We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dined at the Belmont Restaurant - Great Seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Belmont Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Belmont Inn
925 Water St., Port Townsend, WA 98368   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 hotels in Port Townsend
Camas
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Dined at the Belmont Restaurant - Great Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

we arrived without reservations, so had a little wait for a outside table. Nice view of Puget Sound.
The wait staff was scattered and we ended up with the owners wife waiting on us. She was very nice, but you could tell she wasn't a wait person. I had the Salmon with Crab dollup and Shredded Baked potato - EXCELLENT meal. My Wife had the crab stuffed Sole. Again, excellent over a bottle of Riesling and a coffee nudge for dessert. We had a good experience here and highly recommend them for seafood.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    10
    8
    10
See reviews for
9
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is my first review so I am trying to remain objective. Our experience here was not overly good or bad but about right for the price of the room. I will say that it is a shame that a hotel with such excellent character is not living up to its potential. With a few simple and cheap tweaks this hotel would not only satisfy a lot more guests, the owners could charge a little extra for what could be a great experience in a time where chain hotels blanket the industry. We stayed in room #2 on the street side.

A few items I noticed which were detrimental to our experience included hair in the bath tub, flies buzzing around reception foyer for hotel/restaurant, no microwave or fridge (no TV either which I think is a positive) and thin windows allowed a bit of the street noise in as well as the blinds which did not cover the top windows.

Pros:
Great location
Unique rooms with charm
Comfortable bed
Fast and reliable wi-fi
Friendly service

Cons:
Several maintenance issues which could be easily resolved
Old blinds were not really effective and top windows allow light to stream in
No microwave or refrigerator
General cleanliness could be improved

It seems as though the owners have lost pride in this hotel. With a little capital, attention to detail and minor maintenance this place could be transformed into a real gem. I probably would not stay here again until the owners realised that age is only charming when everything is still functional.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

I don't usually write reviews, but I felt the need to write one about this place. This has to be the least enjoyable hotel I have stayed in! There were some perks: the location is right downtown, the beds are comfortable, our room was right on the water, the room was spacious and the staff was very friendly. BUT the room was dirty, a dirty sock was under the bed, the sheets & towels smelled like sour laundry, no TV, the bathroom ceiling paint was peeling & falling as you showered, and the separate entrance to the rooms reminded me a little of something out of a horror movie! Definitely would not recommend! Try the Bishop hotel...or the Palace hotel as a second choice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

The hotel is an old historic building on the Water Street. The room could have been very charming - and it was by itself but the very old (and I don't mean antique) and worn out furniture made an unfavourable impression. Though the bed was good, and the unit overall was clean and spacios. Be aware of no TV in the rooms - if the weather is nice - it's OK - the old town is very pretty, but if it is rainy - it is not too much to do. Bring a good book!
The location is perfect though.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We read the negative reviews, but decided to book, anyway; we don't mind a little adventure now and then. We're really glad we did! It's a very old building, charming quirks, and it's stayed authentic, so we expected her so show her age. Staff was friendly and helpful. Bed was very comfy with nice linens, room and bath were generously sized, bath was suitably appointed. We chose the street side, because it was just the two of us and we preferred to see the town at night. We booked for $54/night, so I rated one dot higher than I otherwise would have: A comfortable room in such a great location for this price is magnificent! Hope we can do it again.

Room Tip: Water side rooms show more wear, but they have lofts with room for more guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed in room 3, with a water view. There were bleach stains on the dark coloured carpet. No TV in the room. Old phone took over 30 seconds to get dial tone after dialing 9. No Kleenex in the bathroom or bedroom. The formerly white towels were grey, stained and rough to the touch. The bath tub finish was so rough we decided not to bathe or shower rather than risk a pathogen. There is no insulation around the large windows. You can see daylight around them. Cob webs in the loft. We did not sleep well, so left a 5:30 AM, just to get out of there. We were on a 5000 KM trip and stayed in 6 hotels along the way. This was the worst hotel. We consider it our $100.00 lesson in 'how not to choose a hotel'.

Room Tip: Don't be distracted by the view when checking out a room. Look behind doors and in the armoire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

The Belmont Inn is located right in the Old Town section of Port Townsend overlooking Puget Sound. The Belmont only has 4 rooms: 2 on the water side and 2 facing the street side. We booked a streetside room for only $50/night, which I thought was a bargain! The room was large, the bed was extremely comfortable, the room was clean (keep in mind the building is over 120 years old), the heating was good (small wall heater, but heated the room quickly) and the staff were friendly. The hotel is full of character.

If you don't enjoy small town charm then you probably won't like Port Townsend or the Belmont Inn. But, if you do enjoy small towns that work hard to retain the old town feel, then you will enjoy the Belmont. I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Belmont Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Inn

Address: 925 Water St., Port Townsend, WA 98368
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
The Belmont Hotel Port Townsend
Belmont Hotel Port Townsend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belmont Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Belmont Inn to your Saves list