We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tides Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tides Inn to your Saves list
Tides Inn
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   1807 Water St., Port Townsend, WA 98368   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Stanwood, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel with view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed for one night in one of the outdoor hot tub rooms. Everything was nice except the bed. It wasn't very comfortable and the headboard banged against the wall every time we moved. The hot tub was great and the view was nice. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    54
    27
    21
    28
See reviews for
19
76
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great place for the price. Stay in the older part, right on the water. The ceilings are low, so if you're over 6'2" beware. Other than that, it's a great little place. Close enough to town so that you can easily walk to restaurants, etc. The view from the room is incredible! You can almost fish from the deck. The staff is helpful and friendly. If you're into healthful food, I suggest you bring your own breakfast. (Everything is white flour, and very little fresh fruit.) This was a real find though and we'll definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was a last minute booking for us as a ferry mix-up meant we couldn't get to our original desination. Even though we got there quite late the staff were very friendly and adivsed us where we could still get a meal that late. The room itself was OK and the beds comfortable. The attraction was the outdoor jacuzzi where we could lay back and look out over the water.
The buffet breakfast was fine with quite a choice of food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Spent one night, 10-13-13, due to government/national park shutdowns. This is a nice, quaint place right on the water. Not modern, but clean rooms. I had a private deck with my room, #4, and a great view right on the water! Great staff and service! Nice little continental breakfast. Fruit, pastries, muffins, bagels, cereal, coffee and the like. Some scenes from An Officer and a Gentleman were filmed here in room 10. They even had the movie available if you wanted to watch it. Very short drive to historic downtown Port Townsend were I had dinner (could even walk it if you wanted).

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We live in Sequim, less than an hour away from the beautiful Victorian seaport town of Port Townsend. We go over once a month just because we love it there so much. The waterfront, the people, the shopping, the food, and of course...The Rose Theater! This past weekend was my husband's birthday, so I decided to do something special and get us a room for the night. The Tides Inn had about the only vacancy, so I took a chance and booked. Our room was amazing! The decor is definitely ornate and over the top, but we just went with it and had a great time with it. The bed was super comfortable, the shower was awesome, huge whirlpool tub in the room, gas fireplace, flat screen TV....but the topper to it all was the view. We had a balcony right on the water, the beautiful Salish Sea. Simply stunning. We slept with the slider open so we could hear the gentle lapping of the surf. Needless to say, we both enjoyed a wonderful night's sleep. Also, the Inn is located within walking distance along the coastline to downtown Port Townsend. Check-in was painless....we scored early check-in because no one had been in the room the night before so it was ready when we got there about 12 noon. Just a great experience and we will definitely be back. Continental breakfast is complimentary.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a balcony and right on the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My dad and I had a great time staying at Tides Inn. The staff was VERY friendly and helpful. I especially liked that An Office and a Gentleman was filmed here and they let us borrow the movie for FREE at the front desk. The continental breakfast was delicious and the selection was great. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Their more expensive rooms are much nicer. They're the renovated portion of the hotel. Ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We came to Port Townsend for the Wooden Boat Festival and stayed at the Tides Inn. We stayed in the new building, the staff was excellent, our room and balcony overlooked the water and it was an easy walk into town to the Boat Fest. The room had ornate furnishings which is to be expected with the Victorian feel but the room is bright and airy, the bed was firm and comfortable but not hard and the Jacuzzi tub was very welcome after walking around the Wooden Boat Festival all day. The shower head was awesome and the cleaning staff were great. We stayed 4 nights, shower linens were changed daily and the bed linens after 2 days. The building was quiet, clean and well kept. All the staff were great - the cleaning staff did a great job and the front desk staff were awesome. The breakfast was quite enjoyable and had a good selection. We saw deer prints and one morning a group of 5 otters swimming along just off the beach. I would definitely stay in this hotel again and would not hesitate to recommend it. The view is stunning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new buildings. We didn't see the ones in the old building so I can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tides Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides Inn

Address: 1807 Water St., Port Townsend, WA 98368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tides Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many rooms boast private decks overlooking sparkling Port Townsend Bay. Protective windbreaks make year–round enjoyment eventful as the parade of ferries, fishing vessels and sailboats pass by. Take a deep breath of clean, fresh air as you revel in the sights and sounds of nature's seascape. Listen to the surf as it gently lulls you to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tides Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tides Hotel Port Townsend
Tides Motel Port Townsend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tides Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.