We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Ship Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orcas Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Ship Bay
Save
You added Inn at Ship Bay to your Saves list
326 Olga Road, Orcas Island, WA 98245   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 21 Orcas Island B&B and Inns
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

After check in with Luke, whom was very helpful and nice, we were put in a beautiful upstairs room overlooking the ocean. The room was quaint and they had breakfast waiting for us for the next day. The only thing I would say is if your off season, make sure you don't come on a Sunday evening, because all the restraunts in town are closed on Mondays. When checking out, the woman who did this was a bit put off that I checked out in cash and she didn't ask us how we enjoyed our stay or anything but other than that it was great.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    20
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
57
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This quite little inn offers an amazing view at an amazing rate. The owners great you personally and are very pleasant. They also have a fine dining Resturant that is fresh caught, or even raised right on property. When here ask about the history of the facility. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Inn at Ship bay is not only a nice casual little hotel next to the sea, but also a very good restaurant with excellet seafood, good winelist and friendly service. After traveling on the West Coast for a week, this was our best experience, far better than other places we visited from San Fransisco to Napa Valley.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I decided to get away to Orcas for a quick weekend before cooler fall weather hit the Seattle area. The inn is on a lovely spot with a beautiful view. It's only 5 minutes from the town of Eastound if you desire to get off property and whale watch, grab a burger and take a plane ride. The rooms were ample with a lovely deck looking out towards the water. The room could do with a fresh coat of paint and some upgrading in the bathrooms but overall it was pretty nice. We enjoyed our stay here and would consider returning. The restaurant on site was very good but is a little pricey. We had a appetizer, two entrees, two glasses of wine and dessert and the bill was over $100. The first night we ate in the dining room. The second night we went into the bar and had the burger which was really good and priced at $15.95.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you're looking for a charming little place on Orcas that's a five-minute drive from the tiny village of Eastsound, on a lovely bay, with ultra-comfortable accommodations and a gorgeous view from each room, this is it. The owners and staff couldn't be more helpful and accommodating; the rooms are good sized, very nicely furnished and impeccably maintained, with big comfy beds and beautiful linens; and complimentary bottled water and soft drinks, coffee and tea in a mini-fridge in each room are a nice touch. The breakfasts (included) that are laid out for guests each morning are beautifully presented and consist of excellent coffee or tea, delicious house-made granola, an assortment of yogurts, freshly made muffins or scones, and a variety of fresh berries, citrus fruits, and melon. Best of all, the inn's restaurant is top-notch and draws locals along with hotel guests, as does the intimate and welcoming bar.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I chose the Inn as our final destination for our vacation were so glad we did. Every room is a corner room here - and we enjoyed the Western exposure on the bluff overlooking East Sound. Lovely sunsets. The restaurant is absolutely tops - this chef could work anywhere in the world. The Inn grows its own food, has only the freshest seafood brought in daily, and amazing produce. The inn keepers are a highly gifted couple - chef Geddes creates amazing food; wife Mary Anna shows that guests are her top priority. Staff was attentive but not invasive - an amazing balance not often achieved in small establishments. Photos on the website do not do this place justice - and the clientele were respectful of the pristine beauty and peace of the place. Well maintained - just perfect.

Room Tip: We prefer 2nd floor - all rooms are private due to design of Inn. All would be equally quiet. We h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Upon arrival at the Inn we were greeted by friendly staff and the Manager was especially helpful as he provided us with some information on the island's attractions. The room itself was in a nice building and was simple but charming. The bed was comfortable, the room spacious and the balcony was a great touch. Note that the pillows are very soft which was at times was uncomfortable. However, that was the only uncomfortable thing about our stay. We were in room 102 which was nice but a second floor unit would have been preferred as we than would not have heard the people walking above us. It would seem the walls are thin. Overall, it was a great experience and the bar and restaurant have a lovely ambience as well. I would definitely recommend this inn for couple or older travelers as it is a serene and laid back place.

Room Tip: Floor on the second floor are recommended as the walls are thin and if you are located downstairs yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orcas Island
7.0 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
12.4 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
12.7 mi away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
7.0 mi away
Orcas Hotel
Orcas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Orcas
4.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rosario Resort and Spa
Rosario Resort and Spa
#3 of 5 in Eastsound
4.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Ship Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Ship Bay

Address: 326 Olga Road, Orcas Island, WA 98245
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Orcas Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Inn at Ship Bay. We are an eleven room, owner operated, Country Inn and Restaurant at the top of a bluff with unobstructed southern views over the waters of Ship Bay. The Inn is built around the historic 1869 Adam's farmhouse in the center of heirloom plum, pear and apple orchards. Inn at Ship Bay is located one mile from the village of Eastsound on Orcas Island, the largest and most mountainous of the San Juan Islands. Join us for a comfortable and relaxing Orcas Island experience ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Ship Bay Hotel Orcas Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Ship Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.