We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel Port Townsend

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Hotel Port Townsend to your Saves list
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1004 Water Street, Port Townsend, WA 98368   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Detroit USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel in a great town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hotel is a trip to the past. It is in an old hotel built in the 1880s, which for a time in the 1920s was a bordello. The hotel was restored with the theme of the bordello with plush velvet chaises in the upstairs lobby. The staff was very accommodating and pleasant. The only thing that one needs to note is that the 3rd floor is a 4 story walk up. There are NO ELEVATORS. Fortunately, this wasn't a problem for me and my wife, but it is something that needs to be considered depending on a guest's age and physical condition. We would stay there again when in Port Townsend.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor were a 3 story walk up. Rooms on the 3rd floor a 4 story walk up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    82
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
22
104
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Once a working brothel, this captivating property has been painstakingly updated to keep the period decor while providing the modern conveniences. The employees we dealt with on the phone and at the front desk were extremely courteous and very much devoted to their customers. Will DEFINITELY stay here again. Well done, Palace Hotel!

Room Tip: No elevator (building is 100 years old). Some rooms are on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

a wonderful place to stay immediate downtown access to all the shops, restaurants , the Rose theatre and many more attractions which are in easy walking distance to the hotel. below the hotel is an excellent wine shop called the wine seller owned and operated by a local musician and travel agent to the wine countries in Europe France Italy etc.......

Room Tip: corner suites are large and with the best views of water ( Admiralty Inlet )
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel is decorated authentically--it was a brothel back in the day, and it has Victorian charm throughout. Each of the rooms is named after a "working girl", which adds to the fun and the funk. All the employees were wonderful, and would go above and beyond. We stayed there 4 days, and look forward to returning soon. Steep stairs to the rooms, tho, so be ready for a climb!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I have stayed in Port Townsend several times but this was the first time at The Palace hotel. We picked it because it was pet friendly, but would now stay there even without our dog.
Clean, unique, with great rooms and décor. Very friendly staff and comfortable bed. Our room was the Miss Rose 9a with a huge bathroom and deep tub. Wi-Fi and cable TV. We spent three nights mid- July and noticed that the 3rd floor room was pretty warm even with the window open and fan on. Other than that, everything was perfect! It was right on the main street in the middle of the historic downtown area with a lot of shops, restaurants and views of the Sound.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor and facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Palace Hotel is lovely, it was a step back in time. We staid in a 3rd floor room with a privet bath down the hall. Desk people were quite and not very talkative which was a surprise having read TA reviews before booking that said the opposite. The beds are heavenly, but I don't think they are true queens more like a full/double. There is no AC so the rooms are very warm and don't cool off very well at night. Oh and stairs, lots and lots of stairs, there is no elevator and no ground floor rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Very interesting design, quirky décor. Here are a few things you should know, right off the bat: don't try to book a room from the online website. It shoots you to a third-party place that does not have up-to-date listings for availability. Call the hotel directly (360) 385-0773. Some of the rooms are rumored to be haunted. We didn't hear anything during our stay. The third floor front rooms (#s 11, 12, 14) are the only ones with water views and there are 60 (yes, sixty), stairs to the third floor, as all floors have very high ceilings. My sister was in #14 and enjoyed her view room. No elevator. No air conditioning. Those same water view rooms are listed as having kitchenettes. Warning: there are no plates, no silverware, just two mugs, but a sponge and dish detergent are provided, which implies that staff doesn't wash those cups before you check-in, and you'd better hope the people before you are clean types. I had Miss Kitty (#11), which is a huge corner room and just lovely. The bathroom is huge and nicely appointed. The shower was great (the towels were well worn, though) and the sheets are fabulous, although the mattress sags somewhat. It's on the pricier side of this hotel property, and here's why I think the room price should be reduced if the adjoining room is also rented: there is a connecting door to the next room (#10 - no bathroom, don't say I didn't warn you) and you'd better pray the people are quiet. The first night I stayed here there was a family with a young child. This kid shrieked almost continuously between 3 and 6 in the morning. I tried earplugs, but they were insufficient and I just gave up at 5. The next night there was only one person and she turned off her tv by 11, so that was much better. There is a large lounging area on each floor and what's interesting is that people can tour the property (there's an open house sign in front) as long as no guests have already checked into their rooms. So, bring a pad of paper and mark down your favorite rooms for a future visit. I'm marking my sleep quality as average only because of the adjoining room problems. We toured most of the rooms during the two days we were there and most are just lovely and quite large. The ones on the parking lot were equipped with real kitchens (at least the two we saw on the second floor). This hotel does not provide even a continental breakfast, I guess the "kitchenettes" are supposed to suffice, but you'll need to visit the Mercantile just down the street to buy paper plates and plastic ware. This is a great location and parking is free for guests. Just leave your car and immerse yourself in the downtown experience. For breakfast, Better Living Through Coffee and The Lighthouse Café are kitty-corner from the hotel and both open around 8 a.m.

Room Tip: The third floor front is quieter and the water views with the ferries going back and forth are reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Hotel Port Townsend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Port Townsend

Address: 1004 Water Street, Port Townsend, WA 98368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palace Hotel Port Townsend 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully restored Victorian hotel is in the heart of historic Port Townsend. A former bordello with most rooms named after former working girls including Madame Maries suite and Miss Kittys room, this Magnuson Hotels affiliate is located one block from the ferry dock in the center of many fine art galleries, restaurants, theaters, antique stores, and unique gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Palace Hotel Port Townsend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel Port Townsend, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.