We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean, comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Olympia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Olympia to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Olympia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Evergreen Park Drive, Olympia, WA 98502 (Formerly WestCoast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Olympia
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean, comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

We spent one night while travelling down the I-5. It was a good choice for a quiet night's rest.

The hotel is handy to the I-5 but because it is really off Route 101 you need to watch the directions carefully. The hotel is set in a wooded area away from the highway, with a view towards a nearby lake.

The hotel is sprawling. When we were there it had several large groups for conference type events but everything ran smoothly.

The room was a little dated, perhaps time for an update, but spotlessly clean and comfortable. Wifi was free.

We didn't dine in the restaurant but there is a full service restaurant and lounge and an adequate breakfast buffet.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    167
    84
    14
    13
See reviews for
99
118
14
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hood River, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stopped for one night on our way home from Seattle. We found this hotel to be nice. It's an older hotel in a nice wooded setting. It's not far from the freeway, but it feels very secluded and peaceful. The rooms are remodeled. Very clean and comfortable. Grounds are very nice. We will definitely stay there again. There's an onsite restaurant. Food was good and a nice atmosphere.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I came to this Red Lion Hotel for a conference. I didn't expect such a beautiful setting in the WA state capital.
Pluses:
1) beautiful setting near a river. It is fit for having a wedding reception and outdoor photography.
2) clean big room--I got lucky because I was given a king size room with a view of the river.
3) really helpful staff at check in desk who invited me to join the Red Lion club.
4) great value for the room and also happy hour.

Minuses:
1) breakfast bullet has limited selection. Service at the breakfast place is not fair.
2) It is not near to the city, which is a plus or minus. It makes it a little more difficult to go out to find something to eat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I was there for a convention (Enfilade) in May 2014. It was an easy access from SeaTac. The front desk staff were great. I was able to get a early check in about 9:45 so I could take a desperately needed nap. Although I did not ask for it when I made my reservation or when checking in they switched me to a lower, convention rate. The room was basic but clean and it had a very comfortable bed. I had breakfast included with my room but was very disappointed with it. Limited selection and they kept running out of what little they had including coffee. The lunches and dinners were tasty and reasonable priced but the service was ridiculously slow. I only had one supper there and ended up leaving cash on my table 20 minutes after I asked for my bill. What should have been a pleasant 45 minute meal took 90 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Would recommend -- clean -- comfortable -- value is superb --- staff is as good as hotels 3 times the price --- you are close to everything in Olympia but ur in a pastoral setting --- I walk most mornings and the neighborhood is safe and clean --- wifi was slow in the room --- my only minor complaint

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The Red Lion is located near the I-5 freeway, but in a quiet treed location. Our room was relatively large with two queen beds, fridge and microwave. Clean and well kept. Only negative was soundproofing between floors, we could hear people upstairs. Avoid this by asking for a third floor room. Front desk staff were exceptionally helpful. Free and fast wifi, breakfast buffet extra $7-8. Beautiful view from breakfast room.

Room Tip: Ask for room on third (top) floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I looked up the reviews on line about this Red Lyon Hotel and looked at the website. The website didn't really show how nice of place it really is. This one of the cleanest Hotel/Motel that I have ever stayed in and I travel a lot.
The outside is a little dated, but the inside is Awesome!
I highly recommend this Hotel. I think it's the best in Olympia, Washington
Brian from Oregon

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Olympia

Address: 2300 Evergreen Park Drive, Olympia, WA 98502 (Formerly WestCoast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Olympia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Olympia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Olympia 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion Hotel Olympia is conveniently located on 12 lush acres in the heart of Olympia Washington, Washington's State Capital. On the Puget Sound and near the beautiful Cascade Mountain range, outdoor recreation, including hiking, kayaking, sailing and skiing, is plentiful. Olympia offers historic sites as well as diverse shopping, plus educational and cultural opportunities. The Red Lion Hotel Olympia is located within 7 miles of Saint Martin University and Evergreen State College.Guests enjoy the relaxed atmosphere created outside by our wooded surroundings and inside by our beautiful lobby and fireplace. Our 192 spacious guestrooms offer all the amenities you expect from Red Lion Hotels, including Red Lion's signature plus Sealy pillowtop bedding, EcoFresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, a 24-hour business center, a fitness center and a beautiful seasonal outdoor pool and whirlpool as well as free parking.Enjoy exquisite dining and your favorite beverage at our West Water View Restaurant and Lounge. We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Olympia
Olympia Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Olympia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.