We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“historic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hotel Port Townsend

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Hotel Port Townsend to your Saves list
Palace Hotel Port Townsend
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1004 Water Street, Port Townsend, WA 98368   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“historic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

we recently stayed at this wonderful hotel as part of our vacation travelling around washington. What a find! it was brilliant, the rooms are all full of antiques and ours was large, spacious, clean and had lots of character. The staff are really helpful. I agree with the point that the seagulls are very noisy on a morning but you have to remember this is a working port. Loved the history of the place. Fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    82
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
22
104
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

What a wonderful hotel, much nicer than I expected, The ambiance of the hotel draws you into the era in which it was built, you can close your eyes and invision the happenings back then. We stayed in the Miss Clara which was both charming and comfortable. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful with any needs. Port Townsend is a one of a kind area, nice little shops,wonderful restaurant and beautiful waterfront, my only complaint was I had to leave, I wish I had planned to stay longer, hopefully we will return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed at the Palace Hotel while visiting Port Townsend, and I initially planned to take the ferry to Whidebey Island the following day. The hotel is located in a historic building on water street, dating from 1889, if I am not mistaken. The interior has the appropriate look, which is charming. The room has an actual, and not a magnetic key. I took a room with a shared bathroom, located a few meters from my room. The room itself had a queen sized bed, a small kitchen, which I used for facial washing, a television, but no telephone. They have free WiFi using the WAP2 security protocol for authentication. My old laptop, running Windows XP refused to connect. My iPAD connected and ran well.
The shades in the room were half transparent, so they did not block the sunlight in the morning.
Another problem with the room, and the hotel is that a flock of seagulls like to stay on its rooftop, and on the rooftops of adjacent buildings. Although the area is very quiet, the room was not. The cries of the seagulls were heard all the time.

The hotel does not serve breakfast. The receptionist sent me to a good place a few blocks away.

The hotel has no elevator, so you might consider bringing light luggage with you.

I don't want the review to seem negative. The service was excellent. The receptionist friendly and helpful. The room clean. The bed comfortable, and the price reasonable for the area.

The reason I gave the hotel an average score is because of the downsides I included in the review.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

What a fun hotel! The fun starts with gracious and knowledgeable Robert at the front desk, continues with great lobby and halls with antique furniture and doesn't end even when you pay the bill. We stayed at the Ms Claire and had everything we needed. Bathroom was spacious and super clean (no bath, just shower), bed comfortable, and location unbeatable. Lots of parking available in the back of hotel.
Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Sebastian
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

The room decorations are perfect to the detail. Excellent value for the experience you get. A treat!
If you're a light sleeper like me, then do take some earplugs because the seagulls can raise hell outside the window from early morning.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The rooms in this old hotel are nice with enormously high ceilings and period furnishings. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are reasonably modern.

The best part of our stay was the outstanding service provided by Robert and another gentleman (did not get this name).

The location was perfect in the center of the quaint town.

The downsides were the price and lack of an elevator for getting up two floors to our room. Each floor is at least 15-20 feet so it's a climb. Robert eagerly helped with luggage.

Room Tip: The street side is noisy at night (partiers) and in the early morning (garbage trucks).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

What a cute hotel. Each room is decorated differently. We stayed in miss Lou. It was romantic and beautiful. The staff was helpful and very friendly. Be prepared to climb the stairs though. There is no elevator, but they did take our luggage up to our room. It's a great spot to explore the fun downtown area too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Hotel Port Townsend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Port Townsend

Address: 1004 Water Street, Port Townsend, WA 98368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palace Hotel Port Townsend 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully restored Victorian hotel is in the heart of historic Port Townsend. A former bordello with most rooms named after former working girls including Madame Maries suite and Miss Kittys room, this Magnuson Hotels affiliate is located one block from the ferry dock in the center of many fine art galleries, restaurants, theaters, antique stores, and unique gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Palace Hotel Port Townsend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hotel Port Townsend, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.