We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shipwreck Cafe

Shipwreck Cafe
244 Madrona Beach Rd. NW, Olympia, WA 98502
360-866-4788
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 304 Restaurants in Olympia
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Nice people, prices have gone up so much I quit coming! Food I ok, nothing special! Coffee is very high!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Shipwreck Cafe offers wonderful food that is simple and hearty. Breakfast is our meal of choice and we are Sunday morning regulars. Portions are ample and always cooked to order. The bacon is thick and crispy, not thin and sweaty like other places in town. The coffee is a blend made just for them and it is fabulous. The restaurant is crowded on weekend mornings and the waitresses know a lot of the customers by name, and can place the "regular's" orders when they see them drive up! This is a wonderful place, tucked away off of Hwy 101 and I highly recommend it to everyone!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“High budget regular food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Been there several times before they moved. Used to be better food, always a bit more expensive than most. Since they have moved only been there twice, food seems yo have gone downhill. Once just for coffe, terrible!!! $2.69 for a cup for the road, if we hadn't already been on the road I would have taken it back. That's the last time!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
609 helpful votes 609 helpful votes
“Great for Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

They've expanded their seating and have maintained their quality, taste, and value. My favorite is Steak & Eggs w/sourdough toast and hash-browns, I've never been disappointed. Our motorcycle group eats here often, no complaints. Wait staff is always friendly, attentive and accurate. Their chef knows what 'rare' means when applied to a steak. Enjoy, eat hearty and ride safe, but start your day here, you'll not be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I met some relatives at the Shipwreck for breakfast and was very impressed. The food was good and a little different than many places. It was very fresh and without the "mass produced" taste of may restaurant. Most of the people there were on a first name basis with the waitresses, so it is clearly a local favorite. Well worth a stop if you are in the area..

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shipwreck Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Shipwreck Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shipwreck Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.