We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have been more perfect - wonderful place, wonderful people!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtleback Farm Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Turtleback Farm Inn to your Saves list
Turtleback Farm Inn
1981 Crow Valley Road, Orcas Island, WA 98245   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Orcas Island B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
washington dc
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Could not have been more perfect - wonderful place, wonderful people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

This was the best B&B we've ever stayed at. Bill and Susan are delightful and we are so happy they shared their farm with us. Everything was perfect, from the beautiful setting, to the lovely room. There were lots of wonderful touches, like sherry in the room, fruit in the common areas (great after a long hike), and fresh flowers. I'd called ahead and asked if they had Scrabble (we were expecting iffy weather) and Bill put a game in our room before we arrived. Breakfast was wonderful and it was a real pleasure to get to talk with Bill and Susan in the mornings. We are so happy to have had the chance to stay at Turtleback Farm and hope to get back there soon. It made our trip to Orcas Island much more special.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    19
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
7
46
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ben Lomond, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Loved, loved, loved this place! It was so beautiful!! The setting was idyllic, with sheep grazing.Sat by the cozy fire at night. Had some great breakfasts. The owners are very personable and actually sat down with us and pointed out some highlights of the island on a map! They really cared about our stay.
Had a fantastic dinner at the Ship's Bay Inn - actually some of the best food we've ever had. There is a pub in Eastsound that is very good also.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

After reading about those great breakfasts in reviews from other travelers, we made our reservation and couldn't wait! What a disappointment the food was, however. Breakfast consisted of some very dry and floury 'granola', that was tasteless. Next we were served soft-scrambled eggs with a few small pieces of ham in them and a little grated white cheddar on top along with three small triangles of toast. No potatoes or other meat. The eggs and the toast didn't taste bad, it just wasn't anything but ordinary. We also had a dish of fruit .....some cut up canteloupe with sliced banana and dried cranberries. There were no fresh berries, or even a grape. THE ENTIRE BREAKFAST WAS VERY DULL , UNATTRACTIVE and BORING. Needless to say, we left the second morning without our hot breakfast so we could get an earlier ferry back. For the price of our room, I just expected more than a cheap breakfast like that. The room was nice, the view was great. Bathroom was not so great. Difficult to get in and out of that high tub if you are older and water got onto the floor when we showered so we had to be careful not to slip. And we had to sop it up with towels.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

This is a wonderfully cared-for old farmhouse with excellent accommodations and wonderful breakfasts. We ate on the back porch overlooking the meadow with grazing sheep and the mountains in the distance. A very peaceful setting about 10 minutes out of Eastsound. The room was well furnished and the linens were fine with a comforter made from the wool of the grazing sheep. A shower in a free-standing tub was a challenge but do-able. The hosts were quite friendly and helpful. There are no phones or TV but that was of no concern. Tasty blackberries abound on the property. The biggest drawback was a queen size bed. King beds are apparently available in a newer building on the property. I would highly recommend this B&B as a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

We absolutely loved Turtleback Inn and would go back there in a heartbeat! Bill and Susan keep the place immaculate, the rooms are lovely (ours had a terrace overlooking the valley) and it is an absolute pleasure to stay there.

Every morning, we were treated to a fantastic breakfast (the banana bread pudding especially was 'lick your plate' good), we got lots of helpful advice on planning our stay, and it felt like home (actually, a lot better than home.) Every day, we hiked, kayaked, or shopped and then returned back to Turtleback Inn to have a little sherry before heading out for dinner. What an idyllic place to stay!

I've uploaded some of my photos so that others can see how lovely the place is. I really can't say enough good things about the inn; it's just perfect!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

Absolutely delightful. This very well kept Bed and Breakfast is a charmer. Rooms are very large and spacious, beds are comfortable, rooms have big windows with lots of light. Here is where you go to simply escape and enjoy nature, good smells and clean air. Turn your cells phones off and just relax. The inn keepers Susan and Bill have owned the many acres of land for over 20 years. They do not live in the actual house of the B&B but in their private residence just down the hill. There is nothing not to like or love about this gem of a place. The staff that assist you are very welcoming and will do anything to make your stay a pleasurable one. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, WA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

This B&B is first rate in every way. The scene is spectacular, with decks overlooking an expanse of forests and pastures with grazing sheep; the rooms are beautiful and comfortable, and every detail has been thought of and accommodated.

At check-in, the innkeeper provided a map of the island and sat down with us to go over her recommendations for dining, recreation and local events. In the afternoons, fresh baked snacks and fruit were set out, and there was sherry in each room for the evenings. Everything was spotless, and the bathrooms were stocked not only with the usual soap, shampoo and conditioner, but great smelling hand lotion, q-tips and earplugs. If you might need something, they've already thought of it.

The breakfasts are justifiably famous, and the grounds a pleasure to explore. Not only do they allow dogs in some rooms, but there's a beautiful loop around a pond, through the woods and pastures below where visitors are welcome to walk them.

The Turtleback Inn was the highlight of an already great visit to Orcas Island. Just outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtleback Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtleback Farm Inn

Address: 1981 Crow Valley Road, Orcas Island, WA 98245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Orcas Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Orcas, the loveliest of the San Juan Islands, this landmark inn offers 80 acres of tranquil countryside with grazing sheep, crowing roosters, shimmering ponds and well-tended gardens. The restored "folk national" Farmhouse and newer Orchard House provide a haven for those anxious to experience the wide range of farm and island activities: gather fresh eggs, watch sheep shearing in the spring, go whale watching, sea kayaking, deep sea and fresh water fishing, birding, hiking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Turtleback Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtleback Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.