We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel location in Oly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Olympia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Olympia to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Olympia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 Evergreen Park Drive, Olympia, WA 98502 (Formerly WestCoast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Olympia
suburban philadelphia, PA USA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“best hotel location in Oly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Located between TESC (The Evergreen State College) & downtown Olympia the Red Lion may not be the newest hotel but it's a solid, nice place in the best location to stay in when visiting Oly. Nice view of Capitol Lake too!

Room Tip: Lake view is nicest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    167
    84
    14
    11
See reviews for
99
118
13
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wenatchee, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I stayed one night on a business trip and was very satisfied. I was originally assigned a room in the portion of the hotel that I prefer not to stay in and when I asked for different accommodations the front desk reassigned my room without any issues and was friendly when she did it. The rooms are large and well thought out and the beds are comfortable. The view of the lake is beautiful. Be sure to draw the drapes back in the morning so you can catch the sunrise its amazing.

Room Tip: ask for a lake view room. They have balconies overlooking Black Lake. The South wing seems older t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel quite a bit for work. it is comfortable hotel but could use a sprucing up. beds are great. the breakfast is tasty. I stay there enough that they know me and make me feel at home. the staff is very good.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

The staff is helpful and friendly. The rooms a good sized, comfortable, and clean.

Room Tip: We like the rooms that are in the main part of the building and overlook the pool. The location is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond bc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I felt this is a nice hotel with a nice water view and the food was good.The staff were only "ok" yet seemed rather unprofessional. The check in clerk was sneezing and obviously sick, so thank goodness there was hand sanitizer, the room was comfortable but not spectacular and nobody greeted me at breakfast but my coffee was refilled often.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the view side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We were in a room with two queen beds. The decor was nice, nothing special. I’m not crazy about bedspreads, but that was the only drawback. The room was very clean, which is critical. The bathroom was awesome! It had earth tone tile, a huge rain shower head and one of those cool shower rods that curves out. The shampoo, conditioner and soap had a lovely scent. Delightful!

Unlike most hotels, the Red Lion has an actual 4 cup coffee pot, ceramic cups, and, best of all, International Delight creamer! I HATE when you have a pot that makes one measly cup of coffee in a styrofoam cup with sweet & low and powered creamer. In addition, they have a “roaring’ start” hot breakfast buffet for $7.95, and kids eat free. Sweet deal! They had bacon, pancakes, a couple cereal selections. It was nothing spectacular, but it was pretty tasty.

For the rest of my review please visit Couple Getaways (take out the space) organization (take out the anization, of course!)

Room Tip: I believe odd numbered rooms have a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

I stayed at the Red Lion for work and will stay there again next time I am in the area. My room was spacious, quiet, and clean. Staff at check in were friendly and efficient, as were staff in the restaurant. Comfortable, up-to-date furnishings in the room, appealing lobby and common areas. A winner!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Olympia

Address: 2300 Evergreen Park Drive, Olympia, WA 98502 (Formerly WestCoast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Olympia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Olympia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Olympia 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion Hotel Olympia is conveniently located on 12 lush acres in the heart of Olympia Washington, Washington's State Capital. On the Puget Sound and near the beautiful Cascade Mountain range, outdoor recreation, including hiking, kayaking, sailing and skiing, is plentiful. Olympia offers historic sites as well as diverse shopping, plus educational and cultural opportunities. The Red Lion Hotel Olympia is located within 7 miles of Saint Martin University and Evergreen State College.Guests enjoy the relaxed atmosphere created outside by our wooded surroundings and inside by our beautiful lobby and fireplace. Our 192 spacious guestrooms offer all the amenities you expect from Red Lion Hotels, including Red Lion's signature plus Sealy pillowtop bedding, EcoFresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, a 24-hour business center, a fitness center and a beautiful seasonal outdoor pool and whirlpool as well as free parking.Enjoy exquisite dining and your favorite beverage at our West Water View Restaurant and Lounge. We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Olympia
Olympia Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Olympia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.