We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Breakfast, Location and View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Consulate Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Old Consulate Inn to your Saves list
Old Consulate Inn
313 Walker St., Port Townsend, WA 98368   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast, Location and View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed in the Bay View Room for 2 nights. Breakfast both mornings was incredible. Grand Marnier French Toast as the third course the first morning, need I say more. The view is great, we could watch boat in the bay from our room and we also enjoyed the swing on the porch. The Inn is very quiet the interior decorations and antiques are fun to look at. Its like staying in a museum. We were sad to leave and wish we had booked it for another night. Cindy is awesome....

Room Tip: The Bay View Room in on the south side of the Inn, away from the bell in the Court House, so the bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    14
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
98
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed at the OCI for Wooden Boat Festival this year. It was full, as was every place in town for the Festival, yet it was a delightful and quiet respite from all the activities in town. The rooms and the house are genteel Victorian style with modern accoutrements.
Like most B&Bs, each room has a distinct personality: The Tower had an alcove with a wonderful view of the Bay (my wife's favorite) where we watched an incredible lightning storm one evening and dozed in wicker chairs, The Gable Room was a bit smaller, but clean and comfortable with a view of the park across the street.
We enjoyed the Wooden Boat Festival, but the real high point of the weekend was Breakfast each morning -- eating wonderfully prepared food while sharing conversation with 7 other interesting couples.
We recommend the experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The inn is on a bluff overlooking the water and across the street from both the historic county courthouse and lighthouse. It is a very easy walk to downtown Port Townsend and this property is on the historic district walking tour.We stayed two days and never moved our car. We either walked or biked around the area and to the ferry. The house has very comfortable public rooms to spread out in and I loved lounging on the outdoor swing overlooking the sound, drinking my morning coffee and perusing the internet. The owners are just the right amount of attentive without being obtrusive. The only criticism I have of the inn would be the hourly chiming of the courthouse clock. If you were staying in one of the back bedrooms you might not hear it. The inn thoughtfully provides earplugs, therefore the second night I slept through the chimes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We reserved the Gable Room for a one night stay. Upon our arrival, we we’re greeted by Innkeeper, Cindy. Cindy showed us around and explained proceedings for the next morning’s breakfast. She asked if there were any specific diet needs, and we informed her of a gluten sensitivity. We retreated to the Gable Room and prepared for the evening’s festivities. The Gable Room is a small room located under the front gable of the Inn. The room was perfect for our overnighter. Warm and cozy and plenty of room to stretch out on the king bed. Wonderfully appointed with period-specific décor. The Inn and its keepers gave me the feeling of an unusually accurate step back in time with nary a detail left unattended (which is exactly what I had hoped for this being my first Victorian bed and breakfast adventure). One exception….the espresso machine in the study. I’m 200% ok with that.

Breakfast was unbridled awesomeness. The main course, wonderfully prepared and charmingly presented eggs benedict. The hollandaise was delightful with proper lemony zing, the eggs poached to perfection capturing that elusive perfectly-yolked thing. OMG….thought I’d died and gone to heaven. My partner’s gluten-free breakfast was served without a question. Wonderful fruit, gluten-free muffin and the benedict sans the muffin. The table was full of a diverse section of folks and similar conversation with stories covering craft beers, to kinetic art, to my days as a swashbuckling brush whacker in the great hills of Northern Idaho.

And when all was said and done, a few of us sat at the table a little while longer and were delightfully entertained by Innkeeper Nathan and his Hurdy-Gurdy new year ramblings. Priceless.

Overall? Delightful Inn, gracious keepers, and a to-die-for breakfast. Can’t wait to get back again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, B.C. Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My Sister and I spent two nights at this delightful B&B this month, and loved our accommodation. The room with twin beds was so charming and comfortable and the hosts attentive. Our breakfasts were very nicely presented and tasty. We would stay there again to enjoy more of Port Townsend.

Room Tip: The only available room with 2 beds was on the 3rd floor, so it was a bit difficult to haul our lugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Arkansas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

This was our first stay in a B&B, and it was delightful. Room #1 (really, suite) has a harbor view, sitting room, claw-feet tub and separate shower, king bed, and lots of places to relax. The breakfast downstairs was delicious. Port Townsend is a lovely town, and a perfect place to catch a ferry for a day on Whidbey Island. The Old Consulate Inn is a little too far from town to walk (unless you are looking for exercise), but you can drive it in a couple of minutes. Breakfast and interacting with five other couples was fun. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It was our 46th wedding anniversary and we wanted something very special. Well we got it. The building was adorable, the view breathtaking, and the rooms were beautifully restored. The staff could not have been more pleasant and accommodating. It was a 5-star breakfast of fresh fruit and homemade rolls, freshly squeezed juice and coffee, a delectable omelet with red potatoes, and even a sumptuous desert. We couldn't have asked for anything more. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Consulate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Consulate Inn

Address: 313 Walker St., Port Townsend, WA 98368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the gracious hospitality of Port Townsend's Victorian premiere B&B in the this beautifully restored Queen Anne bed and breakfast. Best B&B in Jefferson county 2013 & 2014. Savor the old-world charm of this enchanting B&B surrounded by antiques, stained glass, and beautiful woodwork, with the comforts of home and the conveniences of a fine hotel.Built in 1889 by Senator F.W. Hastings, son of Port Townsend's founding father Loren B. Hastings, the mansion served as the residence and office of the German Consul from 1908 to 1911. Today she carries the designation of National Historic Landmark and State Landmark, is listed on the National Register of Preserved Places.This award-winning 'Painted Lady' is one of the most photographed and painted Victorian mansions in the Pacific Northwest. She sits high on the bluff overlooking Port Townsend and commands spectacular views of Puget Sound, Mount Rainier, and the Olympic Mountains.Relax, laugh, and rediscover in a setting of tranquility and grace. Whether you curl up with a good book, kayak around the bay, or explore the shops and cafes of historic Port Townsend, the Old Consulate Inn offers you a haven of timeless contentment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Old Consulate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Consulate Hotel Port Townsend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Consulate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.