We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington State Capitol

Washington State Capitol
416 Snider Avenue SE, Olympia, WA
(360) 725-3000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 24 attractions in Olympia
Type: Monuments/ Statues
Attraction Details
Seattle
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A must see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Simply telling someone about the grand architecture and the beautiful lighting and furnishings inside the Capitol is inadequate. It was a wonderful afternoon perusing history. Don't miss the outside public art or the war memorials. It's unfortunate that, on the weekends, the galleries for the Senate and House are not open, nor is the Supreme Court building. I highly recommend taking your children to see this masterpiece.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    24
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washougal, Washington, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Was in a rush and got our food very fast and was tasty. Service was great.The servers were very helpful.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We got a one-hour tour of the capitol just as the legislature was starting for the year. Very informative and lots of fun.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Memorial Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Visited the Washington State Vietnam Veterans Memorial. I like the recent addition of the three flag poles that facilitates integrity of the memorial as strictly a memorial to Washington State residents who where killed or missing in action during a very turbulent time in our nation's history.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing building, excellent tour guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We not only enjoy touring such a grand building, we had quite an education in politics and workings of the two houses. Our guide was knowledgeable and passionate, he added great value to the tour, which was free to start with. If in Olympia, this is one place you must visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Washington State Capitol also viewed

 

Been to Washington State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington State Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Washington State Capitol to your Saves list