We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in Port Townsend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Washington Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Townsend
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Washington Hotel
Save
You added The Washington Hotel to your Saves list
825 Washington Street, Port Townsend, WA 98368   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Port Townsend B&B and Inns
Wa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A little gem in Port Townsend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

My friend and I stayed in this little hotel for a girl's night out. We expected it to be nice but the little touches, such as really nice wine glasses and a corkscrew, took it over the top. Marilou, whom I believe is the owner, was friendly and welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed. The two bedrooms were spacious, everything was very clean, the beds were very comfortable, and the location was very quiet. I think there were other guests but we never heard a sound from the other rooms. The hotel is located downtown but not on the main street so it is very quiet, even with the window open. It is a very short walk to everything you need such as restaurants and shopping. There was parking in the alley which is important when Port Townsend is busy. On top of that, it was very reasonable in cost for such a spacious suite.

Port Townsend is a great short trip from the Seattle area with wonderful shopping, restaurants, and art galleries. Having such a pleasant place to stay is an added enticement. There are some wonderful Victorian bed and breakfasts in Port Townsend and over the years I have stayed in several. I liked them very much. But sometimes I just want to visit with friends or family and don't necessarily want to sit at a group table. For those times, this will be my choice.

  • Liked — Size of room, location
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    22
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
30
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2008

We stayed one night at the Washington Hotel, but wished we could have stayed another night or two. Our room was spacious and exceptionally clean. The bed was super comfortable and the location is very quiet, especially for its location one block off the main drag.

This hotel is located right in the heart of historic Port Townsend. We walked to an art exhibit and dinner at night and then strolled around the following morning. There is a great bakery/coffee house just around the corner called the Tyler Street Coffee House. They have a huge selection of freshly baked pastries and savory treats, plus great coffee. And, the hotel is just down the hill from the Saturday farmer's market that is loaded with produce, craft, and baked good vendors.

The hotel is a great value and makes for a very nice base for a Port Townsend getaway!

  • Liked — spacious, clean rooms
  • Disliked — no view
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, wa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

So great! We found this place on the Port Townsend Guide website, and it lives up to the description. Its in a perfect location, you can walk to all the shops, restaurants and pubs and is very secluded on a quiet street. There are only 4 rooms so its very intimate, we stayed in the Siebenbaum Suite , which has two bedrooms and a communal lounge area, perfect for couples or just a bunch of friends. It shares a common kitchen area but they provide you with menus and restaurant guides which make it very easy to make your way around. Very clean, furnishings nice and modern, staff very friendly and helpful. Overall very wonderful experience and will absolutely stay again!

  • Liked — Great location, amazing accomodations
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

Although the hotel is located in the middle downtown, it isn't on the main street and has very little outside noise. The rooms are remodeled with a metro-modern style. The rooms are very large with queen size beds it is clear that the housekeeping staff takes great care in cleaning everything. The beds are very comfortable with down comforters.. The manager, Marilou is always very pleasant and very helpful with suggestions on what to do around town. It is noted that there are only four rooms at this hotel, but three of them are actually suites that have two bedrooms or two beds in one very large room with a sitting room. The room came equipped with t.v., dvd, stereo, coffee pot and refrigerator. There is a convenient common kitchen area that is equipped with a microwave, bar sink, dvds, magazines and extra supplies (ie paper plates, silverware etc.) in case you need something in the middle of the night. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting as a couple or a group.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, WA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

We stay in Port Townsend regularly, usually choosing to camp in our RV. This particular weekend was our 10 year anniversary so I looked for a nice Hotel at a decent rate. I stumbled upon the Washington after checking into almost every hotel in the city. The rooms are newly renovated and very clean. There are like 4 or 5 rooms on one floor with a common area. There is no public access to the hotel so the only folks there are guests. It is private, secure and cozy. You can walk anywhere in the downtown area within about 5 minutes. It is right next to the awesome Rose Theater. Just a really great hotel in a great location and we will probably stay there again in lieu of oour RV.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

Port Townsend is a cute little town and the Washington Hotel made the stay even better. We stayed for 2 nights…May 16-18, Friday and Saturday nights. Washington Hotel was reasonably priced and walking distance to everything. We were going to stay at Harbor Inn but lucked up and found the WA Hotel. I’m really glad we stayed here…Harbor Inn was further away from the restaurants and shops and did not offer suites to accommdate 5 adults. Just a tip….if you are trying to choose between Port Townsend or Port Angeles….I would definitely recommend PT over Port Angeles.

We arrived and there was a parade going on; the fair was also in town. After the parade ended, we grabbed a bite to eat at Khu Larb Thai…which was not crowded at all. The only place that was crowded was Water Street Brewing. We stopped at a local wine store called The Wine Seller….tasty wine and the owner was very nice. We were told Saturday morning there was another parade for the Rhody Festival that was going on..but we already had plans to the San Juan Islands. After our excursion to Friday Harbor on San Juan, we shopped a little and then ate at Silverwater Café. It was good but pricey compared to Columbia, SC food prices! Then went to Elevated Ice Cream for dessert--it was okay...pricey again. Sunday morning was the best because we woke up early to walk on a small beach in PT, the pier, & around the neighborhood. We then ate at Lighthouse Café—it was yummy but service was slow. After breakfast, we headed back to Seattle to leave for home. PT is a cool town and wish we could have stayed longer.

Accommodations:
The Washington Hotel was awesome. There are only 4 suites in the hotel…and it’s not a typical hotel. The owner basically rents the suites out and provides general information regarding the suites by phone. We stayed in Suite 4 which can accommodate 5 adults. The suite had 1 bedroom with a double bed, another walk-through room with the TV and double bed and the main area has small refrigerator and a sofa/day bed & sitting area, and 1 bathroom. The suite looks like it was recently painted, updated, and was clean. The suite included towels, bed sheets, and toilet paper. In the hallway of the hotel it had a kitchen area with a sink and microwave; and it also had books, magazines, brochures for Port Townsend, and movies to watch in your room. The hotel was walking distance to everything….shops, restaurants, and the beach.

The area:
Port Townsend is a quaint little town with lots to see and do; it has many little shops, close to the beach & pier, near the PS Express, has a ferry to Keystone, WA, old movie theater, and the neighborhood of PT is lovely. We walked one morning in the neighborhood, shopped a little, walked to the beach & pier, did an excursion with the PS Express, the Whale Watching & Friday Harbor Cruise--it was awesome & worth the money.

Restaurants:
Khu Larb Thai--we ate here the first night for dinner…inexpensive & yummy…was not crowded at all for a Friday night.

Silverwater Café- --pricey for dinner…my pasta was $18 and didn’t come with any meat, cocktails were $7.50-8.00. The cheapest item on the menu was a burger for $10. It was not crowded, the service was great and the food was yummy but again a little pricey.

Elevated Ice Cream---pricey again….a 2 scoop Banana Split was $5.95. They did have yummy looking pies. The Banana Split was okay but nothing great….maybe I should have had a piece of pie.

Lighthouse Cafe—we ate for breakfast. It had good menu choices and reasonable prices, however, there were only 2 people working so our food came out at different times---not all at the same time so we couldn’t all eat together.

Shop:
The Wine Seller---we missed the wine tasting....but this place has a variety of wines and cheeses. We love this store and wish we could have one like it back home. They have many Washington and Oregon wines to choose from….along with any other wine you can think of. The owner was super nice and helpful also.

  • Liked — wonderful suite & location..walking distance to everything
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Washington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Washington Hotel

Address: 825 Washington Street, Port Townsend, WA 98368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Port Townsend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Washington Street that runs parallel to Water Street in the heart of downtown. Near all the restaurants, movie theater, fitness center, shops, marina and the Northwest Maritime Center. Within easy walking distance to all of downtown, located across the street from Haller Fountain. Six blocks from the Uptown District and where the Saturday Farmer's Market is held. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Washington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.