We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Love the Swan Hotel"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swan Hotel
Save
You added Swan Hotel to your Saves list
222 Monroe St, Port Townsend, WA 98368   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Kingston, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“"Love the Swan Hotel"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

My husband and I just returned from spending one night at the Swan Hotel,we loved our room.Was so "cozy",we will definitely come back.Hope we can come back year after year.Love it here!

Room Tip: We loved room number 2,was "cozy" for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    63
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
14
100
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Positives: This was a nice clean hotel with a good view from the balcony. The marina was adjacent to the hotel and the downtown was right there, so the location was also a plus. The lady that checked us in was very helpful and gave us some great ideas on where to eat, etc. Negatives: Unfortunately, as many have commented...the walls were very thin. We were so tired from a long day of flying and driving, we hit the pillow ready for a good nights sleep and were kept awake by the sound of snoring from a guest in an adjacent room. It sounded as if the individual was in our room. There was no breakfast included and it was a bit pricey. I think in a town like Port Townsend with all the great Victorian B&Bs which include all the extra goodies for less money, I'd try that next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix az usa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We would definitely stay at the Swan again, great location, good restaurants nearby, nice view of the harbor, nicely appointed, friendly staff. Great spot.

Room Tip: If you want a view, be sure to request it -- second or third floor rooms facing harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDobie, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
We’re delighted to hear that you found our hotel to your liking. Also, you’re right on with your room tip; several of our rooms have lovely views, with the best views coming from our second-floor Marina-facing studios and our top-floor Wheelhouse suite.

Thanks again for sharing your comment. We’re looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

This hotel has a great location in downtown PT. You are 1/2 a block from the water. Nice to have a small mini fridge in the room. Was very handy. Room and bathroom were very clean. Our only complaint was that our room was on the first floor and the only windows overlooked the outdoor porch/hallway. This was okay until it got stuffy and we wanted to open the window for a breeze and we found out our window didn't have a screen. Didn't really feel comfortable with the shade open and the window open and no screen.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDobie, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
We’re glad to hear that you’ve enjoyed the location and amenities that our Swan Hotel has to offer. However, we’re sorry to hear that you had trouble with the screen in your room. All of our rooms on the first floor at the Swan have two windows: one which cranks outward and is without a screen and another that has a removable screen. The screen is often times stored in the closet or behind the armoire. At any time during your stay, always feel free to call the front desk, who are more than happy to provide you with any assistance that you may need.

Thank you for your review and please come visit us again!

Sincerely,
Swan Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The service was good. The room was clean, although very cramped and not much air flow. The big problem was noise. We heard EVERYTHING from upstairs as if it was in the same room! We heard people chatting, walking of the floor, water running in sinks, toilet flushing, and even people sitting on the toilet dong their business! The people upstairs were not exceptionally loud, it's just that the walls (floors, ceilings) transmit sound Big time.
If you want to stay there, I would advise good ear plugs or rent a room at the top. The only problem with that is you have 3 flights of outdoor stairs to climb with all your luggage.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDobie, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay here at the Swan. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed the service you received at our hotel. We apologize that you had trouble with hearing the guests in other rooms. That occasionally can happen in some of the older architectural buildings found here in Port Townsend. If it’s quiet and convenience that you’re looking for, perhaps you can come back and stay in one of our cottages. They are ground-level, stand alone cabins which provide easy access and also share no walls with other guests, Several of our cottages even include jetted tubs, robes and fireplaces, which can make for a lovely stay.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience and we hope to see you here again.

Sincerely,
The Swan Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

This was our second stay at the Swan Hotel, in one of the small cottages. The rooms are small but quite well equipped, complete with fridge, microwave, and utensils. We also had a fireplace and jetted tub. Our only complaint was the skylight, which was lovely in the daytime as it let in a lot of light, but woke us up too early in the mornings!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011 via mobile

Though the rooms are small they are cozy and have a wonderful homey feeling to them. The swan hotel was a wonderful place for my husband and I to stay. We were in room 8 that had an amazing view of the water and lovely boats, there was also a wonderful seating area outside of our room for us to enjoy a glass of wine together. The staff was very helpful an welcoming to us during our stay. Anything we asked for they were more than willing to accommodate, from the woman at the front desk to the cheerful and bright housekeepers who kindly offered to help us with our bags on the morning of our departure. We had an oppertunity to look at other rooms at other hotels and the swan is by far the cleanest hotel we looked at, and the cost of the rooms is well worth it. And my husband and I will be back in this area soon, and the Swan hotel is where we will be staying! It was a great stay for us!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDobie, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
It sounds like you had a lovely time at our Swan hotel! We take our commitment to providing excellent accommodations and outstanding service very seriously, so that each guest such as yourself can enjoy affordable, clean rooms and warm, friendly hospitality during each visit. We greatly appreciate your business and look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Address: 222 Monroe St, Port Townsend, WA 98368
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan Hotel, located adjacent to Hudson Point Marina and the Northwest Maritime Center, is in the heart of the vibrant, maritime downtown district. The Swan Hotel features 9 comfortable hotel type rooms, 4 cozy cottages and a top floor Wheelhouse Suite. The Wheelhouse features two decks with magnificent views of the marina and Admiralty Inlet, plus a full kitchen, two full bathrooms, a dining room that seats 14 and sleeping accommodations for up to 8 guests. Each room and cottage has its own private bath, wireless and DSL connectivity, high definition TVs and DVD players, min-fridge, microwave and coffee and tea service. Some guestrooms have Harbor views while others favor City and Bay views. The cozy cottages also provide jetted tubs, propane fireplaces and outdoor patios with seating.The Swan welcomes canine friends in the Mainsail, the Lanyard, the Starboard, and the Portside guestrooms as well as the Dockside Cottage. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Two-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Port Townsend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.