We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service... bland food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spar Cafe Bar & Tobacco

Spar Cafe Bar & Tobacco
114 4TH Ave E, Olympia, WA 98501-1103
(360) 357-6444
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 304 Restaurants in Olympia
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Olympia, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good service... bland food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I had the Eggs Benedict. While the egg was cooked perfectly, the Hollandaise sauce was bland and the hash browns were soggy and not crisp. This was my only visit and I'm going to give them another try because the server was friendly and very attentive.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    38
    21
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
609 helpful votes 609 helpful votes
“Wonderful piece of Olympia History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Excellent restaurant who's history has been preserved by a great parent company, Atmosphere is wonderful. Breakfast steak and eggs with sourdough toast, plentiful and at a great price. Seasoned just right, eggs done correctly whether you order sunny side up, over easy or over well - they've always gotten it right!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Quirky place, terrible food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Was drawn in by the quirky old decor, enjoyed the beer and decided to order some food. That's where it went downhill. When I order a portion of fish and chips in a pub for around $13 I expect better than two "out of a box" breaded frozen fish portions and a really mean portion of "fries." The server appeared too embarrassed to ask how it was. Shameful.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
“Good Beer and Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We popped in for some food on a night out - good selection of beers food was average nothing to write home about, but nice.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, Derbyshire
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Great food and beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Really enjoyed our food at this unique cafe bar with curtained booths. A good atmosphere and reasonable prices

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spar Cafe Bar & Tobacco also viewed

 

Been to Spar Cafe Bar & Tobacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spar Cafe Bar & Tobacco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.