We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ranch House BBQ

Ranch House BBQ
10841 Kennedy Creek Rd SW, Olympia, WA 98512-9446
360-866-8704
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 309 Restaurants in Olympia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Olympia, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great BBQ!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Have come to this place over the years a few times. Best pulled pork and beef briskett ive ever had! Not fond of the Coleslaw or beans. Great Potato Salad and Fries. I like the place for there BBQ. Not to pricey, just like anywhere else. Nice cozy atmosphere and people!! Will return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    25
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McCleary, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor BBQ - A Bit Pricey!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I know that this place gets raving reviews and seems to be busy frequently, however, our experience at the Ranch House was not very good. Their initial prices are comparable to Famous Dave's BBQ, but not when you compare their portion sizes and choices. Not to mention that they add on a fee for everything. For example, with most meals you get a choice of 2 sides (which unfortunately comes in a small 2 oz. dish) however, if you want one of those sides to be fries it will cost you $2 extra, or if you want it to be corn it will be $2.50 because these are considered "special sides". Other than the fries, which were very good, the food was not very good. The baked beans had a strong molasses/vinegar taste, the ribs were over-cooked, thin, and a bit dry, and the corn bread was dry and gritty. The waiters were very friendly and attentive, but you heard them apologizing and saying the same thing to each table, "I am sorry, we can't do that", or "we can do that for an extra $$$"! This is not the hospitable BBQ joint that Famous Dave's, or Mo's (Shelton) is. They must have done a good job in marketing, because their food and attitude is not very good. I would not recommend this place to my friends or family.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olympia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“what's all the fuss?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Heard rave reviews about this place. Sorry it's not near the quality we were expecting. Maybe I've been spoiled, I won't go out of my way to eat here.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I asked a friend who is a judge at BBQ competitions for his recommendation and was sent to the Ranch House. I have been going there ever since and now all my friends go, too, GREAT FOOD!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Slow cooked tender goodness. Best I've ever had. Their ingredients are flavorful but not overwhelming and their cooking is superior, never rushed. They were lost for awhile when a mudslide took out the location where they cook their food a couple years back, and it was terrifying!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ranch House BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Ranch House BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ranch House BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.