We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visit to packwood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crest Trail Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Crest Trail Lodge to your Saves list
Crest Trail Lodge
12729 US Highway 12, Between Mile Marker 129 & 130, Packwood, WA 98361   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Packwood
Fremont
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“visit to packwood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

haven't been here since the change in ownership and remodel. Wow, it was one of my best stays in any hotel or motel. Great facility, the managers are terrific, breakfast was awesome, room was beautiful, more like a 4 start hotel.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    61
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
37
77
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in July, 2013. Very clean rooms, nice breakfast, wonderful hosts. Neighboring room was a little noisy the first night, but the management wasted no time in telling them to keep it quiet. Loved seeing Mt Rainier and Mt St Helen's.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We made a ressie a month in advance, and got 2 rollaways to accommodate 6 climbers after a Rainier climb. Fair price, nice rooms, terrific front desk staff. They offer a glass of wine complimentary. Did not take them up on their kind offer of a free breakfast, which looked fair upon inspection. Went to town to Pizza Place for a big breakfast.

Room Tip: Quiet at night there, no issues. No view to speak of, just woods, room doesn't matter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We spent four nights at the Crest Trail. The innkeepers were extremely accommodating, and patiently and freely gave good advice on where to go and the best ways to get there.

Our room (2 queen beds, fridge, microwave, TV, small table with two chairs) was remarkably clean, and we never wanted for anything.

The Crest Trail served as a great "base camp" for visiting Mt. Rainier, Mt. St. Helens, and Seattle. We enjoyed our stay immensely.

The only "cons" were:
1. Extremely thin ceilings and walls. Footsteps above sounded like bombs going off. But, as we run a small box fan for "white noise" while traveling, it didn't bother us that much.

2. The shaky, at times non-existent wifi connection, although many attempts were made by management to fix it. By the 4th day (today, as I write this from our room), the problem seems to be solved.

We weren't lucky enough to see the elk that are famous for making an appearance, but I hear they're quite the frequent guests on the property.

If you need a place to serve as a central location for the major mountain sites in this area, the Crest Trail would be a perfect choice. We slept comfortably and were treated very well.

Room Tip: If foot traffic noise will bother you, ask for a second floor room. (FYI - there are no elevators.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights. Entire hotel is super clean. Hosts Forrest and Donna are very accommodating. They really go out of their way to make sure your stay is satisfactory.

Complimentary wine each night is a great touch. Who w old have thought? Other hotels could take a lesson from this one in hospitality.

Minor complaints: Walls are not insulated well so some adjacent room noise can be heard. Breakfast is hot and tasty with a good amount of choices. That being said, they should change it up each day. Easy to do by changing to sausage links, bacon, sausage patties each day and add pancakes (there are automatic machines) along with the waffles so there is a little variety for those staying longer than one night.

Major complaint (and the reason I didn't give it 5 stars) is that the wifi absolutely sucks. Hosts tried their best to get it to work by rebooting the system and other tricks, but it still was not reliable.

They made a few excuses, but, as an IT person I know that it could be easily rectified. We were able to hook up to wifi at the other end of town with no problems at all, so this indicates that its an internal issue, since the other business used the same provider.

The hotel owner really needs to rectify this issue.

Otherwise a great stay. This is the only decent place to stay in the area. Will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

What a great place to stay. Our decision to get a room was last minute, and travelling with a pet, this can sometimes be a problem. The room was clean, nicely decorated, well lit, and spacious. The beds were fairly soft and comfortable. There was plenty of grass and room to exercise the dog. The Managers were so nice and welcoming. We received tickets for a complimentary glass of wine in the evening and a full breakfast in the morning. The breakfast was hot, and had a nice selection. We will be staying there again in the future and highly recommend for those passing through.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel is a step above your average mid-priced hotel. The rooms are very attractive, clean, and quiet. The breakfast included scrambled eggs, sausages and waffles as well as the usual cold cereal and pastries. It was the best hotel breakfast we had on this trip. We were quite impressed by the room furniture. It was both sturdy and attractive and of a quality found in much more expensive hotels. The hotel offered complementary evening glasses of wine -very nice. The hosts, Forrest and Donna are gracious and welcoming. They are a real asset.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crest Trail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crest Trail Lodge

Address: 12729 US Highway 12, Between Mile Marker 129 & 130, Packwood, WA 98361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Packwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Packwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Crest Trail Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crest Trail Hotel Packwood
Crest Trail Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crest Trail Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.