We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Harbor Charters

Deer Harbor Charters
P.O. Box 303, Orcas Island, WA 98243
360-376-5989
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Deer Harbor Charters on Orcas Island was established in 1988 by well known local captain and naturalist Tom Averna, making it the longest operating whale watching company in the San Juan Islands. We are the exclusive whale watch company operating from Rosario Resort and Deer Harbor Marina on Orcas Island. Our boats provide and excellent viewing platform for an experience you will never forget. Our captains and naturalists are island residents and trained at what they do.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellant Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I booked this trip for my cousin and I for late April and it could not have gone any better. Tom and Tre were excellant hosts. They not only found us two transiant whales (term I learned from them) to watch, but Tom did not just sit there and watch the whales from a far. He actually was the only boat to follow them around. While they have to stay a distance from them (again something I learned from them) the whales decided to play with us and ended up coming very close to the boat. It was an incredible experience and Tom and Tre made it even better. They shared lots of history about the whales and other sea life with us and as well as the islands themselves. We are planning another trip next year with this group. Thanks!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    7
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clackamas, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome highlight to our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This charter rocked it! Their boats are smaller than most but that gives a chance to ask more questions and share more with the on-board naturalist. Our guide was sharing local lore of the islands and watching the clock as we saw a humpback whale surface numerous times. We will be back to see the whales with Deer Harbor Charters!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Marais, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No Whales, but great day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

First visit out to the Seattle area. Our hotel recommended this charter. Excited to maybe see a whale, but found out it was not the best time of year for whale watching. Decided a boat tour of the islands would still be fun and it was. We enjoyed an excellent view of the islands and Canada. The tour guides were really friendly and very informative; knew so much about all the wildlife in the area and we did see a lot birds, sea lions, etc. They shared the history and current info about the various islands. Their info about the individual whales was fascinating. Would love to go back in the right season.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
“Even worth the trip in the off season!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My son looks forward to whale watching every time we stay on Orcas. We booked a tour online not realizing that it was the off season (which means the Orca are scarce) but it ended up being every bit as much fun as chasing whales! We saw a whole island full of exotic deer, sheep, harbor seals, bald eagles (full grown and juveniles) and sea lions. We also saw harbor porpoise and Harlequins. Our guide was full of information and made the afternoon even more enjoyable. I've been visiting the islands for years and this experience today felt like getting to know the place on whole different level. We we definitely be back next time!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“dophin/whale watching and honeymooning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Awesome spot for honeymoon or anniversary/quiet time and charter was great too.
bicycles would have been fun too.
stayed in a great B&B in our own cove!

Visited quite a while ago, before Arpil 2012.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deer Harbor Charters also viewed

Orcas Island, San Juan Islands
Eastsound, Orcas Island
 

Been to Deer Harbor Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Harbor Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.