We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel in an awesome town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bishop Victorian Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bishop Victorian Hotel
Save
You added Bishop Victorian Hotel to your Saves list
714 Washington Street, Port Townsend, WA 98368   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome hotel in an awesome town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Bishop Victorian is the perfect place to rest after a day of adventuring on the peninsula. Their excellent accomodations, friendly staff, and convenient location near downtown made them the perfect jumping off point for dinner and drinks, and a cozy place to repose after a long day. My only thought for improvement would be their breakfast. On the one hand they drop if off in a cute basket right infront of your room. On the other hand it's all "continental style" munchies like bagels and cereal. But then, some breakfast is better than none.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

The staff and I thank you for your kind words.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    61
    21
    5
    1
See reviews for
47
104
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here last week. It's in a very convenient location in the historical part of town and near the waterfront. The outside of the building seems very old and plain. However, the inside in quite nice! WE had a queen suite on the second floor. A word of warning-- you must climb a steep set of stairs to get to the second floor. Two sets of stairs if you are on the 3rd floor.

Our suite was very comfortable and included a kitchenette. The complimentary breakfast was nice. It is delivered to your room.

The only downside is the squealing of the seagulls. You may want to bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper.

If you can climb steep stairs, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are in the heart of local attractions and we are pleased that you both enjoyed your visit with us.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Timber, Montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I loved the Bishop Hotel. Our room was great-very comfortable. It brought back wonderful memories of staying at grandma's house. Everything was immaculate and the check-in lady was very welcoming. It is also in a perfect location to walk downtown. We couldn't have been more pleased. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again when your travels bring you to Port Townsend.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

A very nice room with a kitchen, fireplace ... on the second floor in a great location. Our continental breakfast was delivered to our room the next morning so we could relax in our room till checkout. I really loved the décor of this hotel. We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Isn't breakfast in bed great! Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Bishop Victorian Hotel is filled with charm and is perfectly situated for exploring Port Townsend. This is not your typical modern hotel, yet it has all the creature comforts you could want: tv, video (movie library), seating areas, fireplaces, small fridge, microwave, dishes and coffee machine. In addition, a continental breakfast is delivered to your door each morning. We didn't check out each of the rooms, but our room on the bottom floor, had 2 queen beds plus a separate room with a day bed in it - more than enough room for a family of 4! We stayed two nights and loved the ease with which we could walk to galleries and good restaurants. Oh, if you don't want to skip your fitness, or if you want to try an outstanding gym, then be sure to take advantage of the gym privileges offered you. Service was friendly, helpful, and knowledgable! Very close to the ferry if this is important to you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We love to hear that our guests enjoyed our Historic Hotel and the Vintage Victorian decor. Thank you for your visit!!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you like squeaky clean rooms with quasi-vintage decor this is the place for you. Not your typical bland Motel 6. On the other hand, it manages modern appointments like Wi-Fi, LED TV and basic kitchen appliances, so not a rustic Victorian hole in the wall. We had a mini suite--bedroom separate from the living room/kitchen--so plenty of room and privacy if needed.

I found the king sized bed comfy, the curtains thick enough to sleep in and the bathroom modern and ultra clean. So a very comfortable room to sleep and hang out in. We had a corner unit with a view of the street and parking lot. Not very inspiring and the room was stuffy when the sunny, requiring opening of all the windows.

I've stayed at Port Townsend many times these past 25 years and while the Bishop is among the nicest hotels, I prefer a room on the waterfront with a view of Port Townsend Bay. My first pick is the Belmont Inn. I don't care if it's rustic and not as clean. Being a few feet from the lapping waves, breathing fresh air and hearing gulls cry over Union Wharf keeps me at my open window for hours. So while the Bishop is great I only stay there when the Belmont is full.

Incidentally, the Bishop is lacks an elevator and should be avoided if you can't handle two or three flights of stairs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, General Manager at Bishop Victorian Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your note and sharing your thoughts about our squeaky clean rooms. We will be certain to share your thoughts with our housekeeping staff.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, Washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

First off....If you really like a typical modern hotel room, then this hotel is not for you. I, personally, loved this hotel! Lovely, comfortable room, decorated with numerous antiques but they manage to still put in all of the modern amenities (ie, microwave, fridge, gas fireplace) without detracting from the overall feel of the room. It is also within a short walking distance to just about anything you would want to see. For an older building, the rooms were surprisingly quiet. We heard very little noise from the other guests. The hallways are full of antiques and interesting artwork and is an attraction all by itself. I may also be biased because for me, this hotel had a sentimental element because it reminded me of my childhood and my Aunt's old farmhouse which was decorated in a similar fashion. Also included is a breakfast basket delivered to your door in the morning. It is a cute touch but in my opinion, they could do much better on the contents. We did not eat it and ended up going out for breakfast. This is the only small suggestion I have and not a very troubling one so If you are looking for something different and fitting of the location, you must try this hotel!

Room Tip: This hotel has a lot of steep stairs (no elevators in the time period this was built) so if this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bishop Victorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Victorian Hotel

Address: 714 Washington Street, Port Townsend, WA 98368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The top rated TripAdvisor hotel in Port Townsend is the Bishop Victorian, located in the heart of the Historic District with easy access to shops, restaurants and activities. The Bishop Victorian offers 16 suites, including ground level and two bedroom accommodations. Suites feature Victorian ambiance, private baths, fireplaces, convertible sofas and a continental breakfast delivered daily to your door. Each suite is outfitted with a mini or full kitchenette, including microwave, fridge and coffee service, and all guests have access to wireless or DSL connectivity from the comfort of their suite. High definition TVs, DVD players and a DVD library add to your enjoyment. The Bishop Victorian also offers meeting facilities for groups up to 35 people, and the outdoor tented garden venue provides a spring and summer location for weddings and other celebratory events for up to 200 guests. Preparing for an important event is effortless, with Touch of Health Massage Therapy and Izadora’s Tanning, Day Spa and Salon, both of which offer a variety of relaxing and rejuvenating services, conveniently located right next door. Children welcome and dogs are permitted in some designated suites and in accordance with our dog policies. Mid-week, commercial and government rates are available. Three-Diamond AAA rated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bishop Victorian Port Townsend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bishop Victorian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.