We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed getaway in gorgeous spot.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doe Bay Resort and Retreat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Olga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Doe Bay Resort and Retreat
Save
You added Doe Bay Resort and Retreat to your Saves list
Star Rte. 86 Off Pt. Lawrence Rd. Near Olga, P.O. Box 437, Olga, WA 98279   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olga
Berkeley, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxed getaway in gorgeous spot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights over labor day weekend in a cottage with a view of the bay. It is remarkable to be in such a stunning location, but still have such a relaxed and family friendly atmosphere. We had an amazing breakfast at the restaurant, made our own dinner one night, and went out to a fancier restaurant elsewhere on the island and realized the Doe Bay restaurant would have been just as good and much more convenient! Loved the hot tubs and sauna. Some people wore suits, like us, and some were naked, but no big deal. Great hikes at Moran State Park and stunning views from the top of Mount Constitution.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    27
    10
    13
    7
See reviews for
20
48
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

This resort Is A Ways Away From Everything But Very Nice. We Stayed In A Cabin Which Is Older But Very Nicely Kept. Everything We Needed Was Available And We Were Very Comfortable. It Is A Spacious Resort With A Lot Of Room For Relaxation And Running For The Kids. But Be Aware That The Spa Is Clothing Optional If You Plan To Go There. I Would Definitely Stay Here Again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This summer we returned to Doe Bay for a longer visit. We honeymooned here three years ago and had wished we had stayed longer. This time we rented a yurt on the beach. We stayed in Neptune yurt which was situated right above the beach off of Otter Cove. After dinner we went down and drank wine while watching the resident heron and some sailboats dock. This is such a peaceful, magical place and they have an excellent seed-to-table restaurant. This is not a 5-star resort, but a great retreat to get away from it all. Can't wait to return for another visit.

Room Tip: If you do a yurt do either Seaside, Neptune or Orcas yurts. Cabins are nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We spent 4 wonderful nights in Doe Bay at the end of the summer, 2 in a cabin, and 2 camping. Such a great place. Wonderful, quiet, and very relaxing.

My highlights: dinner in the restaurant with the great food grown up in a big part in their gardens (such amazing food); taking a kayak trip around the bay, watching all the sea life; relaxing in the hot-tubs at night; taking a day trip to Mt Constitution and around by bike (we brought the bikes, not sure if you can rent them).

The whole island is really beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in one of the small cabins, in late July (27 thru the 1st). The cabin is small but cozy, and fits in with the feel of the rest of the place.

The resort has its own garden which they use for many of the ingredients in the café -- which has amazing food.

The spa is generally awesome, but heavily dependent on the crowd. Some people I would look forward to seeing at the spa. Others I would think urgh that person is here again. But overall the spa was a hit.

The office has bocce balls, among other games to borrow to help pass the time when you are not out enjoying the spa our out on one of the local hikes (I recommend Mnt Constitution and Mountain Lake Loop).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Doe Bay is a wonderful place for a vacation in the middle of nature. The resort offers a large range of lodging options from places to put up a tent and yurts to cabins for couples and houses for larger families. I stayed in a small but comfortable cabin along a meadow visited by deers in the evening.

The resort is surrounded by nature unaltered by artificial glamor and glitz. Short walks around the resort can be complemented with hiking the trails of nearby parks.

The restaurant on site serves outstanding food made of organic ingredients from local farms and the small garden on site. The views from the restaurant are spectacular, the overall atmosphere is pleasant and relaxing,

The service is friendly and unassuming.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My Dad and I biked out to Doe Bay from the Ferry and had a truly relaxing and memorable retreat. The yurts are little dream cottages on the hillsides overlooking the San Juan Islands and the Doe Bay cafe in itself is a destination well worth the commute. The hot springs, yoga classes and entertainment add a touch of something for everyone. The property is lushly forested and the resort has taken great care to minimize its environmental impacts. The place has an aura of kindness and I have been waiting for an opportunity to come back!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a yurt or cabin either close to the bay or on the bluffs for a more secluded outing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doe Bay Resort and Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doe Bay Resort and Retreat

Address: Star Rte. 86 Off Pt. Lawrence Rd. Near Olga, P.O. Box 437, Olga, WA 98279
Location: United States > Washington > Olga
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Also Known As:
Doe Bay Resort And Retreat Hotel Olga
Doe Bay Hotel And Retreat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doe Bay Resort and Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.