We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Inn at Mallard Cove sets the standard for other B&B's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Mallard Cove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Olympia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Mallard Cove
Save
You added The Inn at Mallard Cove to your Saves list
5025 Meridian Road NE, Olympia, WA 98516   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Olympia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The Inn at Mallard Cove sets the standard for other B&B's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

We just returned from a trip to the Olympic Pennisula. In Olympia, Washington, we stayed in the Inn at Mallard Cove. This was our first experience with a Bed and Breakfast and most probably spoiled us for all others. The location of this Inn is simply stunning. Surrounded on three sides by nature preserves and bordered by water on the fourth, this Inn gives you a feeling of being far away in the country when actually, you are just minutes from Olympia. The setting is beautiful with lovely gardens, nature trails and spectacular views. Then you get to the house. It is like entering a Thomas Kincaid painting. The home itself is absolutely lovely with beautifully decorated common rooms that are comfortable and inviting. The bedrooms are amazing. Antiques, beautiful wallpapers and coordinated fabrics, fireplaces, jacuzzi tubs, private decks with water views make this establishment easily a five star property. The breakfast was delicious and beautifuly presented and served. Everything was absolutely wonderful. Don and Linda, owners and hosts make the experience perfect. They are warm and friendly, making your stay feel like you are visiting good friends. If you are going to be in Olympia, this is the only place to stay. Enjoy!

  • Liked — Beautiful home and location
  • Disliked — cannot think of anything
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
115
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

WOW, What a find!
Before traveling to WA to see my brother stationed at Ft. Lewis, my girlfriend found this new B&B.
At first I was skepitcal because I thought it was too good to be true. The nightly rate was near the same as a local hotel and included a full breakfast, so we decided to give it a shot.
Ten minutes from the base, 10 minutes from downtown Olympia and an hour south of Seattle, this quaint oasis is hidden down the end of a dirt road near the Nisqually National Wildlife Refuge.
The secluded property has it's own private beach, 12 acres of woods and small tidal basin and offers incredible views of the sounth end of the sound.
Enjoy Linda's delicious homemade breakfasts, relax in the parlor with your choice of books of go kayaking with Don - anything you choose will be enjoyable and relaxing.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2007

The traveler returned to his favorite inn in his favorite location, Puget Sound! The scenery was breathtakingly beautiful, the inn immaculate and well managed with gracious hosts Don and Linda. The rooms were spacious and exquisite, the library my favorite for morning coffee, the breakfasts the best I have ever had at any inn. If you cannot relax and find peace at this inn, then it probably isn't going to happen for you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2007

30 minutes from Seattle, this charming bed and breakfast has everything you need and more. Beautiful views of the sound, walking trails and complimentary use of kayaks to explore are only a part of what makes The Inn at Mallard Cove a truly special place to stay. The rooms are immaculate, the host and hostess are gracious and welcoming, and the food is spectacular!

We found The Inn at Mallard Cove online and called to make the reservations. Always a bit apprehensive of what is online versus reality, we were delighted to see that it exceeded our most hopeful expectations.

Two of the three room have gorgeous views of the sound. The third room has a lovely view of the gardens. One of the things we enjoyed most was watching the raccoons eat each morning before going down to see what spectacular meal Linda prepared for us that morning.

The food was scrumptious. The decadent breakfasts were prepared in such a healthy manner that you didn't feel too bad eating it. Then coming in at night, the homemade cookies waiting for us were a treat!

We felt lucky to have gotten reservations for our stay. Luckily for us, The Inn at Mallard Cove has only been open a few months, so we were able to get a room just a few days before our stay. Once the secret gets out, it will requiring planning to stay at The Inn at Mallard Cove.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2007

We've been to a number of B&Bs and found this to be an excellent value! Its a little off the beaten path but worth it. We were greeted with warm crackling fires, an evening snack and a fresh bouquet of roses as we were celebrating our one-year anniversary. A beautiful, comfortable home in a peaceful setting with top notch service, luxurious new linens and very fresh suites. The 3-course breakfast and view of the sound were amazing. The innkeepers were warm and welcoming and paid great attention to detail. A perfect getaway.

  • Liked — the linens and large, clean bathroom amenities
  • Disliked — was a little tricky to find with a GPS
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2007

We stayed at the Inn at Mallard Cove for our 1st Anniversary in April 2007. Roses in the spacious room with a view, reading a book by the fireplace in the evening, great breakfast in the morning, guided kayaking tour...are some of the best memories we have of the Inn. Thanks Don and Linda for making our special day extra special!

  • Liked — Overall Ambience
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2007

It is hard to limit the adjectives, but Elegant, Charming, Beautiful, Warm, Comfortable, ....well, that is a start. The exquisitely furnished tudor style home, is on 12 beautiful acres of gardens, trees and beachfront cove. It's the most pleasant place you can possibly imagine, and the amenities as thoughtful and well presented of any B&B you will ever encounter. Above and beyond all that are the gracious hosts. Words fail me in trying to describe them,. Just take my word for it, you will have a wonderful time if you stay with them, and be very comfortable, and go away feeling as happy to have spent your time there as I was.

  • Liked — The hosts, the location, the amenities
  • Disliked — I couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Mallard Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mallard Cove

Address: 5025 Meridian Road NE, Olympia, WA 98516
Location: United States > Washington > Olympia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Olympia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is an elegant waterfront English Tudor estate on fourteen secluded, heavily forested acres. Awesome views of Puget Sound. Private beach. Gardens galore. Rooms so comfortable and breakfasts so delicious you won't want to leave! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Mallard Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.