We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chef Bratigan has made this top rated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fireside Restaurant, Waterfront Dining

The Fireside Restaurant, Waterfront Dining
One Heron Road, Port Ludlow, WA 98365 (Formerly The Fireside restaurant)
360-437-7400
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Fireside Restaurant, Waterfront Dining is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: The Fireside Restaurant is located within the Inn at Port Ludlow. The Dining Room is open from 7am to closing every day of the week. Chef Dan Ratigan prepares locally sourced menus and works closely with the local farms, artisans and fisheries to create a Daily Dinner Menu. We are open for Happy Hour EVERY DAY from 4-6pm featuring 1/2 price food options and daily beverage specials. The restaurant has received the Wine Spectator Award for 2013 the Award of Distinction from the Washington Wine Commission 2013 as well. Holidays and special events are featured throughout the year including winemaker dinners, cooking classes and other fun events. Guests can stay over and enjoy a "farm package" where they visit three local farms, bring the basket back and Chef will prepare a meal from the ingredients provided.Private parties are invited to enjoy the private rooms as well. Reservations are recommended.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Chef Bratigan has made this top rated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Off two days' experience, we loved the food here. Try the eggs benedict on crab cake! Every meal was a treat with super sauces and delicate but pronounced tastes. We're going back just for the food, if nothing else.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortatportludlow, General Manager at The Fireside Restaurant, Waterfront Dining, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
So, your description sounds like you are a food writer! Chef Dan (Ratigan) will be pleased to know that you appreciate the work that goes into preparing our food.....when you start with the freshest available - and get to "play" with what has just been delivered (and probably picked that morning), it's pure delight. We look forward to having you with us again - perhaps for one of the Farm dinners - and perhaps that will encourage you to stay over as well and enjoy the equally special accommodations. Either way, we'll be eager to continue building on your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    27
    22
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We enjoyed the excellent House wine, the classical guitarist and the easy pace at dinner. Breakfast on the patio was a delight!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWardrop, General Manager at The Fireside Restaurant, Waterfront Dining, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the experience - what can be better than lovely music, good wine and the feeling of an easy pace..... Lovely words to describe this. We appreciate that you made the time to share and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Rio, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great beach restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Wonderful cuisine that changes each day according to what the chef gets in that day. Specials between 4-6pm and Classical guitar on Wednesdays.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWardrop, General Manager at The Fireside Restaurant, Waterfront Dining, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the experience. Yes, Chef Dan works closely with the local farmers, artisans and fisheries to create this Daily Dinner Menu. He is featuring Copper River Salmon this week - for a limited time - and we hope this will entice you for a return visit sooner than later. Though we cannot take credit for the views, the water and mountains from across the Dining Room and Veranda makes for a pretty sweet spot. We appreciate that you made the time to share your views and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Accommodating and tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We went here for dinner - while we liked the items on the menu, we wanted them prepared differently -- e.g. we wanted salmon with the butter lemon sauce which was for the cod (not the ragout), and we wanted the whipped potatoes that were with the pork -- No Problem -- the staff and the chef were very accommodating to all our requests. we had a fabulous dinner, great laughs, good desserts and everyone got what they wanted.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWardrop, General Manager at The Fireside Restaurant, Waterfront Dining, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the experience - and are appreciative that you ASKED for modifications to the menu. We are more than happy to prepare the meal to the liking of our guest - and when you let us know, it allows us to do so. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our lunch and dinner very much”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

THE Wife and I ate lunch and dinner here on May 17. Overall we were very impressed with both meals both in terms of portion size and taste. THE Wife is a vegetarian and for dinner she had a beet and cheese salad which she loved. For lunch she had pizza which she also really enjoyed. I had for lunch a pasta dish with mushrooms and a light parmesan sauce - large portion and very well cooked. For dinner I had the salmon dish on the menu and it was great! They bring you bread, butter or an olive tapenade as an appetizer. Service was very attentive. They have a wonderful patio over-looking the marina. It was cool when we ate so we were inside and we both really enjoyed the dining room.

Generally, we were very happy with this restaurant, the food was very tasty, the service was wonderful and the ambience was very pleasant. We felt we received great value despite it being a little on the pricey side.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWardrop, General Manager at The Fireside Restaurant, Waterfront Dining, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your meals with us. We strive to ensure our guests have a memorable experience - through the locally sourced ingredients (yes, a bit more expensive, but oh so worth it.) to our focus on caring for the guest in an unobtrusive yet engaging way to the views afforded by Mother Nature through our location. We look forward to seeing you again soon and do appreciate that you made the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fireside Restaurant, Waterfront Dining also viewed

 

Been to The Fireside Restaurant, Waterfront Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fireside Restaurant, Waterfront Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.