We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic atmosphere, modern comforts, perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel Port Townsend

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Hotel Port Townsend to your Saves list
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
1004 Water Street, Port Townsend, WA 98368   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Oregon, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Historic atmosphere, modern comforts, perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I had a wonderful stay at the Palace Hotel, which I chose primarily for its historic-ness but also its great location in the heart of downtown Port Townsend, and attractive exterior. From the moment I arrived, I was so happy with my choice. When I pulled into a spot in the free private parking behind the building, the view through my windshield was a steep grassy hill covered in wildflowers!

The desk clerk was kind, easygoing, and helpful, and offered to carry my luggage up the (very steep) stairs. I declined, thinking the exercise was good for me and not wanting to make him do it, but next time I might say yes! Those are some serious stairs (at least one flight to all rooms; two flights to my room on the third floor) and there is no elevator. So unfortunately it doesn't seem like this hotel would work for disabled guests.

I booked quite last minute so was very lucky they had a couple of rooms left: I chose the value-priced "Miss Mona" on the third floor. It was not en-suite but I had exclusive use of a private bathroom down the hall, which opened with my room key. Since I regularly stay in historic hotels, I'm used to this and don't mind the slight inconvenience (especially since it usually means a much cheaper rate).

My room was extremely clean and had some of the highest ceilings I've seen in a hotel, making an already spacious room feel huge. It had a side view, which overlooked another beautiful historic building, the heart of Water Street, and the sea across the road. A desk was set up right next to the window and it was such a pleasant place to work - if a little distracting, since I kept gazing out the window!

The decor in the lobby and common areas was lovely and preserved the historic atmosphere - the stained-glass skylight above the stairs on the third floor is a particular highlight. My room had exposed brick on the outer wall, which I love. I was pleasantly surprised to find that my room had a mini-fridge, which was completely empty so I had room for some cold drinks, as well as a microwave. Those were great perks. Both were fairly outdated, though, so not as attractive, quiet, or energy-efficient as they could be. The rest of the furnishings in my room were period-appropriate and lovely.

As is common in historic hotels, the walls were somewhat thin and the solid doors a bit loud, but it wasn't enough to be bothersome at all. I noticed no street noise, despite having the window open. There is no air-conditioning, but the window opens and a fan is provided, so I was comfortable despite the warm night. But on very hot nights, I might miss the A/C - I really like it cool while sleeping.

All the staff was great. The housekeepers I came across were cheerful and friendly, and the owner, Gary, was clearly proud and appreciative of the amazing building he is responsible for. I met with him and had a really interesting chat about the hotel's history and staff. He was interested in my website, and also showed me the blog of some previous guests that he keeps up with.

The Palace Hotel will definitely be my first choice when I return to Port Townsend. This was my first visit to the city and I really fell in love with it - can't wait to return!

Note: I was provided a free room for one night in return for media coverage on my website, Go Historic. I did not promise a positive review, nor was I asked for one, and the above reflects my honest opinion.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    80
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
21
103
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We read the reviews in advance for the Palace after we saw a write up in our Lonely planet guide book. The hotel has an interesting history, part of which was as a Brothel. Because of that part of the history they have named the rooms after the former 'ladies' that 'worked' there. We stayed in the room called Miss Sara in 7B. The view was of the parking lot but the cost was a lot lower then the ocean view because of it. This was fine for us as we weren't there for the view outside. The Palace is right downtown on the main drag. Right out the front door are numerous restaurants to choose from and shops to satisfy your shopping therapy needs. The hotel itself has a beautiful lobby with period antique furniture and stained glass windows. There is no elevator. The staircase to the rooms is long but there are stops at each level with seating areas that are decorated like a living room/visiting room. Our room had very high ceilings and windows that were about 12 feet tall. It was decorated with antiques as well but had the modern conveniences of a microwave, beer fridge and in the bathroom a rain shower with a choice of jets that came from the wall to shower your body only. The only negative about the room was the bed was on the soft side for me and the springs were very squeaky. Perhaps that was supposed to turn us back in time as well but I could have done without all that noise with every move. The room was also right above an air vent but I like white noise when I sleep and had the fan on all night in the room (thoughtfully set up in the window to cool the non-a/c room down for us upon arrival). Everything was very clean and we would definitely stay here again if we return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral, ar
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I have been to Port Townsend four times and I've stayed at The Palace Hotel twice. It is run by a very friendly staff. Clean rooms. Easy to walk to food establishments downtown from The Palace. No elevator but the gentlemen at the front desk will carry your luggage up for you. Private parking in back.

Room Tip: Some rooms have their own bathroom. Be sure you ask for this. Normally they will tell you when res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We had a terrific one-night stay in the "Miss Pearl" room of this former bordello. The customer service from the front desk clerk last evening was outstanding. Wish I had his name so I could give him a shout out. He was extremely courteous and gave us several help hints about the area.

This is one beautifully refurbished and decorated Victorian-style hotel. Every detail is thoughtfully done. The beds are spacious and comfortable. Although no AC, there is a cool breeze off the ocean. My husband slept better than he does at home.

I'd give the place five stars if it only had an elevator. Older folks and those with health issues: be prepared. Although the hotel will carry your bags up for you, you still have to climb some steep and numerous stairs to your room. But if you can handle the stairs, the reward of a beautiful room and a delightful night's stay at a reasonable price await you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The Palace is a heritage building three blocks from the ferry terminal in the historic downtown district which exhibits full Victorian decor throughout the hotel, an ex bordello. The rooms are named for the working girls and are comfortably furnished. There is no AC which could be problem in hotter weather, however, a fan is provided in each room. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this as a quirky stopover.

Room Tip: The Marie Suite is a corner room with windows on two sides which allows a cross flow of air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

If you choose to stay here, recognize it is a very old building. The ambiance however is great, the rooms are okay, but don't stay here for that reason. The location is solid and within walking distance to everything in the tourist part of town. Restaurants in the area are nice and the hotel makes for a romantic night. I will however give it an overall Excellent rating due to the overall experience of staying here. Be forewarned, you will be carrying your luggage up stairs and due to the height of the ceilings, each floor is a good haul.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We love Port Townsend, but have always stayed in our RV at the harbor before. This trip, our adult kids were meeting us there for the weekend so we needed a hotel. My husband wanted something downtown so we could walk everywhere we wanted to go. When I called the Palace, their friendliness & helpful attitude was what sold me on their place. They have a choice of rooms with en suite bathrooms or "European-style" with the bathroom in the hall. The Palace was built in 1889 & the decor is old Victorian & they are in the center of downtown, which gives your stay the perfect Port Townsend vibe. This place is casual & laid-back & is not for picky 5-star hotel people that need a concierge & pillow-top beds. There is no elevator & no air conditioning, which, for most of the year in PT, I would think wouldn't be an issue. But it was warm the weekend we were there & we did switch rooms from the 3rd floor to the second as it was palpably cooler on the lower floors. They do have fans in each room. Every room is different & there are sitting areas in between the rooms like a guesthouse. Our room we ended up with actually had it's own living room, full kitchen, & bathroom. The staff were just great & everything was spotlessly clean. Even the rates were the best of the downtown hotels I checked. We loved the Palace & would definitely stay
there again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Hotel Port Townsend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Port Townsend

Address: 1004 Water Street, Port Townsend, WA 98368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully restored Victorian hotel is in the heart of historic Port Townsend. A former bordello with most rooms named after former working girls including Madame Maries suite and Miss Kittys room, this Magnuson Hotels affiliate is located one block from the ferry dock in the center of many fine art galleries, restaurants, theaters, antique stores, and unique gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Palace Hotel Port Townsend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel Port Townsend, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.