We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotty service, loud music, great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanazono Asian Noodle

Hanazono Asian Noodle
225 Taylor St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5716
360-385-7622
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 87 Restaurants in Port Townsend
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Spotty service, loud music, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I am a local and this is one of my favorites. I have never had anything here that wasn't delicious. The decor is beautifully done but the music cancels the ambiance because it is frequently loud and head banging type of rock. But I am patient enough to compromise for the experience of tasting fresh, beautifully prepared food.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    23
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Excellent Japanese fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Last Sept., and again in June, we enjoyed dinner at Hanazono's. We shared gyoza, delicious, beautiful spinach salad, and a generous plate of tasty stir-fried soba with tofu and lots of vegetables. The menu has a good selection of vegetarian and meat/seafood options. Service is friendly and dining room attractive. It can be hard to find a table when the movie next door lets out!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
1 review
“Best of Port Townsend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I've been to all the restaurants in Port Townsend and this is by far the best. A good variety of dishes from sushi and tempura to several kinds of noodle soups (it's a noodle house!). My favorite is Tom Yum, which you can order in a regular size that's pretty big, or the small that is enough for dinner, and great value. In fact, all the prices are reasonable, from about $8 for a big bowl of soup to $15 for the specials (Black Cod Donburi is a great one). Sushi is offered as rolls sliced into about 8 pieces that come on an elegant, long plate. This is not a fast food place, so be prepared to wait for dishes that are hand-crafted--this takes time. None of Port Townsend's restaurants are fast, unless you want a slice of pizza from a food warmer. That's part of the quirky nature of PT.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Feed your inner zen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Look around. Every detail is elegant, simple and perfect from the beautiful wood counter, from which you can view the cooking, to the lovely wooden chairs, the bamboo container for high quality chopsticks,the light fixtures, the hand thrown pottery saki vessels. Hanazono is a class act, and feeds the senses as well as the palate. If you sit at the counter and watch the kitchen, you will see a highly skilled, highly disciplined team of culinary experts, using state of the art equipment. The owner is right there in the kitchen cooking and supervising and coming up with wonderful new items. Recently, there was a green tea tirimisu for dessert, for example. The food is delicious, creative, satisfying and wholesome. The waitperson is welcoming and helpful. Hanazono is located in one of the narrow old spaces in an original building -- high ceilings, wooden floor. Most meals are under $10 and one of the best values you are ever going to see!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Awesome noodle soups and sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Just got done visiting for the weekend with my gf and Hanazono was one of our two favorites. The Tom-Yum soup is fantastic, and the gf loved her sushi and couldn't get enough. Our only regret is not visiting a second time while we were there.

If you want sushi/Japanese in Port Townsend, check this place out before any other.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanazono Asian Noodle also viewed

 
Port Townsend, WA
 

Been to Hanazono Asian Noodle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanazono Asian Noodle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.