We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pets and small children beware” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Veranda Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oroville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Veranda Beach Resort
Save
You added Veranda Beach Resort to your Saves list
299 East Lake Road, Oroville, WA 98844   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Delta, Canada
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pets and small children beware”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We just returned from our 4th year at Veranda. We had never had a problem before the staff was always very helpful and accommodating until this year. We have an older dog that always comes with us, so we specifically ask and pay for a pet friendly cottage. We arrived late and were frantically unpacking and putting away groceries as the dog wondered around the cottage. We noticed the dog was eating something, we pulled a very chewed up black plastic piece out of her mouth. We assumed it was something from our groceries. A few hours later my daughter was playing with the dog and found more of these black squares, they were ant bait traps. There was a poison control hotline on the back which we called; to say the least it was a very long restless night checking on our pet. We spoke to the desk staff the next morning, why would they not inform us at check in, why would they put these is cottages with pets and small children? Best we got was, sorry for the inconvenience. We left our information so that the General Manager could contact us, the desk staff knew how unhappy we were with the situation. We checked back later, no word from the manager. Nine days later still no word from the manger. At check out time the same desk staff was there, I expressed are disappointment and anger at not hearing from the manager. Patti the manager happened to be standing right there. She claimed she had never received the complaint, which I found hard to believe, especially by the looks on the faces of the two other staff members. She then changed her story and said she had been too busy. The lack of concern, interest, excuses and manners this manager showed in dealing with the situation was appalling. It’s a beautiful place, but we won’t be back. Please check your cottages, our dog only ended up with a bad case of diarrhea; we would hate to hear of something more tragic.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patty L, General Manager at Veranda Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Please understand this during the hot summer months, critters such as ants sometime find their way into our cottages and cause discomfort to our guests, so in order to minimize this, we place ant traps in the most common places just like one would do in ones own home. I am really grateful that you have brought this to our attention and the scenario you have described is not something we had thought about…maybe we should have but didn’t and only had the overall enjoyment of our cottage guests in mind. Now that this has come to light and trust me we take it seriously, we have implemented new procedures for cottage guests such as yourselves in order to alleviate this problem in the future.

I truly apologize for not attending to your problem in an orderly and timely manner, its August, the resort is full and things are hectic, nevertheless, I should have been more attentive and can only apologize and learn from this. I am hoping you could contact me directly at the resort as I would like to make this up to you as well as explain in detail the procedures now in place thanks to your actions.

Patty Lawrence
General Manager
Veranda Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    9
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We just came back from our second trip to Veranda Beach. We love it to death. There simply is no other place like this place. The property is magical: quaint and well-appointed single family cottages with huge screened-in verandas set among sprawling expanses of lush lawns, where packs of wild (or at least feral) children run amok playing tag, throwing water balloons, or tossing a ball. The cottages don't have garages: you unload your luggage and toys, and then must park just off the property. This is the key to the aesthetic of the whole place: with no cars to get in the way and create hazards, kids and adults can freely roam the charming laneways on bikes, scooters, skateboards etc. Seriously, you will think you are back in the 70's; where else can you see a gaggle of children riding bikes with no helmets or anxious parents hovering behind them? The pool area is wonderful, with poolside drink service (happy hour after afternoon with very tasty maragitas!), the Globe Diner serves up tasty food at reasonable prices and with very friendly service, the general store sells staples and enough candy to make your kids REALLY annoying about begging you for loose change, there are outdoor movies a couple of times a week, and various other activities that keep the place fun. If you are a fitness buff there is a great trail that goes straight up from the property to the top of the hill to the East, about a 30-45 minute climb, and if you are into road riding (as I am), the local opportunities for VERY hilly and astoundingly scenic riding are about the best I have ever experienced. The beach is superb, the lake is warm, and the marina has a good selection of power boats, jet-skis and catamarans for rent if you are into that kind of thing. The staff at Veranda Beach are universally friendly and eager to please - this is not the Four Seasons and there were a small number of issues with our cottage during our stay but they were all of a minor nature and easily and quickly remedied with a call to the front desk. The real star of the show, however, is the Okanagon Valley - if you have never been to the Osoyoos / Oroville area, it's difficult to explain how beautiful it is. Veranda Beach is located on a prime, very quiet penninsula of land on the East side of the lake just next to the Canadian border - there's no border crossing on that side, so there's no through traffic and the resort really is a paradise unto itself and very safe for families. The contrast of the sun on the water and the arid, eroded hills covered with silver sage and cacti is just astonishing. It's a non-stop buffet for the eyes (and I mean like the buffet at the Wynn Las Vegas, not Uncle Willie's). The bottom line is that although Veranda Beach ain't cheap, it's worth every penny and everyone I know who has gone there has already made a return trip or is planning one. You'll love it, you'll wish you could buy one of the cottages (and maybe you will!), and your kids will one day remember it as their Happy Place! My three little ones (4,6 and 7) already do.

Room Tip: Try to get a cottage as close to the lake as possible, although they are all great. The cottages on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Simply amazing.... Beautiful lake, swimming pool, sandy beaches, general store, restaurant (so if you want lunch or drinks by the pool no problem! .....And mostly the fun events constantly being organized by the spectacular staff. Events include Wednesday and Saturday night drive in movies on the wide open parks We take our blankets pillows and popcorn and enjoy the show! The list goes on and on with holiday specific events like Easter egg hunts, fireworks, lobster events, sock hops, sports day, wine weekends, girls getaways with shopping, wine etc etc etc. once you have been there you will go back. Memories to last a lifetime!

Room Tip: Lakefront is amazing if your budget allows or if you are sharing with another family. Check out 119...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We have stayed at least once a year since the cottages were ready. Have magical memories of each visit, especially the time spent with family/friends on the huge screened porches at night. Love the white picket fences, window boxes & green lawns to the beach. Everything is so pristine, yet family friendly. A little slice of heaven on the quiet U.S. side of Lake Osoyoos. Imagine "Pleasantville" and you have Veranda Beach!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom Peterborough in an excellent location (103 Bootlegger Lane). Pleasantville is what came to mind as we approached the charming resort.
The cottsge is well appointed with a full kitchen, 2 bedrooms and a huge screened veranda where we spent most of our time. It was bonus not having to shoo away bugs because of the screen.
The beach area has a lovely grass area as well as a shallow area of
sand. The pool area was comparable to one found in a 5 star resort with the except for the lack of towel service.
Overall, it's a perfect family getaway tucked away in Oroville.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We spent a week there last summer and rented two cabins with another family. Check in was a breeze, even though one of us arrived fairly late at night. Beautiful and quaint cottages, and I generally found he staff to be very friendly and helpful. Couple of small points: dogs running freely were a bit of an issue while we were there, and there was occasionally dog crap lying around. Even when notified, it took the grounds staff a bit of time to deal with it. I feel like that could be a bit better policed as there are a lot of small kids around. Also, there was some disparity in terms of how well one cabin was outfitted/decorated compared to the other. I understand these are individually owned, and it's a very minor point, but it would be nice if there was a minimum standard in terms of what's expected.
Other than that, a great place and we are already making plans to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We knew from the minute we arrived that we were going to enjoy ourselves. The cottages are just like the ones you picture in your dreams but better. We were there mid-september and it was so quiet and peaceful. The pool and beach were fantastic and we spent most of our time there. My husband was happy with the gym facilities and used it daily. When the sun went down we were happy to relax in the cottage reading on the veranda or visiting in the cozy livingroom. They also had movies to borrow which was nice in the evenings when our child was in bed. We were happy to have the option to cook for ourselves and there was more than enough supplies available to make that easy for us. We were able to cook healthy meals instead of having to eat restaurant food the whole time. It was nice to have laundry in house so we could leave with suitcases full of clean clothes. The only complaint we had was that the beds were not very comfortable but that would not deter us from returning and just trying out another rental cottage. Make sure you check in by 6pm because the front desk closes then. This is a rental not a hotel. Overall, one of the best holidays we have had. Try it!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you know exactly what beds are available in the specific cottage you are looking at becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Veranda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Beach Resort

Address: 299 East Lake Road, Oroville, WA 98844
Location: United States > Washington > Oroville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Oroville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Veranda Beach is located on over a mile of private, sandy beach on the sun-drenched shores of beautiful Lake Osoyoos, a few minutes across the border in Oroville WA's Okanogan Valley; Famous for its world class wineries and golf. Clusters of cottages masterfully set in a village reminiscent of the "50s". Guest check-in/out, marina, moorage, boat & watersport rentals, electric chaise loungers, fun boats with waterguns, beach volleyball, firepit, miles of walking trails and more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Veranda Beach Hotel Oroville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veranda Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.