We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop Victorian Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Save Saved
You added Bishop Victorian Hotel to your Saves list
714 Washington Street, Port Townsend, WA 98368   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Port Townsend
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My little family of 4 decided to try something different from the cookie cutter hotels that we always choose. What a great surprise! The inn keeper was very nice, welcoming us in. The room was a small apartment tastefully done to suit the Victorian theme. It was defiantly a true port Townsend experience. Will someday return!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. The Bishop Victorian Hotel is a great spot for families as each Suite is like a small apartment. We're glad you and your family had such a nice time and we welcome your return someday.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    55
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
46
91
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We only stayed the night but wished we could have stayed longer. Great location to walk to restaurants! The vintage furnishings and decor are amazingly authentic and tasteful! The fireplace in our room was awesome made the room so cozy. We also took advantage of the free DVD library and microwave popcorn offered in the lobby!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your review. Many of our guest's do love the fact that we are in a great location to stroll around town and visit the many shops, movies, and restaurants. We hope next time you can stay a little longer on your visit.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had the opportunity to spend two nights there this past fall. Can't say enough good about the place. The suites are spacious and the beds comfortable - can't get much better than that!. The staff are extremely friendly and were able to offer good recommendations as far as restaurants, etc. I don't believe there is an elevator, so keep that in mind, but confirm this first.

Room Tip: Great location. Comfortable accomodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I agree with you nothing beats a good bed when you're traveling. So glad you received such wonderful service from our Inn keeping Staff we will be sure to convey your praise to our staff.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at 3 other hotels in Port Townsend, this has been by far the best. The suite was tastefully decorated in Victorian style but still has all the modern amenities. Bed was comfortable and the gas fireplace kept the room cozy. Was surprised that the shower water pressure was good even though we were on the 3rd floor. Perhaps the only area for improvement is the free breakfast was a bit underwhelming (you don't get much, and quality is on the low side). Not anything that would detract from the overall stay however.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review. Many guests do appreciate the true Victorian Heritage of our Hotel and its furnishings. Glad you liked our many amenities and we welcome you to stay with us again when you're in Port Townsend.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

I cannot say enough good things about our stay at the Bishop Victorian from check in to check out.

A.J. Checked us in, told us about the attractions, circled key spots on the map and took our breakfast order for the following morning. She was warm and very helpful and a lovely way to start the weekend.

We then went up to our room which was very clean and very comfortable with a cozy little fireplace and lovely view of the garden.

After spending the rest of the day eating and drinking our way through town (I highly recommend the little wine bar about a block away and Sirens pub about a block the other way) we returned to the room which was warm and quiet all night. The following morning we found our breakfast basket filled with scrumptious pastries waiting outside our door.

All in all it was an exceptional little getaway! We will definitely return!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words. We take pride in welcoming our guests to Port Townsend and all of the attractions. Our Innkeeper's stay informed about the many events and attractions around town and love to share their knowledge with our guests.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful stay at the Bishop for our Anniversary. We couldn't have asked for much more. We really loved all of the victorian charm everywhere that you looked. The private garden was beautiful even being January. The room was very bright, cozy and comfortable. We loved our fireplace, and we used it everyday. The breakfast has many options which we enjoyed daily. The location is within walking distance to restaurants, shopping and the beautiful Puget Sound scenery. We love Port Townsend, and will most definitely stay at the Bishop Hotel again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. Sounds like you had a swell time while visiting our Historic Victorian Seaport. We're happy that you enjoyed the Hotel with it's Victorian charm and coziness. Please come and visit us again when you can.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This hotel was amazing starting with the warm, informative, friendly receptionists. The suite was amazing (Room 24) with a living area (one brick wall) that included a table and chairs by a window overlooking the gazeboed garden, sofa, flat screen TV, a gas fireplace with great heat, and kitchenette. The bedroom with queen-sized bed even had a distant water view. It's two flights up but worth the small climb. A breakfast basket (with ample choices) is delivered outside your door at one of two times of your choice. The suite was immaculate. You can choose housekeeping or not. It's conveniently located one block from downtown. I shall definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for such a lovely review. We love the fact that so many of our guest's really do appreciate the Victorian Charm of the Hotel. It takes people back to another era when things were not so hectic. We welcome you to come and relax again with us.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bishop Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Victorian Hotel

Address: 714 Washington Street, Port Townsend, WA 98368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The top rated TripAdvisor hotel in Port Townsend is the Bishop Victorian, located in the heart of the Historic District with easy access to shops, restaurants and activities. The Bishop Victorian offers 16 suites, including ground level and two bedroom accommodations. Suites feature Victorian ambiance, private baths, fireplaces, convertible sofas and a continental breakfast delivered daily to your door. Each suite is outfitted with a mini or full kitchenette, including microwave, fridge and coffee service, and all guests have access to wireless or DSL connectivity from the comfort of their suite. High definition TVs, DVD players and a DVD library add to your enjoyment. The Bishop Victorian also offers meeting facilities for groups up to 35 people, and the outdoor tented garden venue provides a spring and summer location for weddings and other celebratory events for up to 200 guests. Preparing for an important event is effortless, with Touch of Health Massage Therapy and Izadora’s Tanning, Day Spa and Salon, both of which offer a variety of relaxing and rejuvenating services, conveniently located right next door. Children welcome and dogs are permitted in some designated suites and in accordance with our dog policies. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Three-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bishop Victorian Port Townsend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishop Victorian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.