We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightfull” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Consulate Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Old Consulate Inn to your Saves list
Old Consulate Inn
313 Walker St., Port Townsend, WA 98368   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bellevue, Washington, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delightfull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It was our 46th wedding anniversary and we wanted something very special. Well we got it. The building was adorable, the view breathtaking, and the rooms were beautifully restored. The staff could not have been more pleasant and accommodating. It was a 5-star breakfast of fresh fruit and homemade rolls, freshly squeezed juice and coffee, a delectable omelet with red potatoes, and even a sumptuous desert. We couldn't have asked for anything more. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    14
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
95
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pineland, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Fascinating old Victorian building. The walk to town wasn't bad at all, and there are many shops, galleries and restaurants to occupy visitors. Cindy and Nathan are stellar hosts, accommodating and friendly. Our bed was comfortable and the room was clean and well furnished. Breakfast itself was first-rate. The food was so good we devoured all 3 courses of it--good thing we were hiking later to work it off. Absolutely would visit here again. Thanks for a great stay in PT.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orcas island, wa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The "Tower suite” consists of a small bed area with a small cupola/sitting area and a Lilliputian toilet/sink area and a Lilliputian bath tub area (no shower). The toilet/sink area was tiny, with VERY little room to maneuver and no place to put toiletries (except a rickety shelf set above the toilet (don’t drop anything or in the toilet it goes)). The bath tub (with no standup shower) had a sloping ceiling with a maximum of 4 feet of headroom in the tub, fully exposed to the bed area (except for a drooping lace curtain that was annoying at best). If you are a medium or large size person (I’m 6’2” and 170 lbs) you will not be able to maneuver in the toilet/sink and bath tub areas except with great difficulty. The “suite” also had only one opening window (in the cupola) that did nothing to cool the sleeping area. The suite is very uncomfortable, overall. Also, you are asked to put a tip (for housekeeping) when you check in and sign the credit card statement, before seeing the room! Look for other accommodations when in Port Townsend.

Room Tip: avoid Old Consulate Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, Owner at Old Consulate Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We are very sorry that you arrived without having seen our website or realizing ours is a 120 year old house modified to be a bed and breakfast.  120 years ago there were no private baths, so bathrooms were added later and tend to be small. True the room is mostly filled with the king-sized bed - another convenience they didn't have 120 years ago - but few guests spend much time walking around the bedroom and this is our first complaint about that amazing tower sitting room.  You might have preferred the larger Master Suite with its shower and claw-foot tub.
 
It is unfortunate that you did not accept our offer to see the room before you rented it.  You clearly walked in rather than reserving online, because those who reserve in advance are never asked for payment until the end of their stay and we ALWAYS offer to show the room to our last-minute guests. Not previewing the room was your choice. We are in the business of making people happy and it's worth noting that many guests who return to the Tower suite year after year for anniversaries or special occiassions.  
 
Regarding our asking for a credit card, all hotels run a credit card upon arrival.  We think most travelers would find this the norm. The tip line for the housekeeper is on the credit card slip for the convenience of those who travel without cash.  About 75% of our guests use that option. 
 
In conclusion, we're saddened by your response. Gourmet breakfast and handmade chocolates, museum-quality antiques and a billiard room in a home on the national registry, a staff anxious to please and you've condemned us for the size of a bathroom. It's true we can't please everyone, but we still endeavor to try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Good place to stay with good location,comfortable rooms, great breakfast and wonderful helpful innkeepers. We enjoy walking and the location was not on top of but close to everything and had a very nice view of Puget Sound.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Cindy and Nathan continue to execute the finer details of Victorian comportment and hospitality by intuitively providing all one needs and has thought of, plus more of what one has not thought of and wish one would have. Somehow the place is refined in its simplicity, even while the decor belies this observation. Everything in their control is handled superbly and I look forward to staying at Old Consulate again.

Room Tip: It can get warm in the summer on the third floor. We stayed on the second and this was reasonable. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is our second stay at the Old Consulate Inn in port townsend and we will return!
The InnKeepers are thoughtful and have just the right touch with regard to how much interaction you want. For me this is important as I go there to "get away" from my busy life. The rooms are great--but small because it's a Victorian house. There is plenty of room in the house to find for a quiet spot to read and relax. We usually spend a lot of time roaming around port townsend, but when we desired to hang around the room and just relax, it was possible to do so.
The Breakfasts were amazing! You'll be skipping lunch! Honestly, just go for the breakfasts!
Seriously, great place to relax and have a good weekend.

Room Tip: Room #1, the master suite is the largest with your own huge bathroom complete with a clawfoot tub fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I were warmly greeted by one of the owners, Cindy, and their adorable dog, Ursa. The B&B was beautifully decorated and we were invited to enjoy cookies, tea, coffee and hot cocoa anytime of day in the common area, which offered many books. The room was clean and breakfast was so good. Cindy told us the WiFi password would be in the room, but when we got to the room late that night, it wasn't. Even tho she told us to call her anytime, we felt it was tovlate, so we didn't. When we told her about it the next morning, she apologized and gave us the password.
To sum it up, we thought this was a nice B&B, but these were the negatives:
1. We had to park on the street
2. We were told when breakfast would be served vs. when we would like to eat (I'd never experienced this, which made us feel rushed instead of on vacation.)
3. The town clock chimed hourly, as in ALL night long. My ear plugs didn't help a bit and it sounded like the clock was right outside of our room, even tho the window was closed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan B, Owner at Old Consulate Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We are very sorry you were disappointed. We work hard to offer a great experience to each guest and things like the missing wifi password are unfortunate, albeit easily rectified. As a B&B in an historical community rather than a conventional hotel, we have limitations along with extraordinary opportunities. We are aware of - even share - your concerns (i.e. on-street parking, breakfast at 9, and the county courthouse clock). We list them all in our policies both online and in every confirmation email - so hopefully they didn't come as a surprise.

There's little we can say for the clock. It's been ringing for more than a century. It's part of the character of the town and in two years we've had only one guest for whom it was a serious issue. Now two. Sad it cost you a night's sleep.

The breakfast schedule deserves a little explanation. When we bought the Old Consulate two years ago we offered a buffet from 8:30-10: Cheeses and meats, scones, muesli, fresh fruit. few ate it and we threw away a LOT of food. Almost everyone came down AT 9, when we started the hot breakfast. What's more, without timed seating Cindy was limited to the menu of a short-order cook. With a timed breakfast she can offer gourmet breakfasts including soufflés and strata, quiches and eggs benedict all of which take time to prepare and need seated guests. Our returning guests agreed that the breakfast was worth a wakeup call.

So there are a few thoughts about your perfectly valid complaints. Port Townsend is an extraordinary destination and we love sharing our home and town with our guests. While we aspire to delight everyone, it's inevitable some will prefer a different locale or a more conventional hotel.

Nathan and Cindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Consulate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Consulate Inn

Address: 313 Walker St., Port Townsend, WA 98368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the gracious hospitality of Port Townsend’s Victorian past in the this beautifully restored Queen Anne bed and breakfast. Savor the old-world charm of this enchanting B&B surrounded by antiques, stained glass, and beautiful woodwork, with the comforts of home and the conveniences of a fine hotel.Built in 1889 by Senator F.W. Hastings, son of Port Townsend's founding father Loren B. Hastings, the mansion served as the residence and office of the German Consul from 1908 to 1911. Today she carries the designation of National Historic Landmark and State Landmark, is listed on the National Register of Preserved Places.This award-winning ‘Painted Lady’ is one of the most photographed and painted Victorian mansions in the Pacific Northwest. She sits high on the bluff overlooking Port Townsend and commands spectacular views of Puget Sound, Mount Rainier, and the Olympic Mountains.Relax, laugh, and rediscover in a setting of tranquility and grace. Whether you curl up with a good book, kayak around the bay, or explore the shops and cafés of historic Port Townsend, the Old Consulate Inn offers you a haven of timeless contentment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Old Consulate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Consulate Hotel Port Townsend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Consulate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.