We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfasts and lunches, and best servers ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hudson Point Cafe

Hudson Point Cafe
130 Hudson St, Port Townsend, WA 98368-5630
360-379-0592
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Port Townsend, Washington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfasts and lunches, and best servers ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Lisa W said it well in her review, but this little spot deserves special mention. It's at the far end of town, not as easy to just stumble across, and tucked behind the newer "Doc's", which doesn't hold a candle to Hudson Point Cafe. It's an old building but has great views of the marina a few steps from the front door. The servers are the best anywhere. My mother loves going there for lunch on our frequent outings, and our server, Dina, always treats her like an old friend, even remembering her birthday, what trips we're taking, what food and beer we love, etc. Great choice of beer, including local microbrews. Fantastic seafood. I love the salads, too. Fresh, local ingredients. Nice seating in booths or along the windows. Cruise into the marina on your boat and walk about 10 feet into Hudson Point Cafe, formerly known as Otter Crossing, due to the otters you sometime see resting outside.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    54
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Townsend, WA
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Fine Food - Don't be in a Rush!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

As Port Townsend residents, we consider Hudson Point Cafe to be one of our favorite places to bring out of town guests for breakfast or brunch. The view of Admiralty Inlet is great on almost any day. We love the Cafe's corned beef hash, but the cherry flapjacks are also wonderful. Seating is somewhat limited for a restaurant of this popularity, and so are the kitchen capabilities. As a result, waits can be long. On a Sunday at 11:30, we waited a half-hour for a table for four, and another 50 minutes to be served food. If you need to make a ferry, come early!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great time to be had for all...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I wrote one before about how accommodating they were when we had friends come in out of town for a holiday, but now we go here regularly. Why? Here are some reasons, and they are important in a small town, especially in Winter months when trying to find breakfast can be difficult. 1. The wait staff is by far the friendliest! 2. They use fresh ingredients, that elsewhere the meal would cost much more 3. They will SUBSTITUTE gladly. I found I can change an omelet to a scramble, change cheese, and switch to corn tacos to be gluten free. 4. They already have more variety on the menu, with loads of specials, and the only place I know of with seafood for breakfast [hello, it's a Seaport town, I don't know why everyone doesn't offer delicious scallops and shrimp in eggs!]. 5. The place is cute and charming, and near the water so you can watch folks set sail. We usually go for breakfast with some of the best coffee in town, but have had lunch as well. One of these days we will have one of their many beer or wines and pretend we are some place exotic for lunch. To be fair, they do get super busy on weekends [because, again,there is hardly any place to get a breakfast; when our friends came for Thanksgiving it was the ONLY place that stayed open late, by my request, and it was packed!]. So seating can take a while, but not always.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Great view over the Point Hudson marina and great food. Be sure to check this out on your next trip to Port Townsend.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Bad Day at OK Corral”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We eat at this restaurant at least every other month, but were extremely disturbed by our experience today. It takes us an hour to drive here for what is normally a delicious, promptly served meal. Today we waited over an hour after we ordered our food before we received our meal. Even then some of my wife's meal was cold. We were so hungry, we were afraid to complain and have another hour pass. This is not excusable, even if the kitchen is having problems. At the very least, toast, bread ANYTHING should have been served while we waited; or a discount should have been offered. I have positively review this restaurant in the past, but today's experience was such a negative experience that we will not be returning, nor recommending it to others.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hudson Point Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hudson Point Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hudson Point Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.