We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, comfy in pastoral setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtleback Farm Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Turtleback Farm Inn to your Saves list
Turtleback Farm Inn
1981 Crow Valley Road, Orcas Island, WA 98245   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Orcas Island B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Accord, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cozy, comfy in pastoral setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Had a sister reunion last wk in Washington state, chose Orcas isl as one of our stops and decided since a whale watch or kayak excursion took half the day we would spend the nite...
This B and B was a only a couple miles from the ferry in the west sound in a bucolic setting, the Inn overlooked a pasture with grazing sheep in the foreground with Turtleback mt looming in the distance; we were offered several selections of tea or coffee and opened a bottle of wine we had brought while sitting on our attached deck; we were invited to stroll around the 70 acre property and mingled with Chompers and her 2 lambs. Accommodations were cozy and bed linens and room decor were tastefully chosen, several CD's were stacked on a bedside table to choose for our listening pleasure.
A full breakfast was served in a cheery dining room with the same spacious views;
The proprietors and their dedicated staff worked together to make our stay memorable and relaxing; a great local restaurant was a mile down the street and overlooked a small marina and bay.
Turtleback Farm Inn is a special find and great value...
Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    19
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
7
46
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

What a beautiful island and a wonderful B&B. Old farm décor with antiques and period furniture. The folks running the place were very nice and gave us good info on what to do on the island. The setting was very peaceful and the air smelled great. We left the windows open every night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We actually came here in 2011. Had a lovely experience here. Hosts were thoughtful and gave us local advice/ help and privacy. We enjoyed chess in the main room, breakfast in the morning and a fantastic stay. Lovely grounds and nice home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I happened on this treasure while we were on vacation. What a beautiful location, rooms are charming and clean; staff was extremely helpful the breakfast was full on; decor was very nice; Bill and Susan thought of everything for each room. We had beautiful views, setting is very tranquil, cows, sheep, chickens (at a distance!), deer, we enjoyed the walks around the farm. We stayed in the original house, a more modern second structure is also on the property. I thought the price was excellent for all that we got.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This bed and breakfast is the best my family and I have ever stayed at: excellent hospitality, clean rooms, quaint decor, delicious breakfast, delicious afternoon cookies! The owners were extremely helpful with anything you needed such as driving directions, restaurants, shops, what to do on the island, and allowing guests to walk around their farm meadow. Not to mention how easy it was to book a room and have it look exactly the way it is pictured on their website. My family had never been to Orcas Island before and staying at the Turtleback Inn made our trip amazing! The only thing better was seeing the Orca Whales on our whale watching trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The woman (Susan) who did all the work seemed overworked and a bit cranky. She checked us in and cooked and served breakfast which was not very good. Eggs overcooked, toasted muffin cold and dried up. We have traveled a lot and stayed in many B and B's. We thought this was the worst of any.

Room Tip: ask for a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My girlfriend and I went for a short trip to Orcas and found turtleback inn on Google. It's a lovely little farm with cute, clean rooms. We stayed in the valley room which had a beautiful view of the farm valley below the farm house. It was really foggy in the valley in the morning which was a nice effect. Breakfast was great, and the farm allowed us to take a nice little stroll before we headed in to town for dinner. Sitting by the fire with some of the guests at night felt quite rustic and relaxing. Overall a great stay, and we'll definitely be coming back. Thanks Bill and Susan!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtleback Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtleback Farm Inn

Address: 1981 Crow Valley Road, Orcas Island, WA 98245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Orcas Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Orcas, the loveliest of the San Juan Islands, this landmark inn offers 80 acres of tranquil countryside with grazing sheep, crowing roosters, shimmering ponds and well-tended gardens. The restored "folk national" Farmhouse and newer Orchard House provide a haven for those anxious to experience the wide range of farm and island activities: gather fresh eggs, watch sheep shearing in the spring, go whale watching, sea kayaking, deep sea and fresh water fishing, birding, hiking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Turtleback Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtleback Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.