We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but with a number of misses” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop Victorian Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bishop Victorian Hotel
714 Washington Street, Port Townsend, WA 98368   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Port Townsend
Vashon Island
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice but with a number of misses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had a suite and the very good was that it was a suite not a "suite". It had a bedroom with a door. Furnishings were tasteful antiques mixed with newer pieces that fit. The antiques were in good shape.

The inside was rough brick with large windows that opened and high ceilings. It was heated by a very nicely done gas stove in a fireplace like mantle. The room had a refrig, microwave and sink in a small kitchen area complete with plates, glasses and flat wear.

The bathroom had a huge tub and was all redone.

A nicely done breakfast delivered to your door in the morning. Coffee in room and in the lobby on each floor.

It all came off as very attractive and tasteful. Not overdone at all.

Sounds good, doesn't it?

Now the not so good. The wifi didn't work or when it did it was incredibly slow. I have a feeling this is an ongoing problem here because the desk clerk mentioned that Mac products have problems here and she was right our Macs didn't work but our Windows machine didn't work either. They use range extenders here to make their router available to the upper floors. They shouldn't. They have wired ethernet in each room which is what I am using to post this. A $30 wireless router in each room or even every couple of rooms, problem fixed.

No air conditioning. Now Port Townsend isn't Florida but on the top floor on a hot summer day? No thanks. Screens on two of the four windows.

A tiny armoire type closet, mostly filled with a fan (see no air-conditioning, above), ironing board, etc.

No place to hang stuff. No hooks or shelves. No room in the closet. Coats ended up on top of the dresser.

No place to put stuff in the bathroom. The sink is a pedestal so no counter space at all.

No thermostat on the gas stove, just a flame control. So it was too hot or too cold at night. The thermostat is an easy fix, I have a stove just like it.

Our first night here was very quiet, obviously the room next to us wasn't occupied. This morning it was quite different, when they got in the shower next door, it was like they were in our shower.

The stairs. Now they do tell you about them when you call to make a reservation. I can't recall if they do online. If you are 70 with a heart condition and heavy luggage, go for the first floor. They are steep.

I know it seems like I'm piling on here, so this will be my last complaint. An overstated view. Our room was supposed to have a water view and it does if you are standing up. You can see a slice of water a number of blocks away, otherwise you look at a high school football stadium which could be interesting during game night and just some buildings.

In conclusion, this hotel made an excellent first impression but staying here for a couple of days exposed a number of problems.

Would I come back? No. I'll try the Swan Inn the next time we are here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. We are always looking for ways to renew and improve our properties. The experiences our guests have while they are with us are the highest priority we have, so all comments are of great value!

We are most happy you enjoyed the setting and atmosphere of the Bishop Victorian. While providing a wonderful setting the historic structures in the Port Townsend Historic District can provide some challenges as well. Maintaining the historic footprint of the building’s interior can create space challenges for storage. Challenges are however meant to be overcome and to that end we will take a fresh look at the layout of the space and storage in that type of suite.
The historic nature of the building also means that like all the Historic District Hotels we have no elevators or air conditioning. We endeavor to make sure that guests have ample access to fans during the warmer season. The atrium high capacity cooling fan on the 3rd floor engages on warm days to pull fresh air into the building and significantly reduces the interior temperatures. To help with the issue of stairs we added two new guest rooms to the ground floor of the structure. These were conceived and designed specifically as an option for people for whom the stairs were a concern.

Since the original structure had wood stoves as a heat source it was decided continue that aesthetic. 14 of our 16 rooms have gas stoves for a primary source of heat. Of those 14, 11 of them to date have been converted to thermostat control. The three remaining are not thermostat capable units, but will be upgraded as they are due to be replaced.

One of our main focuses at both the Bishop Victorian and Swan hotels this year is technological upgrades. We were the first in town to offer in room Wifi and want to stay on the cutting edge for our customers. Earlier in the year we began to notice that the new devices coming on the market were having issues connecting to our system. Some devices had to connect using different settings than the default settings on the device. The decision was made to plan and install systems upgrades that would not just bring us current, but to enable us to grow into the future. This would include not only a state of the art wifi system, but a new telecommunications system, new websites, new reservations and hotel operating systems. Our new Wifi system will be a modern, high capacity system capable of handling all new devices, multiple users and broadcast range to cover all corners of our property adequately. It will have redundant broadband providers so loss of one source will not interrupt internet access.

All of this required upgrades to wiring and systems both internally and the infrastructure used by utilities providing those services externally. The planning and infrastructure upgrades have been ongoing through a very busy spring, summer and early fall season as time allowed. The equipment has been purchased, configured and is waiting for installation. The installation of this system was to be completed by Oct 1 of this year. Unfortunately, delays caused by infrastructure work being done by a key utility provider in the process have pushed that date back to early November.

We are most anxious to get this work completed and unveil these systems to our guests. Our greatest regret is that the work was not completed in time for your visit. We will endeavor to continue to improve and hope you will visit with us again to enjoy the results.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    52
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
43
84
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sequim, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed in this wonderful hotel for one night. We live in nearby Sequim and wanted a little get away. We chose this hotel based on TA reviews. Did not disappoint. Yes, it's in a old building, but everything is clean and maintained. We stayed in a King Suite. Really nicely laid out. Bedroom separate. Everyone we had dealings with was excellent. Very helpful and friendly.
Enjoyed a good meal at The Fountain Cafe and then off to a movie at The Rose ( a great old movie theatre ). We'll be back for another 1-2 night escape.

Room Tip: King Suite on any level. They are laid out the same. But the higher up you go, the better the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Isn't it fun to run away from home once in awhile? We're so glad you had a nice "get away".

Thanks for sharing your stay.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel left nothing out. Impecibaly decorated, clean, and no detail was forgotten. Movie and popcorn was a nice touch too! Loved the breakfast basket and the jetted tub. Wish we lived closer. This would be a weekend destination every couple of months....♥♥♥

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. It's rewarding to hear from guests who enjoyed the charm of The Bishop Victorian Hotel.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

On our way home from a week in Canada we stayed here for 1 night. Our room the King Suite # 13 was lovely. It is on the 2nd floor ( 26 steps ) with a view out the front and a peek of the water and a view of the green lawn out the side toward the ball-field. There was plenty of room, a nice sitting area with flat screen TV, a dinning table with a coffee making area, a very comfortable king bed. The staff at the front reception was friendly and we talked with several different people, all helpful. Easy walk to all the downtown stores and restaurants. Highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Suite #13 was roomy and quiet yet with a peek at the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Hopefully we can welcome you back again one of these days. Many thanks for sharing your comments.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at the Bishop Victorian Hotel in Pt Townsend and had two unfortunate experiences. First, the housekeeping service was very poor. Towels left messy and it appeared all that was done was making the bed and cleaning the coffee pot. Secondly, I requested an hour extension for checking out which was not granted in spite of low occupancy. Not very customer friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed one night (September 19) in king Suite 13 on the first floor, after a week at Olympic National Park. What a beautiful place! They provide everything and more that you need, including a lovely packed picnic basket for breakfast, good HD tv, and wifi that is free and fast and it allowed me to even download movies for our flight home. Bed was very comfortable and climate control was perfect. Location was good for short walk to stores, restaurants and to our whale watch trip. Parking too was free and close (a necessity in this town). Yes a steep set of stairs to the room, but we prepared for it by bringing a light duffle to carry only what was needed for that night, instead of hauling suitcases up the stairs. This hotel was perfect for our needs and the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on trip advisor. We appreciate your review which provided so many details and insights about our Inn and Town.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have been to Pt. Townsend several times and stayed at different hotels each time, but the Bishop Hotel is my favorite. The rooms are pretty big. We stayed on the 3rd floor and there aren't great views of the ocean from this hotel. If you don't like climbing steps to get to your room, then you probably shouldn't be staying in Pt. Townsend, but ask for a lower room if you don't want to lug your suitcases up 46 steps to the 3rd floor. The rooms were very comfortable and had GREAT digital TV. Lots of channels and nice TV sets.

Rooms were very quiet. I couldn't hear anything from other rooms. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Very, very nice people. The room had everything you could need - fridge, coffee maker, plates, glasses. I really enjoyed this place. It's in a great location as well - very close to the middle of downtown and all restaurants/bars. The parking situation is great since they have their own lot. No hassles at all parking on the street.

If you are planning a stay in Pt. Townsend you could do a lot worse than the Bishop Hotel. It's not on Water St. so you don't have to deal with any traffic/noise, but you are very close to all of the action. Much better than other hotels I have stayed at in Pt. Townsend.

Also - the hotel has continental breakfast included...delivered to your room, which is very nice. They also have fresh coffee in the lobby/hallway outside your room every morning which is really nice since you don't even have to walk downstairs to get it. You can also buy soda and stuff in the lobby whenever you want, or get DVDs to watch.

Can't say enough about the Bishop. If you find yourself in Pt. Townsend I would definitely stay here and avoid staying on Water St. I can't see any reason to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Get a lower room if you don't want to walk all the way up steps to the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much on behalf of The Bishop Victorian Hotel for staying with us during your visit to Port Townsend and for sharing with your experience here with us.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bishop Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Victorian Hotel

Address: 714 Washington Street, Port Townsend, WA 98368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The top rated TripAdvisor hotel in Port Townsend is the Bishop Victorian, located in the heart of the Historic District with easy access to shops, restaurants and activities. The Bishop Victorian offers 16 suites, including ground level and two bedroom accommodations. Suites feature Victorian ambiance, private baths, fireplaces, convertible sofas and a continental breakfast delivered daily to your door. Each suite is outfitted with a mini or full kitchenette, including microwave, fridge and coffee service, and all guests have access to wireless or DSL connectivity from the comfort of their suite. High definition TVs, DVD players and a DVD library add to your enjoyment. The Bishop Victorian also offers meeting facilities for groups up to 35 people, and the outdoor tented garden venue provides a spring and summer location for weddings and other celebratory events for up to 200 guests. Preparing for an important event is effortless, with Touch of Health Massage Therapy and Izadora’s Tanning, Day Spa and Salon, both of which offer a variety of relaxing and rejuvenating services, conveniently located right next door. Children welcome and dogs are permitted in some designated suites and in accordance with our dog policies. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Three-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bishop Victorian Port Townsend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishop Victorian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bishop Victorian Hotel to your Saves list