We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food in fabulous setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fireside Restaurant, Waterfront Dining

The Fireside Restaurant, Waterfront Dining
One Heron Road, Port Ludlow, WA 98365 (Formerly The Fireside restaurant)
360-437-7400
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Fireside Restaurant, Waterfront Dining is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: The Fireside Restaurant is located within the Inn at Port Ludlow. The Dining Room is open from 7am to closing every day of the week. Chef Dan Ratigan prepares locally sourced menus and works closely with the local farms, artisans and fisheries to create a Daily Dinner Menu. We are open for Happy Hour EVERY DAY from 4-6pm featuring 1/2 price food options and daily beverage specials. The restaurant has received the Wine Spectator Award for 2013 the Award of Distinction from the Washington Wine Commission 2013 as well. Holidays and special events are featured throughout the year including winemaker dinners, cooking classes and other fun events. Guests can stay over and enjoy a "farm package" where they visit three local farms, bring the basket back and Chef will prepare a meal from the ingredients provided.Private parties are invited to enjoy the private rooms as well. Reservations are recommended.
Bellevue, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food in fabulous setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The Fireside (house restaurant at the Inn at Port Ludlow) did NOT dissapoint! The Inn was great and the Fireside food was EXCELLENT! There was an amazing lemon curd dessert and the salmon most of us had for dinner were swimming in Neah Bay THAT MORNING! The server (Ivan) was also excellent, very attentive. We all loved this cozy restaurant with a view - make reservations!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    55
    20
    16
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The restaurant inside the Port Ludlow Resort is phenomenal! Hats off to the chef! He is incredibly skilled.

Not only is the menu filled with so many tempting entrees that it is hard to choose, the appetizers and salads are also creative and delicious.

The menu will appeal to everyone! There is meat and fish, seafood and pasta, all with a gourmet edge. I had a prawn and sea scallop dish with a Thai overtone, replete with the flavors of lemon grass, red curry and citrus. DELISH! Everyone at my table ordered something different, and everyone was delighted with their pick. The fish and seafood were cooked perfectly, as were the steaks. The plates were gorgeous and extremely artistic.

We had espresso and dessert, and left wanting to come back again soon. What a fabulous find!

Go try the Fireside for you next special dinner. You can even make a day trip out of it from Seattle by taking the Bainbridge or Bremerton ferry. DEFINITELY WORTH THE TRIP!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fireside restaurant at Resort at Port Ludlow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Somewhat expensive and limited menu. Service was a little slow.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Olympic Peninsula
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant Afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

A beautiful Wednesday in late June 2012. Sat at the bay window table inside. My wife and I met friends for lunch. Acceptable wine selection. We had a Walla Walla Semillon that was quite nice. Food was very good. Salads were fresh, bread was wonderful (Pan d'Amour) and my wife loved the ice tea. For lunch, you might want to get a salad ilo french fries with your sandwich. I thought fish and chips would be a great choice - but imagine this - they were out of fish. Service was fair, but very friendly. Definitely would go again. There are lots of dining tables to choose from as well as outside. View of the water is calming IMHO.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“So So Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We were having out of town guests and wanted a nice place to impress them. We made reservations and they even asked if this was a special occasion. No, not really (not a birthday, etc) but could we have a window table? No problem. Get to the restaurant, and no reservation! Who did you talk to? Who knows? Have a seat at the bar and we will see what we can do. 45 minutes later we are seated and no compensation for our having to wait, no drinks comped, no desert comped, nothing. Not even we are sorry.

The service was good, the meal was OK, but not worth the cost (and the wait). Would I go again? Probably not.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fireside Restaurant, Waterfront Dining also viewed

 
Port Townsend, WA
Port Townsend, WA
 

Been to The Fireside Restaurant, Waterfront Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fireside Restaurant, Waterfront Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.