We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Victorian Charm with Modern Amenities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop Victorian Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bishop Victorian Hotel
714 Washington Street, Port Townsend, WA 98368   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Port Townsend
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Amazing Victorian Charm with Modern Amenities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This hotel was amazing starting with the warm, informative, friendly receptionists. The suite was amazing (Room 24) with a living area (one brick wall) that included a table and chairs by a window overlooking the gazeboed garden, sofa, flat screen TV, a gas fireplace with great heat, and kitchenette. The bedroom with queen-sized bed even had a distant water view. It's two flights up but worth the small climb. A breakfast basket (with ample choices) is delivered outside your door at one of two times of your choice. The suite was immaculate. You can choose housekeeping or not. It's conveniently located one block from downtown. I shall definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for such a lovely review. We love the fact that so many of our guest's really do appreciate the Victorian Charm of the Hotel. It takes people back to another era when things were not so hectic. We welcome you to come and relax again with us.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    52
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
45
85
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I enjoyed every minute of my stay at the Bishop. My suite was so adorable in Victorian decor, exposed brick and a cute gas fireplace stove that kept the place toasty warm. It was very clean, which is very high on my priority list for a place to stay. I think it is managed very well. Bring ear plugs if a light sleeper since old buildings do not have insulation. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your high praise of the Bishop Victorian Hotel. We will pass along your appreciative comments to our Housekeeping Staff as room quality is high on our list also. The charm of this Heritage building is part of the overall Victorian feeling that this town is known for.

Bet Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Rhode Island, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This was an excellent experience from start to finish. Located within walking distance of all the interesting restaurants, shops and waterfront scenery in town, location is super convenient. There is off street parking and the staff are exceptional people. The wi-fi went down and one of the front office staff conscientiously tracked down the problem without delay. She also gave us some excellent dining tips! Squeaky clean, not overdone, Eco conscious...we did not take advantage of the complimentary breakfasts though had we stayed longer than three days, would have. The rates were off season and a great value. My only regret is not taking advantage of the deep tub....next time.

Room Tip: The bedroom in our suite ?224 was cramped but very quiet. The living space was ample otherwise. Woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments about our Hotel. These reviews like yours are so beneficial to future guests who are interested in coming to Port Townsend. There is no better review than a satisfied customer.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I have never been disappointed during a stay at the bishop Hotel. This time we were in suite 18 and it was large with high ceilings and very quiet and clean , They also gave us a complimentary bottle of Wine for being returning guests. A continental breakfast was delivered on time outside our room.. The bed was very comfortable and there is nothing that was left to be desired!
The staff was friendly and there was ample parking...

Room Tip: If you enjoy exercise we recommend the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are so fortunate for the many returning guests that we welcome to the Hotel. We're very pleased that you chose the Bishop Victorian Hotel again.

We look forward to another visit from a "loyal" guest.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My family recently stayed for the second time at the Bishop Victorian. The location is perfect for a visit to Port Townsend- although not on the main street, it is only one block away, so easy walking distance to everything! On this visit, we stayed in suite on the ground floor with two queen beds, a day bed, and a trundle. Last visit we had a room on the second floor with one queen and a sofa bed, and we actually preferred that room as it was more comfortable for eating and sitting. The breakfast was delivered to our door and was delicious. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and your second visit. Our location is nice as it's not on the main street and therefore our location is more quiet. We will convey your comments to our staff as they appreciate being recognized for doing a job well done.

Please return to our Victorian Charm again next time you're visiting Port Townsend.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I made my reservation here for a romantic getaway, but not without some reservations. It IS the most romantic hotel in Port Townsend, but that isn't saying much. What is true of Port Townsend in general is true of Bishop Victorian in particular: old is what makes it a romantic and interesting place to be, but that historic status also makes it very tricky to renovate.

The Bishop Victorian is nicely adorned and has great service, but there are a few work-arounds you have to be prepared to live with. There is some wear around the edges. There is no air conditioning and no elevator. Our room looked nice. All the furnishings were in good taste. But I just never was able to get comfortable in the space. The bathroom felt cramped, the sofa was too austere, the living room/ kitchen area was an odd shape. It felt to me they were trying to make one size fit all and ended up with nothing perfectly fitting.

Next time I think I would consider B&B's and Port Gamble.

Reservations and the front desk were absolutely impeccable. Very helpful. Gave me all the attention I desired.

The location can't be beat. It is set into the hill just one block off Water Street (the long main street where all the shops are) so it is walking distance to everything downtown. But Port Townsend is a little spread out: there is another center of activity with a couple places to eat and shops uptown, centered at Blaine & Tyler. You also need transportation to get to the beaches at Fort Worden & Fort Flagler.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. While our hotel does have a Historic status and Victorian Charm it is somewhat challenging and we are limited in our ability to make certain changes. We are glad that you enjoyed our "absolutely impeccable" Inn keeping Staff. We hope you will return to Port Townsend again as there are many opportunities for places to stay that could accommodate your needs.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

No swipe card for these rooms, just an old fashioned key. This old hotel was a convenient choice in downtown Port Townsend. The hotel and rooms have a feel of days gone by. The rooms were neat and clean and very functional. Nothing fancy, but nice touches. A simple continental breakfast was delivered to our door in the morning. Our room had two bedrooms connected by a combo kitchenette/living room. The rooms were small by today's hotel standards, especially the bathroom, but the 3 of us didn't spend much time in the room so it was very adequate. No air conditioning, but the windows opened and a fan was provided to place in the window.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We're so glad you appreciated the historic nature of the Bishop Victorian Hotel. It does feel like your stepping back to a bygone era of time. Thank you for sharing your comments.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bishop Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Victorian Hotel

Address: 714 Washington Street, Port Townsend, WA 98368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The top rated TripAdvisor hotel in Port Townsend is the Bishop Victorian, located in the heart of the Historic District with easy access to shops, restaurants and activities. The Bishop Victorian offers 16 suites, including ground level and two bedroom accommodations. Suites feature Victorian ambiance, private baths, fireplaces, convertible sofas and a continental breakfast delivered daily to your door. Each suite is outfitted with a mini or full kitchenette, including microwave, fridge and coffee service, and all guests have access to wireless or DSL connectivity from the comfort of their suite. High definition TVs, DVD players and a DVD library add to your enjoyment. The Bishop Victorian also offers meeting facilities for groups up to 35 people, and the outdoor tented garden venue provides a spring and summer location for weddings and other celebratory events for up to 200 guests. Preparing for an important event is effortless, with Touch of Health Massage Therapy and Izadora’s Tanning, Day Spa and Salon, both of which offer a variety of relaxing and rejuvenating services, conveniently located right next door. Children welcome and dogs are permitted in some designated suites and in accordance with our dog policies. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Three-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bishop Victorian Port Townsend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishop Victorian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bishop Victorian Hotel to your Saves list