We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid The Officer & a Gentleman Suite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tides Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tides Inn to your Saves list
Tides Inn
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   1807 Water St., Port Townsend, WA 98368   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Edmonds, Washington, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Avoid The Officer & a Gentleman Suite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

If you want funky/shabby/dirty, book the Officer & a Gentleman Suite. We guess they have kept this "shrine" because the movie was filmed in Port Townsend and the love scene between Debra Winger & Richard Gere was filmed in this room. The only thing that might resemble the movie scene is the bed spread, which looks like it hasn't been washed since the movie came out in the early '80's! The so-called "kitchenette" is basically unusable, the cabinets look like they will fall off the wall any minute, and the refrigerator (which blocks the oven door) freezes everything. There are no cooking utensils. The sliding door which leads to the balcony is nearly impossible to slide and the deck is dirty. The Jacuzzi tub on the deck was dirty and not at all private. The windows are so dirty you can hardly see the view. The only positive thing about this room is the refurbished bathroom, which is quite nice, although if you weigh more than 175 lbs. you probably will not fit into the tiny shower stall. At $140/night we felt ripped off.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    54
    27
    21
    27
See reviews for
19
75
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Website is a hoax! Never saw an updated room and was never offered one (which we would have gladly paid for if we knew). Old and dirty room, noisy, smokers next door, dilapidated firepit view. Looks like they started painting the exterior but only got as far as the first floor. Glad we didn't pay for an "outside jacuzzi" room - looked basically like an old bathtub surrounded by wood slats with a leeky faucet. Such a crying shame owners have let this go so badly. The only redeeming value was the nice staff and the great restaurants and shops nearby. Would NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Creepy, cruddy room. Dirty and dark. I literally had to hold a lamp over my suitcase to find anything. Noisy, it's right on the main road (10 feet away). The view was beautiful if you didn't look down at the gross jacuzzi (I use that term loosely), the rotting deck and the disintegrating barbeque pit. There has to be something better in Port Townsend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Came to stay for the Rhody Days celebration. Nice walk to town, and awesome waterfront location with balcony. Too bad it wasn't sunny.
Brought our kayaks to launch from. Hotel beach!
Fun to watch ferries and cruise ships sail by!
Rooms are adequate but really need to be updated! Bathroom does have a hair dryer but no washcloths? Firepit and picnic tables outside too.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

This hotel has to be one of the dirtiest motels I've ever stayed in. We found a think layer of dust on the floors, walls and lamps. We found a lotion bottle on the ground from the previous guests. The beds were so uncomfortable we could hardly sleep. The noise from the busy street right outside our door didn't help. The shower was dirty and had horrible water pressure. They need some serious help with maid service. The worst part was we found a dead BEDBUG on one of the beds headrest!!! Not worth how much they charge for rooms.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Website shows beautiful beach house style inn but what is not shown is the crappy cement block motel adjacent to the hotel. That is where the less expensive rooms are which come complete with bugs, peeling paint, nasty small shower stalls, street noise and old bedding (overall poorly maintained and not remodeled as the website says). I am used to staying in budget motels, but this one is the worst I’ve seen in a long time. Especially when I was expecting down filled duvets as promised on the website. Unfortunately I found an old dilapidated motel that is not shown in the photos.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

The room decor was outdated, but we think it added to it. definately not victorian-esque or fancy, but it gets the job done. our room had a jacuzzi which was sooooo fun... the view from our room was amazing and we had our own deck. the beds were comfy and the desk staff were extremely friendly. I wanna go back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tides Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides Inn

Address: 1807 Water St., Port Townsend, WA 98368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tides Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many rooms boast private decks overlooking sparkling Port Townsend Bay. Protective windbreaks make year–round enjoyment eventful as the parade of ferries, fishing vessels and sailboats pass by. Take a deep breath of clean, fresh air as you revel in the sights and sounds of nature's seascape. Listen to the surf as it gently lulls you to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tides Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tides Hotel Port Townsend
Tides Motel Port Townsend

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tides Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.