We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Co-Op/Health Food Store!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Food Co-op

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Food Co-op
414 Kearney St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-8302
360-385-2883
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 86 Restaurants in Port Townsend
Cuisines: American
Description: The Co-op has tables and carry out. The food is fresh, reasonably priced, healthy and quite tasty. It's an excellent alternative to over-priced local restaurants.
Restaurant details
Description: The Co-op has tables and carry out. The food is fresh, reasonably priced, healthy and quite tasty. It's an excellent alternative to over-priced local restaurants.
Saranac Lake, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Co-Op/Health Food Store!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stopped here for a quick lunch on our way through port Townsend. They have everything you would expect in a good quality co-op. Plus they have a first class prepared food section with sandwiches, soups, salads, and more. I had the chicken Waldorf salad and some salmon spread with crackers. The Waldorf was delicious, but the Salmon Spread was OUT OF THIS WORLD! Smoked Salmon, scallions, homemade mayonnaise, and Cream Cheese. Possibly the best thing i've ever put on a cracker.

I would highly recommend this place for lunch and for all your shopping needs.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    13
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Angeles, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Groovy & Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

It's a food co-op. It's awesome. This is a great place for muffins, soups, bulk foods, wool socks, hemp seeds, etc. The deli case is full of interesting salads. There's seating. Perfect spot to spend a lot of money picking up snacks, meals and little treats.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisters, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Spent two months in Port Townsend in our Motor Coach and the Co Op was our go to place. Fabulous produce specially the greens like Kale, Chard etc. Biggest carrots I've ever seen and they were sweet to boot. Brought a couple bags home to show our granddaughter. Even veggies I've never seen here at home. Tried them all. Think of it as a grocery store not a restaurant but a deli. Great soups, grab a picnic, they will let you sample everything before you buy. Try the desserts specially the Carrot Cake & Tirimisu. Very friendly & helpful staff. Learned not to mention "Whole Foods" or "Trader Joe" those are "Big Corporate Stores".

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Selections”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

More of an organic, local grocery store than a restaurant, in my opinion, but great selection. We stopped here to stock up on camping food before out Olympic Peninsula camping/hiking trip, and they had everything we were looking for.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ludlow, Washington, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The rational, healthy, economical place to eat in PT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Nutritious,inexpensive soups, while sandwiches and freshly prepared salads,quiches are high quality, but more expensive. The recently expanded dining area is a great place to meet progressive,active, locals. Too bad one can't have easy access to the outdoor patio.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Food Co-op also viewed

 

Been to The Food Co-op? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Food Co-op, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.