We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20 years” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Consulate Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Consulate Inn
313 Walker St., Port Townsend, WA 98368   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“20 years”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We first stayed here 20 years ago. That was our first B&B experience. We talked about coming back for years and finally did it this weekend. Little has changed. The new owners treat their guests like kings and queens and all of the charm is still here. It fell short though in two ways. First, we stayed in the Rose Suite. Very nice but the mattress was soft and bouncy and instead of a shower, the room only has a tub. A bath was not in my plan so I washed my hair in the sink and will shower when I get home. The other issue is that the room was expensive. The breakfast was great and like I said, the hosts are awesome, but it was priced 20-25% too high.

I don't know if we will come back. Maybe in another 20 years. :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, Owner at Old Consulate Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
We are sorry that you did not understand that this room only had a claw-foot tub - we have made it as clear as possible with both pictures and descriptions on our website. And perhaps the prices have gone up in the last 20 years ;) We are careful of our pricing - we consider other Port Townsend accommodations and what we have to offer, including a three-course hot homemade breakfast, antiques, gazebo, billiard room, and garden overlooking the bay. We also offer a wide range of room situations and prices.
When you come back, and we hope you do, we will probably have had a brass shower installed in the claw-foot tub of that room (it is going to require some tricky bracing in the attic which we hope to get to this winter. We'll post pictures when we get it finished!... pictures of the shower, not the attic!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
78
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Spokane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Old Consulate Inn is nestled within a five block radius of the heart of Port Townsend. It is within walking distance of numerous eating, shopping and historic sites. The owners are adept at making one feel welcome and informed of the history of the area. When Cindy serves breakfast in her Victorian garb one truly feels at tune with the 1890s. The food is exceptional and the accommodations very comfortable...........this will be our first pick for a return visit!

Room Tip: The second floor Master Suite had an exceptional view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

After a couple of less than satisfactory stays in B&B's we were a bit reluctant to try another but our 4 night stay at the Old Consulate restored our faith. Nathan and Cindy could not have been nicer or more helpful and were just wonderful hosts. The accommodations were terrific, the antique furniture was in keeping with the age of the house and added to its unique charm.
The inn is in a great location. It is very convenient to downtown a quick ride or a nice walk while enjoying the view and the deer. It is also close to other attractions in the area.

The breakfasts were creative, hot, homemade, and got everyday off to a good start.

We would recommend the Old Consulate Inn without reservation!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, Oregon
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

No TV, phones ( but excellent WiFi connection if desired or needed), wonderful 3 course breakfasts, innkeepers who are helpful, but also respect your privacy, super clean rooms, comfy beds, lavender toiletries, truffles at bedtime, coffee, tea in the library 24/7, freshly baked cookies, wonderful terrace and landscaped grounds with seating (incl.'porch swings) in shady spots, views of the harbor, a billiard room, short walk to town.
The only fly in the ointment was that we hit an unusually hot weather spell.
A portable fan kept our room reasonably comfortable at night.
We are senior citizens and managed the stairs to the 3rd floor OK. But will probably try a room on the 2nd floor next time.
Had no problem with the nearby bell ringing every hour. Maybe because the fan was a good white noise, or that our room was on the harbor view side?
We compare this inn to Abigail's in Victoria, one of our favorites.

Room Tip: I think one or two rooms have only a tub...be sure to check out the individual room descriptions, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed in the Bay View Room for 2 nights. Breakfast both mornings was incredible. Grand Marnier French Toast as the third course the first morning, need I say more. The view is great, we could watch boat in the bay from our room and we also enjoyed the swing on the porch. The Inn is very quiet the interior decorations and antiques are fun to look at. Its like staying in a museum. We were sad to leave and wish we had booked it for another night. Cindy is awesome....

Room Tip: The Bay View Room in on the south side of the Inn, away from the bell in the Court House, so the bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed at the OCI for Wooden Boat Festival this year. It was full, as was every place in town for the Festival, yet it was a delightful and quiet respite from all the activities in town. The rooms and the house are genteel Victorian style with modern accoutrements.
Like most B&Bs, each room has a distinct personality: The Tower had an alcove with a wonderful view of the Bay (my wife's favorite) where we watched an incredible lightning storm one evening and dozed in wicker chairs, The Gable Room was a bit smaller, but clean and comfortable with a view of the park across the street.
We enjoyed the Wooden Boat Festival, but the real high point of the weekend was Breakfast each morning -- eating wonderfully prepared food while sharing conversation with 7 other interesting couples.
We recommend the experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The inn is on a bluff overlooking the water and across the street from both the historic county courthouse and lighthouse. It is a very easy walk to downtown Port Townsend and this property is on the historic district walking tour.We stayed two days and never moved our car. We either walked or biked around the area and to the ferry. The house has very comfortable public rooms to spread out in and I loved lounging on the outdoor swing overlooking the sound, drinking my morning coffee and perusing the internet. The owners are just the right amount of attentive without being obtrusive. The only criticism I have of the inn would be the hourly chiming of the courthouse clock. If you were staying in one of the back bedrooms you might not hear it. The inn thoughtfully provides earplugs, therefore the second night I slept through the chimes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Consulate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Consulate Inn

Address: 313 Walker St., Port Townsend, WA 98368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the gracious hospitality of Port Townsend’s Victorian past in the this beautifully restored Queen Anne bed and breakfast. Savor the old-world charm of this enchanting B&B surrounded by antiques, stained glass, and beautiful woodwork, with the comforts of home and the conveniences of a fine hotel.Built in 1889 by Senator F.W. Hastings, son of Port Townsend's founding father Loren B. Hastings, the mansion served as the residence and office of the German Consul from 1908 to 1911. Today she carries the designation of National Historic Landmark and State Landmark, is listed on the National Register of Preserved Places.This award-winning ‘Painted Lady’ is one of the most photographed and painted Victorian mansions in the Pacific Northwest. She sits high on the bluff overlooking Port Townsend and commands spectacular views of Puget Sound, Mount Rainier, and the Olympic Mountains.Relax, laugh, and rediscover in a setting of tranquility and grace. Whether you curl up with a good book, kayak around the bay, or explore the shops and cafés of historic Port Townsend, the Old Consulate Inn offers you a haven of timeless contentment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Consulate Hotel Port Townsend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Consulate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Old Consulate Inn to your Saves list