We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghosts, Brothels and oodles of Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel Port Townsend

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Palace Hotel Port Townsend to your Saves list
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
1004 Water Street, Port Townsend, WA 98368   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Parksville
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Ghosts, Brothels and oodles of Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Loads of Charm....fabulous historical character, friendly staff.....and a room called Abigail? What more could you ask for. The Palace Hotel is a real find and easy to find. Centrally located in the heart of the Port. Just ask any drunken sailor, whaler, or poltergeist where is the Palace Hotel.
Restored but not overdone, spooky? No....but there's plenty of ghostly yarns filtering through this former brothel/Hotel. Pick a room named after each "lady" that plied her wares in this form boom port of a town. I would stay here at the drop of a hat...or wink from one of the reputed "ladies" said to wander these antique-adorned hallways.
We stayed during the shoulder-season and the staff showed us every room and then picked our favourite. She was a beauty....erotic Victorian charm.
P.S. You won't need a TV in your room......just use your imagination.

Room Tip: Ask staff to show their vacant rooms before selecting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    78
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
20
98
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blue Ridge, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

They say the place is haunted but no ghostly disturbances during my stay. Nice comfy big room. A bit much on the perfumy scents when walking into the room. Friendly, helpful staff. Some issues with housekeeping though. Dirty washrag still hanging on tub, coffeemaker still had old coffee and coffee bag in it. No hairdryer. Very nice to be in right in the middle of old town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely, huge room which was beautifully decorated in the style appropriate to the age, style and history of the hotel. We had a very warm welcome and were given lots of useful information about the town and surrounding area. Although hairdryers were available from reception, I do think that, for a hotel of this quality and price, a hairdryer in the room in not an unreasonable expectation.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Palace Hotel was a fun experiment for us. Centrally located in historic Port Townsend it is an easy walk to restaurants, shopping, the harbor & the historic upper hillside. It is beautifully decorated, clean & friendly. We enjoyed having a small kitchen area where we were able to prep some easy, quick foods even though there was no stove. Our room wasn't huge but the very high ceilings made it seem much bigger. Great bed, too. It was a bit noisy at times & the lack of an elevator could be a hardship for some but I prefer it's charm to any chain motel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

You must Say "yes" to the Palace Hotel in the middle of Port Townsend; great staff, historically interesting rooms... We changed rooms each night to "try" another view or enjoy an incredible bathtub! Stroll down to the water and dine El Fresco, don't miss Chetzemoka Park.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I’ve managed to stay at half a dozen different Port Townsend hotels and greatly prefer the rustic Victorian venues to the modern motor inns. And the Palace is as rustically Victorian as it gets. Housed in an authentic late 19th century brick high-rise with period furnishings, carpets and artwork to complete the vibe. Even real stairs to get your heart pumping! One point of historical interest is the Palace was once a busy brothel!

The location is about as good it gets: on Water Street smack in the middle of the PT strip. Plenty of shops, restaurants, bars and PT landmarks are within a couple block radius. As charming as the Palace is, the view leaves much to be desired with a parking lot and adjacent building to keep you company. It’s a mere stone’s throw from the waterfront but most rooms barely see the bay. However, you never forget how close you are to the water as gulls nest on the top of the building and are noisy, waking me with their constant screeching throughout the night.

The room was comfy, clean and reasonably roomy but not as nice as the Bishop Victorian or my favorite almost across the street, the Belmont Inn. One big fail was the lack of decent curtains making sleeping in impossible.

So nice rustic Vic vibe, great location but I prefer being right on the water and need real curtains.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Recommended by a good friend. We were warned it was on the third floor. It was a hike of a total 58 steps due to the high ceilings. They warned us so we knew we were into it. Loved the fact they had a parking lot in back. What we had not expected was that even though we had a view of the water, it was very warm. The sun shines in the front windows all day. Of course, an old Victorian hotel doesn't have AC. We did have a big fan, but it was hot. Great location but not sure I will stay here again.

Room Tip: When its warm weather, don't take third floor front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Hotel Port Townsend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Port Townsend

Address: 1004 Water Street, Port Townsend, WA 98368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully restored Victorian hotel is in the heart of historic Port Townsend. A former bordello with most rooms named after former working girls including Madame Maries suite and Miss Kittys room, this Magnuson Hotels affiliate is located one block from the ferry dock in the center of many fine art galleries, restaurants, theaters, antique stores, and unique gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Palace Hotel Port Townsend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel Port Townsend, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.