We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thornton House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thornton House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Thornton House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1132 Garfield Street, Port Townsend, WA 98368   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
victoria, bc
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Charming and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Loved staying at Thornton House. Barbara and Charlie are gracious hosts and the breakfasts are supurb. The location is within walking distance of uptown and downtown Port Townsend in a very quiet, eclectic neighbourhood. Ready to return to the comfortable home and lovely bedroom.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I rarely give a five star review. The only other stay that has earned such was over three years ago. Thornton House is a B and B, and so visitors should expect such. A Bed and Breakfast should, in my opinion, emulate a stay at a family friend's house....maybe a family friend whose son is hoping to marry your daughter and wants to make a fabulous impression.

Charlie and Barbara were very gracious hosts. We stayed in the detached room which was spotless, comfortable and very private. The grounds are beautiful and Barbara was working in the garden while Charlie welcomed us and settled us in. We took a short walk into town for supper. Truly, the walk is hardly grueling, and I am a 40-something, pudgy woman who happened to have a broken toe at the time.

The recommendation for supper was spot-on. Breakfast the next morning was made by Charlie and served at a very civilized hour. Though I would have preferred fewer carbohydrates (we had waffles), I had not mentioned this preference beforehand. The food was fresh and very good, and breakfast conversation was lively.

I highly recommend this spot for a romantic get-away (we were celebrating an anniversary). When Charlie and Barbara set about refurbishing and remodeling this home they spared little expense and really did a wonderful job of modernizing while keeping the spirit of the home. Their new kitchen left me wanting a big remodel at my own home! The room in which we stayed was wonderfully comfortable, and none of the chipped old make-do furnishings and details normally found in so many of the B and Bs we have tried in the past. Nicely done!

Room Tip: The detached room is the one we chose and it was very quiet and very private and comfortable. I am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

It's hard not to be a bit over the top about Thornton House B and B. Barbara and Charlie really have thought of everything that makes staying in a B and B a great travel experience.
Things we loved: The good cheer and warmth of the owners, the savory breakfasts--especially Barbara's biscuits, the way Charlie anticipated our need for tea to soothe a raspy throat, a dinner reservation, ice for our journey home, the softness of the sheets and pillows and towels, the charming garden, the short and interesting walk to town (poppies and lavender blooming everywhere)---we couldn't have been happier there.
We're looking forward to a longer stay next time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I think it is important to share what I think with other travelers, so here is my honest opinion. I am surprised that this had gotten nothing but perfect scores. For me to give a perfect score, a place has to be extraordinary, above and beyond in some way. I found the Thornton House to be simply average. The room was clean but sparse. The breakfast was large but not particularly tasty. I was not pleased with the location, which was quite a ways from uptown, and farther from downtown. I can see how some would be happy, but for the money charged, I believe there are better options.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This location, tucked away on a quiet meandering lane, means that when you walk from here, you'll see historic homes and remnants of farms that you probably wouldn't walk by on a usual stroll through Uptown. It's an easy walk to the Fountain Steps that lead down to Taylor St.and the waterfront. We enjoyed our stay in the Carriage House, and a delicious breakfast to fuel the day's hiking and biking. Charlie and Barbara are gracious and welcoming.

Room Tip: The Carriage House has space to lock bikes on the patio outside the bedroom door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed with Charlie and Barbara at their lovely bed and breakfast. It sets the standard for B&Bs and a lot of hotels and inns could learn from them. They get all the little details right: the amenities, the sheets, the towels, the cookies set out at night, the "early" coffee before the amazing breakfast. The house and gardens are gorgeous. Best of all are the hosts. Charlie and Barbara are lovely -- gracious, quick to assist, smart, and charming. Simply, the best B&B experience we've had anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Thorton House.Barb and Charlie were wonderful hosts.The B & B is furnished nicely.The gardens are beautiful and the breakfast was excellent.Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thornton House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornton House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1132 Garfield Street, Port Townsend, WA 98368
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thornton House Bed and Breakfast is a spacious three bedroom guest house in the heart of Port Townsend’s Historic Uptown District. The original 1885 farmhouse has been carefully restored to reflect the ambiance and charm of a by-gone era. Every effort has been made to retain the original character of the farmhouse while providing present-day amenities and comfort. Newly renovated historic cottage with king bed and private bath with rain shower. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thornton House b&b
Thornton House Hotel Port Townsend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thornton House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.