We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and Peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtleback Farm Inn

Save Saved
You added Turtleback Farm Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Turtleback Farm Inn
1981 Crow Valley Road, Orcas Island, WA 98245   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Orcas Island B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romantic and Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I lucked out. This was one of the only rooms available on Orcas Island on the weekend I planned to propose to my fiance. We stayed in the Orchard House. We flew in on a float plane into West Sound from Seattle, and it is a short drive to the inn from the marina. I let the owners know I was going to propose to my spouse there, and they were very helpful in making this weekend special. We dropped off our luggage, and went for picnic on the property which is well kept, yet not overly groomed (which would make if feel less authentic). We returned to our room, which I conspired to have decorated with flowers before hand (with help from some family and friends). The double doors to the porch were open, providing a wide view of the valley. The sun was setting and it was gorgeous. We had dinner at the porch table, where I proposed. The whole stay was magical, and the tub is definitely big enough for two ;)

Room Tip: I would recommend the Orchard house, 2nd floor. That has an incredible view of the whole farm, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    19
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
7
46
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

The Turtleback Farm Inn has a great reputation which must be keeping it occupied. The location is beautiful however the inn needs to be updated starting with the mattresses, pillows, and towels which were way past an acceptable standard.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

A very well-run property. We stayed in the main farmhouse in a room at the front of the house. Breakfast was lovely. One morning we ate on the terrace and watched sheep grazing in the fields below. The inn is comfortably furnished, making us feel as if we were in a home. I especially appreciated the tasteful decor and the conspicuous lack of anything overly cutesy or faux country. My single complaint is that we heard the noise of breakfast preparations from the dining room in the early morning. I don't know when I will be back in the San Juan Islands, but when I am I will stay at the Turtleback Farm Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

This is our third stay at the Turtleback Farm and over the past twenty it's remained as good as ever. The charming inkeepers, Bill and Susan, are gracious hosts. We've only stayed in the Meadow View and Valley View rooms in the original farmhouse, but I suspect all of the others are as comfortable as these. The breakfasts prepared by Susan are scrumptous! Orcas Island is a great getaway with plenty of good restaurants and activities or just an opportunity to relax.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

1st visit we stayed in Orchard House - quite spacious and from its balcony, you can see the stags frolic in the orchard, nipping at the pears and apples on the tree. This trip, stayed in main B&B building. Rooms are smaller but still quite nice. Susan and Bill are gracious hosts who know what hospitality is. We've fallen in love with Chompers, the loving sheep who thinks she is a puppy. Forget about TV. Bring a book & relax. Bike, hike or drive around island to take in all its splendor. Check for low tide so you can walk tiny causeway to see the plethora of colored starfish. Wear flip flops so you don't cut your feet.

Room Tip: Stairwell in main B&B echos noise, but whole place oozes w/charm and serenity. Orchard house is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We enjoyed our one night stay and spent more time relaxing on the porch than we had planned because it was so serene. The room is spacious and so is the bathroom. I really enjoyed the sherry that was in a decanter in our room.
Susan made dinner reservations for us and she and her husband were very informative regarding restaurants, hiking, and the ferry schedule.
Warning: It was unusually warm during our visit and there is no air conditioning here. Our room did not cool down until about midnight with all of the windows open. There was a fan provided and it helped. There is also no TV which is usually GREAT except for one Olympic event that we were interested in watching.
I would return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Turtleback Farm Inn - hospitality was quite nice and the breakfast was great. The recipe book, featuring many of the stellar breakfast recipes, was a great addition for reading (also available for purchase) on a gorgeous, sunny afternoon on the back porch. The inn has a lovely ambience that perfectly matches the friendly, welcoming atmosphere of the island.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtleback Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtleback Farm Inn

Address: 1981 Crow Valley Road, Orcas Island, WA 98245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Orcas Island
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Orcas Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Orcas, the loveliest of the San Juan Islands, this landmark inn offers 80 acres of tranquil countryside with grazing sheep, crowing roosters, shimmering ponds and well-tended gardens. The restored "folk national" Farmhouse and newer Orchard House provide a haven for those anxious to experience the wide range of farm and island activities: gather fresh eggs, watch sheep shearing in the spring, go whale watching, sea kayaking, deep sea and fresh water fishing, birding, hiking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Turtleback Farm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtleback Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.