We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“way overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Doe Bay Resort and Retreat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Olga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Doe Bay Resort and Retreat
Save
You added Doe Bay Resort and Retreat to your Saves list
Star Rte. 86 Off Pt. Lawrence Rd. Near Olga, P.O. Box 437, Olga, WA 98279   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olga
washington state
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“way overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We went here on our anniversary & were really disappointed for what we paid - $165 a night. Our cabin was the "Mala" & was located on a hillside a great distance from the cafe & soaking tubs. The "cabin" was really a small trailer that was built to look like a cabin. Extremely tiny bathroom that lacked a sink, & a shower that was a the smallest that we've ever encountered. You had to use the sink in the "kitchenette" to wash your hands or brush your teeth. The shower door leaked like a sieve & soaked anything on the floor. There were cobwebs on the bathroom & kitchen walls & ceilings. A coffee maker was provided but nothing to put in it. The parking area required you to walk an uphill path of approximately a block to your lodging. One window lacked a bug screen & the other had a gaping hole. It had a 2 burner stove in the "kitchenette" that required a match to light. I turned the burner on & waited patiently for it to light before I realized it was just a basic propane campstove with no pilot light. Lucky I didn't blow the place up! It had a distant view of the bay, but otherwise it was lacking anything else. Just a large barren field in the front with picnic tables for tent sites. I guess it was used if it was crowded & they needed to fill the area with desperate campers. Two plastic chairs on the deck, no cushions, & that was it.
This property is the second place that we've stayed in that openly offer a "bonus" if you are willing to post a favorable revue on Tripadvisor,Yelp, or Facebook. I wonder how many people are willing to do this in order to get a freebie? In my opinion, Tripadvisor should post a warning that these establishments are offering these.
The cafe was extremely good & we would highly recommend it. Pricey, but great food. Most places on Orcas are, but the food & staff here were great.
Our recommendation is to eat here & stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    27
    10
    13
    7
See reviews for
20
48
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in Cypress cabin on the water. It had a full kitchen and a nice view form the dining table. It was no frills but clean. Lovely locale. The hot tubs and sauna were a real treat. It was a short drive from Moran Park and Eastsound. The staff was accomodating.

Word of warning - we planned our trip with the cafe as a primary draw only to check in on a Tuesday and find the cafe/bar/restaurant closed until Thursday. Bit of a bummer and maybe on us because we did not double check that it would be open every day.... but, it was not on the website. We went to open mic and pizza night on Thursday and it was good. There are fantastic choice restaurants in Eastsound so it all worked out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

My first time here at Doe Bay, What a wonderful place to arrive at a tranquil and peaceful place like Doe Bay! Stayed at a cozy cabin in front of the Cafe with everything you need for your stay! The Doe Bay Cafe is great! All the people that run it are awesome!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights over labor day weekend in a cottage with a view of the bay. It is remarkable to be in such a stunning location, but still have such a relaxed and family friendly atmosphere. We had an amazing breakfast at the restaurant, made our own dinner one night, and went out to a fancier restaurant elsewhere on the island and realized the Doe Bay restaurant would have been just as good and much more convenient! Loved the hot tubs and sauna. Some people wore suits, like us, and some were naked, but no big deal. Great hikes at Moran State Park and stunning views from the top of Mount Constitution.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

This resort Is A Ways Away From Everything But Very Nice. We Stayed In A Cabin Which Is Older But Very Nicely Kept. Everything We Needed Was Available And We Were Very Comfortable. It Is A Spacious Resort With A Lot Of Room For Relaxation And Running For The Kids. But Be Aware That The Spa Is Clothing Optional If You Plan To Go There. I Would Definitely Stay Here Again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This summer we returned to Doe Bay for a longer visit. We honeymooned here three years ago and had wished we had stayed longer. This time we rented a yurt on the beach. We stayed in Neptune yurt which was situated right above the beach off of Otter Cove. After dinner we went down and drank wine while watching the resident heron and some sailboats dock. This is such a peaceful, magical place and they have an excellent seed-to-table restaurant. This is not a 5-star resort, but a great retreat to get away from it all. Can't wait to return for another visit.

Room Tip: If you do a yurt do either Seaside, Neptune or Orcas yurts. Cabins are nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We spent 4 wonderful nights in Doe Bay at the end of the summer, 2 in a cabin, and 2 camping. Such a great place. Wonderful, quiet, and very relaxing.

My highlights: dinner in the restaurant with the great food grown up in a big part in their gardens (such amazing food); taking a kayak trip around the bay, watching all the sea life; relaxing in the hot-tubs at night; taking a day trip to Mt Constitution and around by bike (we brought the bikes, not sure if you can rent them).

The whole island is really beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doe Bay Resort and Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doe Bay Resort and Retreat

Address: Star Rte. 86 Off Pt. Lawrence Rd. Near Olga, P.O. Box 437, Olga, WA 98279
Location: United States > Washington > Olga
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Also Known As:
Doe Bay Resort And Retreat Hotel Olga
Doe Bay Hotel And Retreat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doe Bay Resort and Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.