We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than my visit seven years ago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Olympia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Olympia to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Olympia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Evergreen Park Drive, Olympia, WA 98502 (Formerly WestCoast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Olympia
malawimike
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Much better than my visit seven years ago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Hotel rooms have been renovated. Nice bed, room was clean, very nice view out the back with a small balcony (but no chairs or anything on the balcony...). Overall, it is probably your best option to stay directly in Olympia proper. I have also given good reviews to the Pheonix Inn in Olympia. Both are fine, Pheonix is closer walking to restaurants and shops, red lion has much prettier views and is nestled among the trees.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel K, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Red Lion Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for the great review! To hear we have improved over your last stay with us speaks so much volume to us. We have a new management staff (which includes our General Manager, Sales Team, and our Food/Beverage Team) which appears to have made all the difference. I'm also glad to hear that you enjoyed our recently upgraded rooms; paired with our cozy grounds, they create quite the 'home-y' atmosphere.

We appreciate the feedback, and hope to welcome you again soon.

Best,

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator
Red Lion Hotel Olympia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    167
    84
    14
    13
See reviews for
100
118
14
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We (family of 4) stayed here recently. This is an old hotel, badly in need of a renovation..... which is close to the Washington State Parliament buildings, so, for example, the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) rents 40 rooms here, at any given moment, and obnoxious, overfed, government employees are eating breakfast right next to you, in the morning.... :( We even got to learn that the DHS budget is $26 billion for this year, and that our tax payer money is being used to fund it......... :(

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel K, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Red Lion Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for the review! I'm so happy to hear your stay was pleasant, however I truly regret the fact that you felt we were in need of renovation. We do have some plans for the upcoming 2014-2015 year that will enhance our guest experience overall. I welcome you back to 'give us another try', as I have most faith you will enjoy your stay.

Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions and I'll be happy to assist.

Warmly,

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator
Red Lion Hotel Olympia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is the second time in 3 months we have been to this hotel, and once again we were not disappointed. The grounds are gorgeous, and if you have pets as we do, it's the place to bring them. Lot's of plush green grass to roam, and also to take in the view of the state capitol and surroundings. The pool area is immaculate, with a large outdoor pool and hot tub, as well as plenty of seating and tables. The outdoor grounds give you the feel of a 5 star resort, at less than 1/2 the price. The buildings themselves are a bit old, but with lot's of character and very clean. The staff is a bit "light" on numbers, but very cordial and helpful, with a smile on each of their faces. They would go out of their way to help you with the slightest need. One of the restaurant staff made a special trip down to our room just to open our bottle of wine (that we had brought from home), and did it within "seconds" of our call. Our room was very clean with a newer flat screen TV, and with a glass slider to the outdoor grounds. If you can, get a room facing the grounds or pool on the bottom floor. You will not be disappointed. The food was outstanding and service was great. Nothing fancy, but good hearty food. We will be back again soon!!

Room Tip: Bottom floor facing the pool or outdoor grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel K, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Red Lion Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! I agree, our pet friendly accommodations and plush grounds go hand in hand for a great experience for 'Fido'. We love accommodating pets, and are so glad you were able to bring yours.

We truly appreciate you staying with us on so many occasions, and look forward to your next visit. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can do anything to make you more comfortable on a next visit.

Best regards,

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator
Red Lion hotel Olympia
---
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The lobby's design is classic and welcoming. The restaurant has a great view of a small lake, the swimming pool, and a green area. It's big windows made me feel refreshed and eager to seat by one of them. My room was clean and very spacious. The only minus in this hotel is that when I was in the swimming pool and called the restaurant to ask for service, the staff person told me that she could not bring me my order to the pool. Incredibly, what was apparent is that she just did not want to bother to come out of the air conditioning and walk down the stairs to the pool. She told me I had to get my food myself, when during my arrival I had already asked if I could order food from the pool and the answer was yes. The restaurant was not crowded. If the waiter would have known better, she would have brought the order to the pool. It would have increased the quality of Red Lion for me.

Room Tip: Swimming pool side has best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel K, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Red Lion Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I am however concerned that your visit to our restaurant was anything less than stellar. Our Director of Food and Beverage will be going over your comments with our staff to make sure our service standards and expectations are being met.

We truly appreciate the time you took to voice your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Fondly,

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator
Red Lion Hotel Olympia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

On our move from Vancouver BC to the Bay Area we stopped here for one of the nights. The hotel is in a beautiful setting despite the proximity to the freeway. The staff was incredibly friendly and welcoming both at the front desk and at the restaurant. The rooms were a little old and could have been cleaner but it was not a big deal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel K, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Red Lion Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
What an outstanding review! To read the title of your review, and hear your comments about how friendly our staff is truly hits home, and makes us realize we are doing our jobs right.

We are excited for your next visit to the Red Lion Hotel Olympia.

Best,

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator
Red Lion Hotel Olympia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

On our way to Whidbey Island we broke up the trip with an overnight at the Red Lion Olympia. The room was OK. A bit modest for the price tag. Pillow top beds were nice. No movies? That was a bit of a surprise. Friendly staff and delicious room service meals made it a good choice. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Would recommend on the lobby level or higher. The lower rooms felt a bit stuffy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel K, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Red Lion Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your great review! We do indeed love our pet friends, and we're one of the only pet friendly hotels in the area. While we do not have in room movies, we are located very close to downtown Olympia which offers tons of great activities. We also offer a fantastic happy hour in our bar, which offers a fabulous view of Capitol Lake.

We appreciate your business, and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Warm regards,

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator
Red Lion Hotel Olympia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here just one night for a conference and was pretty pleased. A nice hot breakfast came with the room. The grounds are very pretty and the outdoor pool is heated. Front desk was very helpful and accomodating. The rooms themselves were pretty standard but no issues except the shower handle made it difficult to control the hot and cold water. One little move would bring a dramatic change in temperature. The conference rooms were nice and when I used their equipment for my presentation all worked well. Rooms facing the pool and lake have the best views.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor facing the pool and lake have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel K, Social Media Marketing Coordinator at Red Lion Hotel Olympia, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your great review! I'm very happy to hear your stay with us was great, and even more so great enough to write about on Trip Advisor. We are fortunate to have such accomodating staff, which pair so great with our breathtaking views of Capitol Lake.

We appreciate your business- and look forward to welcoming you again.

Rachel Kirk
Social Media Marketing Coordinator
Red Lion Hotel Seattle Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Olympia

Address: 2300 Evergreen Park Drive, Olympia, WA 98502 (Formerly WestCoast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Olympia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Olympia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Olympia 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion Hotel Olympia is conveniently located on 12 lush acres in the heart of Olympia Washington, Washington's State Capital. On the Puget Sound and near the beautiful Cascade Mountain range, outdoor recreation, including hiking, kayaking, sailing and skiing, is plentiful. Olympia offers historic sites as well as diverse shopping, plus educational and cultural opportunities. The Red Lion Hotel Olympia is located within 7 miles of Saint Martin University and Evergreen State College.Guests enjoy the relaxed atmosphere created outside by our wooded surroundings and inside by our beautiful lobby and fireplace. Our 192 spacious guestrooms offer all the amenities you expect from Red Lion Hotels, including Red Lion's signature plus Sealy pillowtop bedding, EcoFresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, a 24-hour business center, a fitness center and a beautiful seasonal outdoor pool and whirlpool as well as free parking.Enjoy exquisite dining and your favorite beverage at our West Water View Restaurant and Lounge. We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Olympia
Olympia Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Olympia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.