We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vietnamese & Thai, informal, downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mini Saigon

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mini Saigon
111 Columbia Street, Olympia, WA 98501
Improve this listing
Ranked #115 of 261 Restaurants in Olympia
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Description: Thai food
Restaurant details
Description: Thai food
Olympia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Vietnamese & Thai, informal, downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great food, fresh, well done, in a very informal atmosphere that is kid friendly, and you can feed your whole family very reasonably. Very close to Percival Landing boardwalk and to Capitol Lake, both of which offer great after-dinner strolls.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olympa, WA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“OK for Change of Pace”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Nice place. Could be better, but I eat there sometimes for a different selection than other restaurants.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mini Saigon”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

The food is generally excellent, but last- time the food tasted like perfume! Yuk! What the hay happened? Very disappointing for this otherwise good restaurant.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Vietnamese food, good friendly service, good family vibe.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We went on a busy Arts Walk evening and it was pretty full, fuller than I expected for 8 p.m. We were greeted and seated quickly and a pleasant young woman was there to take our order almost sooner than we were ready! She was busy and the place was busy but she had time to be friendly and I know how she fit it all in...she walked fast! We had spring rolls and they were quite good for restaurant fare, attractively laid out with good amounts of pork and shrimp. We also had beers but sadly no Vietnamese beers so we consoled ourselves with a couple of Tigers!

The decor is plain but it's clean and comfortable and with the good vibe and good food, it's a good place!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Come for the food, stay for the friendliness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I always head for Mini-Saigon when I'm in Olympia, largely because it's my son's favorite Asian restaurant, but also because I love trading wisecracks and banter with the owner, who knows us well by now. The food is great, a mixture of Chinese, Vietnamese and Thai items. My favorite is the Vietnamese egg roll salad with the sweet rice vinegar dressing. The pad thai with dried shrimp is also good, while my vegan son loves the fried rice with tofu. There's also a nice selection of beers, but I recommend the Chinese brands, Tiger or Tsingtao. The portions are large and the prices are very reasonable: our last dinner there, with my order of Tiger beer, was $20. The owner often will wait on the tables himself and chat with the customers, which is a fun addition to a good meal.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mini Saigon also viewed

 

Been to Mini Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mini Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.