We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A BRILLIANT PLACE..DO TELL YOUR FRIENDS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nature's Nest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nature's Nest to your Saves list
Nature's Nest
Tambdi Surla | Goa, Sancordem 403704, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A BRILLIANT PLACE..DO TELL YOUR FRIENDS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We are a senior couple of bird watchers from England and France,We arrived at Nature's nest from the coast in Goa and this was paradise, Exactly a nest in the middle of Nature.The birding was excellent:7 new species before breakfast, the guides very knowledgeable,We were driven to the best places, then picked up and taken somewhere else,Hours of bird watching were included,
other activities could be arranged.Genuine Indian food was served,fresh beer available.The cottages were quaint basic and comfortable.We stayed 4 days and were sorry to leave.
Huguette Andrew

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Nature's Nest is one of the best birding lodges I have stayed in, even though they do not advertise themselves that way. If you are a keen birdwatcher or a general nature enthusiast, this is an ideal place for you. Simple & homely keep the general tourists away so no disturbance from hard drinking , party types that infest the rest of Goa.

The huts are in the middle of a coconut trees and powder puff plants , that attract a lot of nectar feeding birds. Sunbirds, Spider-hunters, Leafbirds etc are very easily visible within the property itself. Pankaj, Ramesh & Omkar are excellent bird guides with brilliant spotting skills. They will go out of their way to ensure you have as many sightings as possible. Their knowledge of the local areas is like the back of their hands.

Things to do - Bondla, Bhagwan Mahaveer & Tambdi Surla for birding. Do the night walk with Pankaj , to get a view into a lot of the lesser fauna that we tend to neglect.

I had travelled with a 1 year old child, and they took extra care to make us comfortable.

Overall, you should not have any complaints. Folks who are not looking for a birding / herping etc holiday might not find the place up to their liking, but that is a conscious choice made by the operators. They want to attract serious birders and nature enthusiasts. I am happy that such places exist .

I am surely coming back !!

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naturesnestgoa, Owner at Nature's Nest, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Sir,
It was great pleasure to serve you. We are very happy you liked us. I will like to have you for more birding and nature trips with us. We value your words of appreciation.
Thanks a lot.
Pankaj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We loved the solitude, peace, and quiet of this place. The meals were included, and it is on the edge of a wildlife preserve. They do nature walks, and and other guided tours, and the guides are knowledgeable. We loved it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanopyGoa, Owner at Nature's Nest, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your review about Nature's Nest. We are very happy that you did enjoy your stay with us. Looking forward to have you again.

Pankaj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stumbled upon canopy while searching out "close to nature" option is Goa. Positive points- the staff is courteous and helpful. The place is right in the jungle-excellent location. Since they had couple of foreigners the day we arrived, they had arranged for folkdance which was excellent. Now the other side- Try this option if you are comfortable with insects and tree frogs around you. We had opted for 4 nights, but chose to leave the next day, owing to creepy crawly creatures. Since its right in the jungle, I was mentally prepared for some adventure, but did not expect tree frogs on my bed. I would only request the management to pre-inform their guests. We had spoken at-least 2-3 times before confirming the booking. It would have been good if the management would have updated us on this , in which case we wouldn't have preferred the option, They provide a electric rod, if you need hot water. We have been to many eco friendly resorts/guest houses. But you cannot be unhygienic under the blanket of 'eco-friendly'. Bathrooms are not clean. Even hand wash is not provided, leave aside soap or shampoo. (Again this is not informed by the management). The cottage room is dusty not even swept-you need to at least keep a clean standard room when you obviously do not charge below standard rates !!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanopyGoa, Owner at Nature's Nest, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
We respect your views. But please note that
1. It has been made clear in the website that Nature’s Nest is located in farm area close to forest and it offers accommodation in mud-lined cottages. We take safety of our guests seriously. We regret that a frog entered your room. Please note that we don’t use chemical pesticides and will never use them. Henceforth more care will be taken.
2. We see to it that the rooms and bathrooms are clean and soap is provided in the wash room. We appreciate that the guests ask for more soaps when needed.
3. Hot water facility is updated to running water through taps in the bathroom for certain time of the day.
4. Kindly note that tariff includes stay, all meals, guided nature walks, Govt. taxes. Though no hotel will allow just checking out without paying for the nights you had booked for, kindly note that no extra payment was taken from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed here for three nights in a VERY SIMPLE bungalow. The bungalows are scattered among coconut trees, other trees and you hear birds, especially the Malabar Whistling Thrush with a VERY peculiar whistle! You don't believe it's a bird! Anyway this is a good place to bird watching! Then you have a beautiful temple in the nearby - the Mahadeva Temple, worthwhile a visit. You can take a car and go to the Sunset Point and admire a stunning sunset!
FOOD is "glorious" and the staff SO friendly!
You also have a spring in the property and a river in the nearby where you can "use" the tiny fish to do your pedicure FOR FREE :)
I stayed here in December 2011. It can be a bit cold in early morning and nights. So take a fleece. Do not forget your binoculars!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Had an amazing Valentine's escape with my lover thanks to the accommodating nature of Pankaj when booking, the welcoming attitude of Ramesh who was waiting for us at 11:15 pm when we got in.
Plan: AP
Food: sumptuous veg. delight - true Goan cuisine for dinner, breakfast & lunch; early morning tea and afternoon tea provided. No room service.
Rooms: clean, airy, spartan, western attached with cold running water and shower. An immersion heater was provided. Would have loved a double blanket :) Nice sit-out, lovely hammock to laze in.
Activities: We chose bird-watching under the guidance of Ramesh. Enjoyed ourselves. Also had a fish pedicure in a natural spring fed rivulet. Unique experience. Did not opt for nature trails or other activities.
Checked out at 5pm vowing to come back another time

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saarbrucken, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Canopy Nature Tours.
Good local housing and wonderful food accompanied by amazing tours into the surrounding nature and the nearby Bhagawan Mahavir Wildlife Sanctuary.

Peaceful small cottages surrounded by forrest, delightful local food, very friendly and helpful management, Canopy Nature tours offers insight into the beautiful local nature and landscape. Well guided tours into the forrests and plains around where you can see plenty af colourful birds and other wildlife and enjoy the sunset over the impressive scenery of the West Ghats. Daily trips will take you to the nearby Bhagawan Mahavir Wildlife Sanctuary to see great waterfalls or take long walks into to peaceful forrests. Bird watching boat trips into the mangroves of the nearby coast offer a nice change of scenery.
Back in the resort you'll have a relaxed stay and you can enjoy the very delicious and varied local food. Experienced and patient guides and drivers will accompany you on your trips. All is backed up by a very friendly and helpful management.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nature's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature's Nest

Address: Tambdi Surla | Goa, Sancordem 403704, India
Location: India > Goa > Sancordem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Sancordem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nature's Nest is an eco resort located on the border of Bhagwan Mahavir Wildlife Sanctuary. The resort is located close to Dudhsagar waterfall and the 13th century temple at Tambdi Surla.The cottages are Goan village house type with ethnic construction style. They have attached bath with hot water facility.Located in an organic farm, Nature's Nest is a perfect place to experience Goa's hinterland beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Nature's Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nature's Nest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.