We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant beat it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budd Bay Cafe

Budd Bay Cafe
525 North Columbia Street NW, Olympia, WA 98501
360 357 6963
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 309 Restaurants in Olympia
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Romantic, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
malawimike
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Cant beat it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

GREAT seafood and right on the water. Every meal i've had there (only 4 or 5 over the past 8 years of travel to Olympia) has been great -- fresh seafood, great service, and casual atmosphere.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    113
    41
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Logan, UT
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot, nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Don't miss sitting outdoors at the Budd Bay Cafe. Great food, service a little iffy, atmosphere wonderful.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“We loved it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The food was excellent.

Unfortunately, the service wasn't as good. Apparently the waitress doesn't understand serving courses individually, and I really don't appreciate having my dinner sitting there getting cold while I eat my chowder.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great indoor or outdoor dining.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

A good place for a sunset meal. Much more quiet than Anthony''s. No banging plates, and crashing pans. Good food with local owner's. Not a chain just a nice place to go.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
607 helpful votes 607 helpful votes
“Excellent food, awesome staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Come for dinner, lunch, Sunday Brunch, or when entertaining a group. Budd Bay will serve you well. Whether by the window for the view, or in the tables across from the windows - superb view of the port - these tables are elevated so the view is great. Menu is diverse. Steak, seafood, salads are all great. I recommend their Penn Cove Mussels and we always have the best crème brûlée in the universe. Wait staff, professional and attentive.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Budd Bay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budd Bay Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.