We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Awsome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swan Hotel
Save
You added Swan Hotel to your Saves list
222 Monroe St, Port Townsend, WA 98368   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
san diego
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Totally Awsome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

What a great hotel! We loved our stay there. The room was so well appointed and clean. From coffee & tea (no paper or plastic cups) to the plush towels and extra pillow and blanket. Plus such warming decor. Every one made us feel so welcome! They have free movie rentals and popcorn! The location is great - so close to the harbor and in walking distance to the lovely, historic town of Port Townsend. We have stayed other places in Port Townsend, but never have we had such a good room and staff experience. Looking forward to the next visit to The Swan.

Room Tip: Call in advance and talk to Paula or Don about your needs, they are really good at meeting your nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    63
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
14
100
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
McMinnville, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I booked the swan from the Port Townsend website and then found some terrible reviews so we approached our destination with some trepidation. The staff was lovely and very helpful booking dinner reservations for us.

The room was clean and neatly appointed. the bathroom was quite large. We stayed on the ground floor as we both have problems walking these days and the ramp was generous leading to our room. Unless one were wheelchair bound, you could use the room easily. The shower had a chair beside it so one could sit, but you would need to be able to take a step to transfer to it.

Our only concern is that parking is very limited. We wound up parking on the street after dinner as there was "no room at the Inn."

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can climb stairs, the second floor has some lovely views and is quieter than the first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Recent visit to Port Townsend, a beautiful little town with lots of history , great restaurants, and quaint hotels like The Swan. Situated at the end of main street and overlooking the harbor. the historic home has been renovated to make very modern and comfortable rooms. Everything was very clean and cozy. Walking distance to all downtown services. Will stay again.

Room Tip: room 7 on the 2nd floor overlooks the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California (San Francisco Area)
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This place has a small hotel consisting of 12-16 rooms (1/2 facing the parking lot and street view and 1/2 with the harbor and water view). There are a few tiny individual cottages as well. I'm glad that we cost the less expensive hotel rooms because the cottages were very, very small. We were in a hotel room 2025 which faced the street front and I wished we paid more to get the back that faced the harbor but there still isn't much to see. There was a nearby cafe on the harbor that played loud music but it stopped at 8:00 p.m. so it wasn't a problem at all. The room surprisingly came with a microwave, flat screen tv, small ice box, hair dryer and free wifi. The double glass front doors front on a wide porch with comfty chairs with the main stairwell along the side. I had to get use to having glass front doors because we live in a urban area and I was use to having a solid door with a strong lock on it. The only problem was we didn't figuare out how to turn off the front porch light (switch inside, next to closet on opposite wall) until the next morning. Clean Room, nice location and very quiet. 5 minute from the ferry terminal and close to quite a few cute shops and resturants as well.

We wished we had more time to explore Port Townsend because the more we walked, the more we found to see and do - we met some great people who lived in the area as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My Mom, my Husband, our dog and I stayed here. The front desk were very nice people. Area was perfect as it was right next to the little harbor and the beach (where I found sea glass). My husband (and the dog) stayed our first night in the cabin (that accepted dogs). We were less than impressed with the room. I didn't get understand how a place could be dog friendly when they didn't have a trash can anywhere around for us to dispose of the waste! No dog bed as was advertised and the dog toys were for a very large dog, not small dog as ours. Cobwebs on our ceiling and black mold in the window cells rounded out our cabin experience. We changed to one of the main building dog rooms and liked this much better... the room seemed larger than the cabin and it was nicer all the way around.
We are going to try other places when we come back to Pt Townsend next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Port Townsend, Washington is a great place to visit. Anyone who likes boats probably visits this quaint town at some point. Especially if they like wooden boats. The Swan Hotel is a quaint, comfortable place to stay. It's convenient to the downtown area, and boating sites. The owner has another hotel in town as well. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and informative about local sites. There are a few cabins as well. The penthouse suite includes access to the "widows walk". The lack of some amenities (no ice machine, although the front desk has small bags of ice) kept me from giving the hotel 5 stars. Even so, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the ground floor of the house "hotel". It had a queen size bed, TV...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastsound, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My 40 year old daughter and her 7 year old son were at the Swan Hotel from August 8-12, 2012. The total stay was close to $700 dollars. The room was cleaned only two of the four days. The guests in the room above their room were very noisey and neither of them were able to sleep. When my daughter called the front desk and spoke with the manager, he was rude and inappropriate. He blamed the her [the guest] and then actually pointed out that she was not paying for the room but her mother was, suggesting that she did not have the authority to complain. There was no compensation and NO APOLOGY. The customer service was BAD.
i would NOT recommend this hotel unless there were no other options in Port Townsend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Address: 222 Monroe St, Port Townsend, WA 98368
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan Hotel, located adjacent to Hudson Point Marina and the Northwest Maritime Center, is in the heart of the vibrant, maritime downtown district. The Swan Hotel features 9 comfortable hotel type rooms, 4 cozy cottages and a top floor Wheelhouse Suite. The Wheelhouse features two decks with magnificent views of the marina and Admiralty Inlet, plus a full kitchen, two full bathrooms, a dining room that seats 14 and sleeping accommodations for up to 8 guests. Each room and cottage has its own private bath, wireless and DSL connectivity, high definition TVs and DVD players, min-fridge, microwave and coffee and tea service. Some guestrooms have Harbor views while others favor City and Bay views. The cozy cottages also provide jetted tubs, propane fireplaces and outdoor patios with seating.The Swan welcomes canine friends in the Mainsail, the Lanyard, the Starboard, and the Portside guestrooms as well as the Dockside Cottage. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Two-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Port Townsend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.