We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Bistro with Nice, Varied Menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dockside Bistro

Dockside Bistro
501 Columbia St NW, Olympia, WA 98501-8229
360-956-1928
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dockside Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 304 Restaurants in Olympia
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Columbia Ave NW
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Little Bistro with Nice, Varied Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We've been here several times, and never had a bad dish. They gladly make substitutions, are always friendly, and know their food! Their wait staff's suggestions are always spot on, so trust them!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    31
    7
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
washington state
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A Gem of Olympia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We always look forward to eating at Dockside! It's absolutely our very favorite in Olympia, and its food, staff and ambiance are above reproach. We trust the wait staff to recommend the best wine pairing with our dinners and we're never disappointed. Their seafood martini is my special favorite! The Dockside's stand our entrees include a unique Bacon, Lettuce and Salmon sandwich, and all salmon dishes. Also, the view on the Percival Cove and marina are literally stunning. Why would you eat at a chain restaurant when you have this gem in Olympia? We love Dockside!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“excellent wine and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The food we ate last night was so so tasty and the local wine...amazing, the only complaint was the size of the portions, far too big for us........

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“superb seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I opted for the two specials, razor clam starter and miso glazed Copper River coho salmon. The clams were "best ever" and the salmon very nice. The wine list was very well selected (including by the glass). Service good and knowledgable about both food and wine.

We were astonished that on a Saturday night, it was not packed. Good value for the quality received.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Tasty Dinner, A Great Olympia View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This northwest seafood-based menu is created by Chef Laurie Wim and she knows her seafood. She also knows her locally-sourced mushrooms and clams so don't hesitate in ordering locally. Good choice of wines and knowledgeable servers although the place could use a bit of a makeover as it is a bit personality-less.

I would aim a bit more upscale perhaps and move as far away from "sea shack" as is possible. As it is now, it is a bit confusing and you could dress casually and feel very comfortable although I found that a bit sad.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dockside Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dockside Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.