We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Consulate Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Old Consulate Inn to your Saves list
Old Consulate Inn
313 Walker St., Port Townsend, WA 98368   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Beautiful views, great food, wonderful hospitality, and even a friendly dog. My daughter and I stayed here recently and had a spectacular time. We took walks, shopped, and ate good food at the local restaurants. The breakfasts here were delicious, and the accommodations were great. I have been here before and will definitely come again.

Room Tip: Over the years I and my family have stayed in several of the rooms and haven't found a bad one y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    14
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
98
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Herzlia, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

On a recent business trip to the Seattle area, I spent a wonderful weekend at the Old Consulate Inn! The Master Suite is phenomenal and the view, breathtaking! I can’t recommend the inn highly enough. They were able to accommodate my dietary restrictions and made me a delicious vegetarian breakfast, the homemade cookies are melt-in-your-mouth and Nathan and Cindy put so much of themselves and their wonderful personalities into every detail that I felt completely pampered all weekend! I will definitely make this a weekend habit on upcoming trips to the area!

Room Tip: The view from the Master Suite is not to be missed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Outstanding view of the bay . Wonderful garden , gazebo , large outdoor decks.
Very large home with several cute rooms. Was the German consulate in the early 1900's, in a town that was supposed to be the San Francisco of the west coast .
Victorian outside , Eduardian inside . Outanding craftsmanship. Beautifully decorated with antiques .Master Bedroom on top floor is a must . $195 - $225, for a very large room that has everything...corner turret sitting room , large bathroom with tub and shower , incredible view .
Their least expensive room is $110 /night year round ...nice but small.
Breakfast was outstanding . Special dietary needs are no problem for them .
It would be difficult to find a better Victorian B&B.
Excellent owners and staff .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The Consulate was an interesting place to stay. The rooms were small, but quaint and had character. The breakfast was spectacular and the inn keepers were very helpful. I really appreciated that they take dietary considerations! It is thoughtful and allows people with diet restrictions to still participate in the experience. It was nice to meet others around the table and talk about nearby places to see. I found this to be very helpful and it added to the experience. The room we stayed in probably needs a carpet renovation in the near future, but other than that, it was quite clean. As a heritage home, we could sometimes hear others in the hallway, but to be honest, I thought it would be much louder. I had no issues with sleeping and it felt like we were alone most of the time. We went in 'low season,' but the price was still quite high. Nevertheless, I would still recommend it over the other places in the area. If I would to return, I would stay there again, as cleanliness is the most important feature of any hotel, etc. I found our room to be very clean, even though it had an 'old' sense of character. We enjoyed it.

In terms of places to eat in town:
-We went to the public house for lunch. The service was terrible and the food was just 'ok.'
-We also went to the Noodle House located near the rose theatre. The food was basic; we left feeling unimpressed and did not go back.
-We went to a place on washington street-- i think it was called the Fountain Cafe. The service and food was good.

Hope this review helps!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

My wife and I chose this B&B partly based on a review of the food. We were not disappointed. Having my dairy allergy, many foods for me are not an option. The staff was great in working around this, and the breakfasts were exceptionally good. The all-in-one coffee maker in the library produced the finest cup my wife has ever experienced. "To die for"...
The hosts were pleasant and very helpful. The bed was very comfortable with not a thought about the mattress. Parking was good and the view was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

An overnight mid-week, mid-winter stay recharged the batteries with an enjoyable stay at the Old Consulate Inn. A day of shopping, excellent dining at two of Nathan's recommendations (Owl Sprit and Alchemy Bistro), a movie at the Rose Theater followed by an evening in the Master Suite, an outstanding (and beautifully presented) breakfast the next morning, a few games of pool (my bride of 26 years won) on the Old Consulate Inn's newly resurfaced full-size pool table and an afternoon in Sequim made for a terrific trip from the South Sound. The property is gorgeous Victorian inside and out with period furniture, musical instruments and library, and our hosts were clearly experienced in the hospitality industry where a beautiful property coupled with detail-oriented hosts shakes the winter doldrums and enlivens the soul.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterton, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We've stayed there three times, and each time was a delight. Cindy's three-course breakfasts are fabulous, and Nathan is frequently there at breakfast to entertain us with his hurdy-gurdy. That's not everybody's favorite instrument, but it has a novel sound that we happen to enjoy. If Victorian ambience is you cup of tea, you'll undoubtedly enjoy this B&B. There is, however, one minor downside, at least there was the last time we were there, and that is the hourly tolling of the bell on the near-by Jefferson County Courthouse. We understand that that Nathan and Cindy have been working to persuade the county fathers to turn the bell off during normal sleep hours, but last we heard that hadn't happened yet. The innkeepers do provide earplugs, but if you're a light sleeper you may want to bring your own. One other downside: If you're trying to diet, those delicious 3-course breakfasts could be a challenge for you! Oh, yes, I should add that, in addition to all the sights to see in Port Townsend itself, a number of other sights on the Olympic Peninsula, such as Hurricane Ridge in the Olympic National Park, are easy day trips from the Inn.

Room Tip: We particularly like the Harbor View Room because of its view of the water. On the clearest days you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Consulate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Consulate Inn

Address: 313 Walker St., Port Townsend, WA 98368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the gracious hospitality of Port Townsend's Victorian premiere B&B in the this beautifully restored Queen Anne bed and breakfast. Best B&B in Jefferson county 2013 & 2014. Savor the old-world charm of this enchanting B&B surrounded by antiques, stained glass, and beautiful woodwork, with the comforts of home and the conveniences of a fine hotel.Built in 1889 by Senator F.W. Hastings, son of Port Townsend's founding father Loren B. Hastings, the mansion served as the residence and office of the German Consul from 1908 to 1911. Today she carries the designation of National Historic Landmark and State Landmark, is listed on the National Register of Preserved Places.This award-winning 'Painted Lady' is one of the most photographed and painted Victorian mansions in the Pacific Northwest. She sits high on the bluff overlooking Port Townsend and commands spectacular views of Puget Sound, Mount Rainier, and the Olympic Mountains.Relax, laugh, and rediscover in a setting of tranquility and grace. Whether you curl up with a good book, kayak around the bay, or explore the shops and cafes of historic Port Townsend, the Old Consulate Inn offers you a haven of timeless contentment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Old Consulate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Consulate Hotel Port Townsend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Consulate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.