwave and coffee and tea service. Some guestrooms have Harbor views while others favor City and Bay views. The cozy cottages also provide jetted tubs, propane fireplaces and outdoor patios with seating.The Swan welcomes canine friends in the Mainsail, the Lanyard, the Starboard, and the Portside guestrooms as well as the Dockside Cottage. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Two-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Port Townsend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.