We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special experience, highly recommended.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Consulate Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Old Consulate Inn to your Saves list
Old Consulate Inn
313 Walker St., Port Townsend, WA 98368   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A special experience, highly recommended.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Loved the welcome and introduction. The Rose Room was a wonderful quiet room. Multi course breakfasts of great variety and flavour are a specialty. A 10/15 minute walk from the harbour.

Room Tip: The Tower Room has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    14
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
98
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Post Falls, Idaho
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

18 Aug 11

My wife Gerri and I spent 5 great days with Nathan and Cindy last week. My sister Jill and her husband Jim were along in their own rooms. What a great time! The house is a wonderful old place. Nathan greeted us our first afternoon, and Cindy turned out to be equally pleasant.

What we were most pleased about was the breakfasts. Cindy is a first class chef, and the meals got better every day. When we would return there was always a tasty treat, and our room was always neatly made up and ready for us to rest up from the day's activities.

Our stay in Port Townsend was great, but it was just that much better because of our wonderful hosts Nathan and Cindy.

Thanks so much!

Hap and Gerri Butler
Post Falls, Idaho

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

This is a beautiful Victorian B & B that is just recently under new ownership. Our hostess, Cindy, was just wonderful. The inn and all the bedrooms are beautifully appointed. The breakfasts are a real treat. If you're in the area or want a get away weekend don't miss this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

My husband and I chose the Old Consulate Inn for our first B&B experience due to the reputation for excellence of the new owners that took possession the first of July.
We were charmed from the moment we stepped onto the porch and rang the bell. This Victorian mansion is splendid in every way possible. All of the old images shown on the Internet have dolls, teddy bears, frou frou of a silly nature in each room . We were delighted to find that the 'silly' stuff was gone and in it's place there is an elegance and ease of living showcased in every room. An outstanding collection of musical instruments has replaced the silly hat's in the grand foyer. We were greeted by both owner/inn keepers and given a tour of the mansion. We arrived on a Friday afternoon before any other guests so were treated to a viewing of each room upstairs. We were excited to learn as time goes on of the new decorating changes for many of the rooms by the new owners.

The room we chose for our three day weekend was what has been called the Anniversary suite. Spectacular! Luxurious! Elegant! An incredibly comfortable King bed. Tasteful decor and color throughout. Spacious bathroom with claw foot tub and modern shower stall.
We felt like royalty. We were treated as such.

I was concerned that as an early riser (5 or 6 am) there would be difficulty finding a cup of coffee in the neighborhood. My fears were unfounded! The new owners have an espresso machine that is self serve. Hot water for tea or cocoa, espresso, or large cup of coffee. I had no problem making my own delicious brew each morning in the subdued light and quiet house. It was set up each evening before. Sugar and half and half also provided with spoons and large cups and saucers. I was very happy with this set up.

Breakfast we were told would be served near 9 am. Fresh fruit, granola, cream, yogurt, and a selection of cheese tidbits were on the sideboard along with orange juice and a fresh pitcher of water a half hour or so before breakfast.
The house began to smell of delicious muffins fresh from the oven. Cinnamon and apple one morning and a pumpkin and walnut another. First morning we had a choice of waffle with strawberries and crushed almonds or a mushroom and cheese omelet. Second morning choice of eggs benidect with ham or spinach. Everything was absolutely cooked to perfection and brought to the dining table to each guest steaming hot. Our Inn keeper dressed in modest skirt wearing a fresh head coif and clean ironed apron. She was attentive to each guest's needs and happy to explain recipes. There were vegan choices, gluten free, and low salt. Her husband was present to greet each guest at the dining room and added a friendly conversation start each morning or explain how to use the espresso machine to new comers. Friendly and relaxed. Lively conversation and great food to start the day. We were reluctant to leave and live in the real world again. Our first B&B experience was like living in the lap of luxury in one of the most beautiful Victorian mansions in Washington State. We are already planning our next visit and definitely will choose the suite again.

Room Tip: For tall people I would recommend the rooms on the second floor. The lower ceiling-ed rooms could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Consulate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Consulate Inn

Address: 313 Walker St., Port Townsend, WA 98368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the gracious hospitality of Port Townsend's Victorian premiere B&B in the this beautifully restored Queen Anne bed and breakfast. Best B&B in Jefferson county 2013 & 2014. Savor the old-world charm of this enchanting B&B surrounded by antiques, stained glass, and beautiful woodwork, with the comforts of home and the conveniences of a fine hotel.Built in 1889 by Senator F.W. Hastings, son of Port Townsend's founding father Loren B. Hastings, the mansion served as the residence and office of the German Consul from 1908 to 1911. Today she carries the designation of National Historic Landmark and State Landmark, is listed on the National Register of Preserved Places.This award-winning 'Painted Lady' is one of the most photographed and painted Victorian mansions in the Pacific Northwest. She sits high on the bluff overlooking Port Townsend and commands spectacular views of Puget Sound, Mount Rainier, and the Olympic Mountains.Relax, laugh, and rediscover in a setting of tranquility and grace. Whether you curl up with a good book, kayak around the bay, or explore the shops and cafes of historic Port Townsend, the Old Consulate Inn offers you a haven of timeless contentment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Old Consulate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Consulate Hotel Port Townsend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Consulate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.